Penn State home Earth and Mineral Sciences Library Home
EMS Library | PSU Libraries | The CAT | Databases | College of EMS | Search
Geologic | Topographic | Mine | Fire Insurance

Finding Geologic Maps

Geologic maps for most areas of Pennsylvania are available in the Preliminary Geologic Atlas of Pennsylvania (QE157.A3 4th.ser. A61). Maps are black & white at a scale of 1:62,500. Maps in this atlas are filed by quadrangle name. If you don't know the name of the quadrangle, you can use this index to Pennsylvania quadrangle maps to determine the name or look it up using the GNIS (Geographic Names Information System).

Geologic maps of individual Pennsylvania counties are available in A Geological Hand Atlas of the Sixty-Seven Counties of Pennsylvania (QE157.A16 X). Digital versions of geologic maps for selected areas of Pennsylvania are also available.

Finding aids for geologic maps:
  • GeoRef (Electronic index to the geosciences)
  • Guide to USGS Geologic and Hydrologic Maps (QE77.G94)
  • Search the CAT for maps in our libraries. Type Geology - [place] - Maps
    For example, Geology - Brazil - Maps
    or Geology - Pennsylvania - Schuylkill County - Maps
  • The USGS is developing a National Geologic Map Database.

Finding Topographic Maps

The EMS Library has an incomplete set of topographic maps for Pennsylvania only at 1:24,000, 1:62,500 and 1:250,000. These maps are located in the EMS Library maps collection. They are arranged by call number (G3820.S24G4) and sheet name.

The Maps Library in Paterno Library collects topographic maps for all 50 states.

Many topographic maps are now available online. You can find topographic maps at the following web sites:

  • TopoZone - Search by place name or latitude and longitude. Various scales provided.
  • TerraServer - View topographic maps, relief maps, and aerial photographs.
  • Maptech MapServer - Search by place name. Various scales provided.
  • Maplink - Locate topographic maps (and map names) using map indexes.

The USGS maintains an online list of all its topographic maps.


Finding Mine Maps

Few libraries collect mine maps but state and federal agencies frequently do.

Pennsylvania Mine Maps

 

Finding Fire Insurance Maps

Fire insurance maps show the outlines of buildings along with their construction details (e.g., brick, wood, etc.). One of the most prolific publishers of fire insurance maps in the United States was the Sanborn Company. Most original fire insurance maps at Penn State are housed in the Special Collections Library. Monochromatic microfilm is also available in the News and Microforms Library. Find fire insurance maps in the catalog by browsing or searching for Insurance, Fire - [location] - Maps.

Digitized Fire Insurance Maps
Alabama

Search by County
courtesy of The University of Alabama Map Library

Colorado Search by County for 1883-1922
courtesy of University of Colorado at Boulder
Connecticut Mystic Seaport
courtesy of the G. W. Blunt Library
Florida Search by Year, City, or County
courtesy of State Universities System of Florida Digital Library
Georgia Search by City or County
courtesy of The Digital Library of Georgia
Indiana Indianapolis
courtesy of The digital Collections of IUPUI University Library
Kentucky Frankfort, Franklin County 1907
courtesy of The David Rumsey Collection
Maine Hallowell, Kennebec County, Maine
courtesy of The David Rumsey Map Collection
Massachusetts

Vineyard Haven 1914
courtesy of The Historical Records of Tisbury, MA

Boston 1888
courtesy of Harvard University
Cambridge 1900
courtesy of Harvard University

New York Blues Stadium, Brooklyn
Pennsylvania State College, Centre County, 1906 September
State College, Centre County, 1911 August
State College, Centre County, 1922 June
South Carolina Search by City, Year, County,
courtesy of The University of South Carolina Digital Library
Utah Search by City or Browse
courtesy of the J. Willard Marriott Library, The University of Utah
Virginia Charlottesville 1907, Charlottesville 1920
Fredericksburg, 1886, 1891, 1896, 1907, 1912
   

 

 

 

 

Copyright © 2000, Penn State University ~ Earth and Mineral Sciences Library.
Comments? Suggestions? Contact Our: Webmaster