[
Earthquakes, Tsunamis and Asteroid Impacts |
Volcanoes |
Mass Movements ]
-
- National Earthquake
Information Center. This is the site for information and maps on
the latest earthquakes to occur on the globe. It features lists of the largest,
deadliest, and costliest earthquakes, an interactive database that produces
customized reports and much more.
- The IRIS Consortium.
IRIS is a university research consortium that collects and distributes seismic
data. A clickable epicenter map supplies information on events that have
occurred in the last 30 days. Detailed event specific data files and maps
are available via the IRIS SPYDER database for events since October 1996.
- Tsunami. This site provides access to information on -tsunami
events as well as access to near-real time events via a link to the West
Coast/Alaska Tsunami Warning Center.
- Asteroid
and Comet Impact Hazards. This site contains a list of upcoming
close encounters with asteroids. It also has an image gallery of impact
craters and other information relating to cometary and asteroid impacts.
Return to Top
-
- Michigan
Technological University Volcanoes Homepage. This site offers exceptional
information on current volcanic activity, remote sensing images of volcanoes
and links to other volcano related Web sites. The MTU coverage includes
location/geological setting, topographic maps and air photos, meteorology,
type of edifice, petrology, eruption history, bibliography and images for
indexed volcanoes.
- The Electronic
Volcano. Hosted by Dartmouth College, this site maintains an excellent
bibliography of volcanological literature.An index provides links to information
by volcano name or by country.
- USGS Volcano Learning Web.
The U.S. Geological Survey has a series of regional volcano observatories
in the Pacific Rim which are excellent for locating regional volcanic information.
- Cascades Volcano
Observatory for volcanoes in the Cascade Range including extensive
information on Mt. St. Helen's.
- Alaska Volcano Observatory for volcanoes along the Aleutian arc.
- Hawaiian Volcano Observatory
for Hawaiian arc volcanoes.
- There are numerous sites about
volcanoes on the Web. A few others of note include:    
Smithsonian's Global
Volcanism Program, Italy's
Volcanoes, and the Volcanic
Homepage.
Return to Top
-
- Cyberspace Snow and Avalanche
Center. This site provides current conditions and avalanche bulletins
for mountainous regions all over the world as well as an incident report
table for the current season that includes location, fatalities, activity
that sparked the event, and more. There are also numerous statistics and
an archive of eye-witness accounts and reports.
- Westwide
Avalanche Network. Maintained by the American Association of Avalanche
Professionals, this site contains extensive information on current and past
avalanche seasons, detailed accident reports and a photo library of avalanche
events.
- National Landslide Information Center. This site provides
access to fact sheets, reports and images of specific U.S. landslide events.
Return to Top
Copyright © 2000, Penn State University ~ Earth and Mineral Sciences Library.
Comments? Suggestions? Contact Our: Webmaster
|