- Insurance
Information Institute. This site provides information
on the worst disasters for the U.S. and world in terms of deaths
and losses caused by earthquakes, hurricanes, tornadoes, floods
and fires. Also provided is a "ten worst monetary losses
in the U.S." list under each category.
- ReliefWeb.
ReliefWeb is a project of the United Nations Department of Humanitarian
Affairs. It provides information about on-going emergencies and
crises worldwide; some information about past crises is also available.
Information includes situation reports detailing the date, type
and extent of the disaster, maps, damage estimates, requests for
assistance and donations, numbers of people affected and more.
- International
Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies. This
site features reports of activities, situation reports and appeals
for assistance worldwide. It also includes the annual publication
World
Disasters Report (copies of this
report are available in the library), which analyzes humanitarian
crises of the past, present and future in tables, text and figures.
Data include annual and historic disasters by date and country,
number of victims by country and more.
- Center for International
Disaster Information. This site provides links to situation
reports of natural and man-made disasters.
- EM-DAT : the International Disaster
Database This site, maintained by the United Nations Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters, provides country profiles and allows searching by region, coutnry, time period, and disaster type.
- Federal Emergency
Management Agency. This site focuses on U.S. disasters.
It provides extensive information about historic and current disaster
situations, federally-declared disasters, news releases, fact
sheets, and a searchable photo archive.
- Natural
Hazards Center. This is the best site for comprehensive
information relating to natural disasters. Included are extensive
quick response reports of both natural and man-made disasters,
the full text of many of the Center's publications, lists of organizations,
and extensive links to other Internet sites.
- Yahoo - Disasters page. Yahoo's index to disaster links
on the Web is a useful compilation of miscellaneous sources for
disaster events.
- Information Please - World Disasters. This site lists
events by type (epidemics, floods, fires, shipwrecks, spills,
etc.) then by date, going back centuries in some cases.
- Disaster
Time Line. This chart shows major disaster events and
U.S. responses from 1969-2006.
-
Copyright © 2000, Penn State
University ~ Earth and Mineral Sciences Library.
Comments? Suggestions? Contact Our:
Webmaster
|