Penn State University Libraries logo Penn State Home Page Penn State Univerity Libraries Home Page
Educational and Behavioral Sciences Library Home Page
  How Do I?

Databases for Journal Articles in Education, Psychology, Behavioral Sciences and Related Areas

Source Connect Contents Remarks
ERIC -- Educational Resources Information Center

Connect to Education Resources through the E-Resource list: The link to ERIC via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts provides the most comprehensive search interface.

Also, available to everyone via ERIC system at:
http://askeric.org/Eric/

World's largest source of education information, with over 1,000,000 abstracts, on education research and practice. Contains two types of literature:
CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education, 1969-). 750 scholarly, professional and practitioner journals.
RIE (Resources in Education, 1966- ERIC documents). Non-journal literature such as full text curriculum guides, theses, conference papers, standards, reports, etc. Not peer-reviewed.

Best to use when you need full text, non-journal literature since 1996.
ERIC Documents via EDRS -ERIC Document Retrieval Service Connect through the E-Resource list for Penn State users only Full text access to ERIC documents (the RIE portion of ERIC) since 1996; non-journal literature such as full text curriculum guides, theses, conference papers, standards, reports, etc. Not peer-reviewed. Best to use when you need full text, non-journal literature since 1996.
Psychology
Databases
Connect through the E-Resource listfor Penn State users only

Primary resource for psychology and related disciplines including education, organizational management, psychophysiology, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, etc. Abstracts over 1300 journals from 50 countries; also includes books and chapters. 1887-Present. Online version of Psychological Abstracts.

Abstracts only
Dissertation Abstracts Connect through the E-Resource list for Penn State users only

Primary source for 1.4 million doctoral dissertations (and selected master's theses) from over 1000 North American and European universities.

Includes a link to the UMI full text dissertation pilot project.

Web of Science [Social Science Citation Index]

Connect through the E-Resource list for Penn State users only Multidisciplinary, SSCI is best used to find the articles that have cited an author or title.