The
Immigration Research Guide
Readers
of Tortilla Curtain and other students researching immigration-related
topics will find this research guide helpful. If you need assistance
with these sources or referrals for additional sources, ask
for help at any Vairo Library service desk.
Reference
Books:
|
Immigration in U.S.
history
Ref. JV6450.I565 2006 v.1
Encyclopedia of North
American immigration
Ref. JV6465.P68 2005
Encyclopedia of American
immigration
Ref. JV6465.E53 2001 v.1
The Atlas of American
migration [map]
Ref. G1201.E27F5 1998
|
The Immigrant experience in
American fiction : an annotated bibliography
Ref. Z1231.F4S56 1995
The Cambridge survey of world migration
Ref. JV6021.C35 1995
Dictionary of American
immigration history
Ref. JV6450.D53 1990
|
Databases:
Connect to Penn
State's online
databases through the E-Resource
List A-Z . For best
results using the databases below, review these Search
Tips . Start
your search for books and periodical articles with the
general databases listed below. For more specific, subject-related
databases, consult the Vairo Library staff.
The
CAT is the online
library catalog. Searching this will show you books, videos,
and other materials the library owns. ProQuest contains
articles and citations from popular magazines, scholarly journals,
and newspapers. It also has book and movie
reviews.
CQ
Researcher
includes in-depth reports on "hot issues" in the news.
Each report includes these sections: background, chronology,
current situation, pro and con statements from representatives
of opposing positions, bibliography.
Opposing
Viewpoints Resource Center provides
opposing viewpoints research and background information on a wide range of
social issues. Resources include viewpoint essays, full
text magazine and newspaper articles, statistics, and links
to websites.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic contains
TV and radio news transcripts, in
addition to full
text articles from magazines, regional, national
and world newspapers.
<Return
to Top>
Statistics:
2004
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
http://www.uscis.gov/graphics/shared/statistics/yearbook/Yearbook2004.pdf
http://www.uscis.gov/graphics/shared/aboutus/statistics/ybpage.htm
Office
of Immigration Statistics
http://www.uscis.gov/graphics/shared/statistics/index.htm
Pennsylvania
State Data Center
http://pasdc.hbg.psu.edu/pasdc/Data_&_Information/data_by_type/Race_Origin_Immigration.html
Ethnic group data and
recent PA immigration information.
< Return
to Top>
Selected
Websites:
Constitutional
Rights Foundation
http://www.crf-usa.org/immigration/issues_of_immigration_2006.htm
The materials consist of six lesson modules designed to put the current controversies
about illegal immigration into historical and political context. They consist
of readings, guided discussion questions, and interactive learning activities.
Center
for Immigration Studies
http://www.cis.org/
The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan,
non-profit research organization devoted to research and policy
analysis of economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other
impacts
of immigration on the United States.
Federation
for American Immigration Reform
http://www.fairus.org/site/PageServe
The
Center for Comparative Immigration Studies (CCIS)
http://www.ccis-ucsd.org/
CCIS, a research
unit of the University of California-San
Diego, conducts basic and policy-oriented
research projects on international migration and refugee
flows throughout the world.
Migration
Policy Institute
http://www.ccis-ucsd.org/
Close
Up Foundation: Immigration Policy
http://www.closeup.org/immigrat.htm
Includes a summary of current laws and a timeline of immigration
history. Also contains links to other useful web sites.
US
Department of State Bureau of Population, Refugees and Migration (PRM)
http://www.state.gov/g/prm/
PRM has primary responsibility for formulating
policies on population, refugees, and migration, and for administering
U.S. refugee assistance and admissions programs. The
American Memory Project, Library of Congress (Immigration
and Expansion Collection)
http://memory.loc.gov/learn/features/immig/introduction.html
Navigate this site by selecting from ethnic group photos on the left-side toolbar (Germans, Native Americans, Irish,
Scandinavian, Italian, Japanese, Mexican, Chinese, Puerto Rican/Cuban, Polish/Russian). Within each ethnic group section, note the links to section
chapters across the bottom. This site also includes immigration stories and interviews that illustrate
the American immigration experience during the second half of the
20th century and the early years of the 21st century.
NARA (National Archives and Records Administration)
http://www.archives.gov/genealogy/immigration/
NARA Immigration Records (Ship Passenger Arrival
Records) provide evidence of a person's arrival in the United States,
as well as foreign birthplace. NARA has immigration records for
various ports for the years 1800-1959.
Library
of Congress European Reading Room
http://www.loc.gov/rr/european/specproj.html
See: “Digital
Library Cooperations” for historical timelines and reasons
why people immigrated to the United States. Entries include: The Czechs in America, The Finns in America, The Germans in America, The Luxembourgers in America,
The Portuguese in America, The Slovaks in America.
Library
of Congress Immigration Subject Headings
http://www.loc.gov/rr/genealogy/bib_guid/immigrant/subject.html
The
New Americans (PBS series)
http://www.pbs.org/independentlens/newamericans/#
Peopling North America: Population Movements and Migration
http://www.ucalgary.ca/applied_history/tutor/migrations/ The
Immigration Debate (NPR)
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=5310549
Digital History
http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/historyonline/ethnic_am.cfm
Immigration: The Journey to America
http://library.thinkquest.org/20619/
Timeline of Immigration/History
http://library.thinkquest.org/20619/Timelinex.html
<Return
to Top>
News: New
American Media – Immigration Page / News
http://news.newamericamedia.org/news/view_alt_category.html?category_id=14
New America Media is the country’s
first and largest national collaboration
of ethnic news organizations.
ProQuest database
contains articles and citations from popular magazines, scholarly
journals,
and newspapers. It also has book and movie reviews.
Lexis-Nexis
Academic database
contains TV and radio news transcripts, in addition to
full text
articles from magazines, regional, national and world newspapers.
<Return
to Top>
Pennsylvania
Immigration:
Pennsylvania
State Data Center
http://pasdc.hbg.psu.edu/pasdc/PA_Stats/data_and_information/data_by_type/Race_Origin_Immigration.html
Ethnic group data and
recent PA immigration information.
Pennsylvania
Historical Society, Pennsylvania’s New Immigrants
http://www.hsp.org/default.aspx?id=94
Pennsylvania
Historical Society, Pennsylvania’s Ethnic History
http://www.hsp.org/default.aspx?id=74
Balch
Institute: Philadelphia Immigration history
http://www.balchinstitute.org/resources/phila_ellis_island.html
Philadelphia
- Neighborhood Base
http://cml.upenn.edu/nbase/
Demographic information
and statistics for Philadelphia neighborhoods.
<Return
to Top> Photographs:
Library
of Congress: Selected images from Ellis Island
http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/list/070_immi.html
Penn
State University | University
Libraries
Privacy
and Legal Statements | Copyright |
Contact
the Webmaster
© Penn State University, 2006
|