[
General Resources |
Hurricanes and Tropical Storms |
Droughts and Floods |
Tornadoes and Severe Storms |
Lightning and Wildfires]
-
- National
Storm Prediction Center. This site provides statistics
on tornadoes and other severe storms including, monthly totals
and averages, and killer tornado statistics for the US Its historical
online archive contains data on tornadoes, hail and convective
winds. Statistics are given by state from the 1940's to 1995
for injuries, fatalities and costs, overall rankings and more.
Most files in the archive must be downloaded and unzipped. (For
data after 1995 see the NCDC Web site, described later.)
- Tornado
and Storm Research Organisation. TORRO, a private British
research organization, has compiled lists of all-time weather
extremes for Britain for smog, precipitation, wind, floods and
more as well as annual synopses of severe weather events in
Europe and the UK.
- USA
Today Weather Page. This site features means, extremes,
weather records, and recent weather highlights for locations
around the world. It includes information and statistics on
weather events such as hurricanes, tornadoes, water spouts,
and severe storms. Excellent explanations of weather phenomena
are also provided.
- National
Climatic Data Center for detailed reports of extreme
US weather events.
- Societal
Aspects of Weather site which contains economic and
casualty data for various weather phenomena. Also
at this site is the Extreme
Weather Sourcebook which documents the
economic cost of extreme weather events.
Return to Top
-
- Hurricane/Tropical
Data. The Unisys Weather Processor provides storm track
charts and text-based tables (including position in latitude and longitude, maximum sustained winds in knots, and central pressure in millibars) for storms in the Atlantic (from 1851), the Eastern (from 1949), Western (from 1945) and South (from 2000) Pacific, and the North (from 1945) and South (from 1949) Indian. There is a composite
chart for each season as well as for each individual storm. The site also
provides extensive links to satellite and radar imagery.
- National Hurricane
Center. This site provides current and historic tropical cyclone,
hurricane, and high seas data along with high wind/wave alerts and ocean
weather for mariners and aviators.
- Hurricanes,
Typhoons and Tropical Cyclones FAQ. This site provides lists of
the costliest, deadliest, longest and the most intense events as well as
other records and data about tropical storms.
Return to Top
-
- National
Drought Mitigation Center. This site contains links
to current US drought forecasts and advisories. Other data includes
moisture and vegetation indices, water supply conditions and
global drought headlines. The "Drought Climatology"
section has over 100 years of US drought data mapped and graphed.
- Dartmouth
Flood Observatory. The "Flood Archive" has
a worldwide index map, report summaries and a table that displays
the start and end date, number of deaths, damage estimates and
amount of land impacted for flood events from 1994 to present.
The site also provides numerous satellite images of flood events.
- The World's
Largest Floods, Past and Present: Their Causes and Magnitude. This is a U.S. Geological
Survey Circular written by Jim E. O'Connor and John E. Costa.
Return to Top
-
- The
Tornado Project Online. This commercial site links to
descriptions of current (and some historic) tornado events in
the US 'Top ten' lists of tornadoes by number of deaths, size,
etc. are provided. It also contains an explanation of the Fujita
tornado intensity scale.
-
- Tornadoes.
This NOAA web site describes historic tornado occurrences in
the US.
- Stormtrack.
This site is usually one of the first to post eyewitness accounts
of severe weather events occurring in the US It is also a good
source for images of tornadoes and severe storms.
Return to Top
-
- National
Lightning Safety Institute. NLSI is a nonprofit research
organization whose site contains lightning safety information,
statistics on losses and damage caused by lightning, and quick
lightning facts.
- Human
Voltage - What happens when people and lightning converge. This
NASA-sponsored page contains statistics on incidents of people being struck
by lightning. It also describes typical injuries caused by lightning plus
links to many other lightning incident stories.
- GEOMAC. Geospatial Multi-Agency
Coordination Group provides current wildland fire maps and information about ongoing wildfires.
Return to Top
Copyright © 2000, Penn State University ~ Earth and Mineral Sciences Library.
Comments? Suggestions? Contact Our: Webmaster
|