Databases & Electronic Resources Related to Architecture & Landscape Architecture
Articles and Databases
Keep in mind that Penn State does not carry every journal indexed in these databases. You will need to search The CAT - PSU's Libraries Web Catalog to see if a particular journal is carried by Penn State. Penn State also provides electronic access to many journals. To see if a particular journal title is provided electronically, use the E-Journal Title Search. Articles from periodicals not at Penn State can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Some databases are linked to The CAT - PSU's Libraries Web Catalog via the Get it! button as shown above. Clicking a Get it! button will allow you to automatically search Penn State's collections for both print and electronic journals. Get it! will also take you directly to the Interlibrary Loan interface if necessary.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
-- Selectively indexes journal articles and reviews on architecture and landscape architecture (including archaeology, decorative arts, interior design, furnishings, city planning, and housing) which appear in more than 2,500 design journals. Indexing is fairly up-to-date and goes back to 1919 (and some scattered items from even earlier).
- Guide to the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (html format)
- Guide to the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (pdf format - 205 kb)
Art Index (1929-1984 via Art Index Retrospective)
Art Index (1984 - present via Art Abstracts)
-- The most commonly used periodical index for the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, decorative arts, crafts) and, to a lesser degree, related disciplines (including some urban design, architecture, design, cinema, scenic design, museology, cultural criticism, and critical theory). Most of the journals indexed are published in English, but a selection of French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch titles are included. In addition to articles and reviews, individual works of art unaccompanied by text (often gallery ads) are indexed. The indexing goes back to items published in 1929. This index has been divided into two separate databases: Art Abstracts, which covers roughly 1984 to present (and adds brief abstracts for literature indexed since 1994), and Art Index Retrospective, covering 1929 to 1984.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
-- Part of the Web of Science conglomerate, this index covers numerous arts and humanities journals. It also provides users with the ability to track known citations in the literature.
Bibliography of the History of Art
-- The Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and articles from 2500 periodicals as well as exhibition and dealer's catalogs. Developed at the Getty Information Institute, it includes and extends the coverage of two art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989.
CumInCAD
(Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design)
-- CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It provides abstracts to thousands of papers in journals and conferences and it provides the full text and illustrations for more than half of the papers. When asked to logon, create your own ID and password.
- Guide to CumInCAD (html format)
- Guide to CumInCAD (pdf format - 174 kb)
AGRICOLA (agriculture & related sciences)
-- AGRICOLA is the National Agricultural Library's bibliographic database. It has over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, theses, patents, software, and technical reports related to agriculture and related subjects including ecology, entomology, environment, forestry, horticulture, rural sociology, soils, water, and other related topics. The following are indexed: journal articles, books, book chapters, USDA, State Experiment Station, State Extension service publications.
CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health)
-- CAB Abstracts is a comprehensive file of over 8500 journals as well as conference proceedings, theses and annual reports. The journals included in CAB Abstracts cover: plant sciences, entomology, soils, forestry, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, rural recreation & tourism, management and conservation of natural resources, and other related topics.
America: History & Life
-- America: History and Life includes about 400,000 annotated or abstracted references to American and Canadian history. Published since 1964, the database includes over 2,000 journals worldwide, including state and local historical journals as well as historical articles from hundreds of major humanities and social science journals. It also includes thousands of book and media reviews, citations to published books, and dissertations.
Compendex (engineering)
-- The combined Compendex®, Ei Backfile & Inspec® databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
NTIS (engineering, science & social sciences)
-- NTIS, or National Technical Information Services, is a multidisciplinary database that reports on research in the U. S. and other nations in the fields of engineering and the sciences, with some coverage in areas including education, business, economics, health sciences, government policy, sociology, etc.
Books
CAT - PSU Libraries Web Catalog
E-ZBorrow (PALCI)
-- PALCI stands for the Pennsylvania Academic Libraries Connection Initiative. In addition, to Penn State, other participating libraries include: Temple University, University of Pittsburgh and over 50 other Pennsylvania, New Jersey and West Virginia academic libraries.
WorldCat
-- WorldCat includes over 38 million records for books, periodicals, magazines, and any other type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. The database includes records for material as early as the 11th century.
Center for Research Libraries
-- The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users at member institutions. CRL's outstanding collections include more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
-- With more than 2 million entries, Dissertations & Theses is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats.
University Libraries Interlibrary Loan
-- Interlibrary Loan obtains material not owned by the Penn State University Libraries from other libraries and document delivery sources. Interlibrary Loan service is available to all Penn State faculty, students and staff who are currently registered with the University Libraries.
Images
- Art History Department Visual Resource Selections: a group of more than 5,000 images documenting the history of painting, sculpture, architecture, and decorative arts.
- Worldwide Building and Landscape Pictures: Images documenting the history of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban development.
- The O'Connor/Yeager Collection: 19th- and early 20th-century prints depicting Pennsylvania from the Palmer Museum of Art.
- University Park Campus History Collection: Photos, drawings, and documents from the University Archives chronicling the growth of Penn State's Largest Campus.
ARTstor (pictures of art, architecture, and visual culture)
-- ARTstor is a database of digital images of works of art and of artifacts of visual culture, intended to support teaching, research and learning in visual culture and related fields. The database contains hundreds of thousands of good-quality images and is growing rapidly. It is comprised of ten major collections that may be searched separately or simultaneously:
- The Image Gallery: a broad collection intended to support courses in art and architectural history.
- The Art History Survey Collection: key monuments of world art defined by a concordance of ten standard art history survey texts.
- The Carnegie Arts and the United States Collection: a collection intended to support teaching of American art and architectural history.
- The Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts: a collection that richly documents the architectural history of the Western world from earliest antiquity to the present.
- The Huntington Archive of Asian Art: a broad photographic overview of the art of Asia from 3000 B.C. through the present.
- The Illustrated Bartsch: Old Master European prints from the 15th to the early 19th Centuries.
- The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive (MIDA): mural paintings and related art and texts associated with the several hundred Buddhist cave shrines in Dunhuang, China.
- The Museum of Modern Art Architecture and Design Collection: drawings, models, photographs, graphic design materials, and three-dimensional objects documenting 20th-century design.
- Native American Art and Culture from the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution: more than 10,000 high-resolution images made from historic photographs richly documenting Native American subjects (portraits, scenes, etc.).
- Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection: the collection embraces approximately 36,000 high quality digital images from the Schlesinger Library's renowned photographic archives.
Newspaper Photos (AccuNet/AP Photo Archive)
-- This database only works for “newsworthy” architecture & design. An average of 800 state, regional, national and international photos are added daily to the AP Photo Archives. After a year, approximately 200 of the best daily photos are retained permanently.
Other Electronic Resources
Agropedia (agriculture encyclopedias)
-- A collection of agriculture encyclopedias, including: Encyclopedia of Animal Science; Encyclopedia of Plant & Crop Science; Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, & Biological Engineering; Encyclopedia of Water Science; Encyclopedia of Soil Science; and Encyclopedia of Pest Management.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
-- The International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences is the online equivalent of the 24 volume encyclopedia published in 2002. Content is organized around more than 30 primarily interdisciplinary topical areas of active research and significant promise (for example, memory, crime and violence, markets, modernization), combined with the categories: Overarching Topics,Disciplines, Intersecting fields, and Applications. Includes extensive indices, searchable full-text, and embedded electronic reference links. Annual updates are planned for release from 2004.
Oxford Art Online
-- A huge compendium of historical information on people, places, major works, styles, periods, techniques, etc. Covers all of the visual arts including some landscape architecture. (Although it is much stronger on historical than contemporary topics. It does, however, contain entries for many contemporary land artists and mention of many important landscape projects.) If you don’t find what you want, be sure and try again using the “Advanced” search screen, which always searches the full text of each article.
Search
Contact
University Park, PA 16802-1921
phone: 814.865.3614
fax: 814.865.5073
email: arch@psulias.psu.edu
