Articles & Databases
Core Resources...
- PubMed (Medline)
covers all aspects of human biology and medicine. - PsychoINFO
is the primary database for international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Other Relevant Resources...
- Biological Abstracts
is the premier database for biology. - CAB ABSTRACTS
is a comprehensive file of agricultural and biological references from over 8500 journals covering aspects of agriculture, nutrition and global health.. - Dissertation & Thesis
includes dissertations from most U.S. institutions. - Web of Science
search for new articles which cite an older article by using the "cited ref" search mode.
Don't forget: Try These First if you want general popular interest magazines and newspapers or pro and con debate information.
Article Search Tips: Finding the best articles on your topic requires a number of steps:
- Select a database from the list above.
- Enter and combine terms appropriate to your topic.
- Look at the best references you retrieve and determine the subject terms used for those articles. Then revise your search using these new terms.
- Write down or print off all pertinent information (called the 'citation') including the journal title, volume, date, and page numbers.
- Explore other databases and subject terms (which vary between databases) for more information.
Get the full text: Once you find the citation in a database, try the
button to see if Penn State has the electronic or print version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, it will appear as the first link on the Get it! menu. If the article is not available electronically, click on The CAT link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy. If no other copy is available, you can use the ILLiad link to request it from another library.
Already have a citation? Use Citation Linker to see if Penn State has it online or in print!
Books
Use The CAT for finding books owned by Penn State.
CAT Search Tips: Go to the Browse function if you are looking for a specific title or author (type last name first). Go to the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms. Write down the call number and location for any book you want. For more detailed searching information go to the Quick Guide to the CAT.
Suggested CAT Search Terms: Search for specific diseases (i.e. alcoholism, diabetes or hiv), broad concepts (i.e. addiction, drug abuse, drug interactions, genetic disorders, health education, health promotion, human disease, smoking or tobacco use), drug categories (i.e. hallucinogens or narcotics) or specific drugs (i.e. nicotine or marijuana).
Call Numbers: Biobehavioral Health sciences information is multi-disciplinary in nature. As a result, materials will be located on the 2nd, 4th and 5th floors of the Paterno Library. Unless an alternate floor is indicated in the call number list that follows, materials are located on the 4th floor of Paterno:
- BF– Psychology (5th floor Paterno)
- HM– Sociology (2nd floor Paterno)
- QM– Human Anatomy
- QP– Physiology
- QR– Microbiology
- R– General Medicine
- RB– Pathology
- RC– Internal Medicine
Full text books online: Annual Reviews, MD-Consult, NCBI Bookshelf, Online Reference Shelf, SpringerLink, STAT!Ref
Books elsewhere: NLM Gateway, WorldCat
Libraries Borrowing Policies: Once you have the books, check them out at the nearest lending desk or self check-out station. Loan periods are usually four weeks but books can be recalled for another user, so respond promptly to library notices. For more information see the University Libraries Lending Code.
Reference
- Healthy People 2010 identifies the most significant preventable national health threats and a framework of health objectives to reduce these threats.
- WHO: Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors a definitive, scientific account of the health conditions of the world's population at the beginning of the 21st century.
Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau)
- NCHS: National Center for Health Statistics
- Statehealthfacts.org (Kaiser Family Foundation)
- Penn State Libraries' Statistics and Data Web Page
Internet Sites
- AIDS.gov
- Biological, Agricultural, Medical Sciences INFOMINE (Life Sciences)
- CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
- Department of Health and Human Services
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health)
- NIDA (National Institute on Drug Abuse)
- National Institutes of Health
- Neurosciences on the Internet
- SAMHSA'S National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information
- World Health Organization (Global Health)
Evaluating Resources
To evaluate print sources and web sites, you should ask a series of questions concerning the source’s currency, authority, validity, intended audience and bias. See this How to Evaluate Information site for details.
Citing Sources
When using information from another source you must give credit to the original author or you are plagiarizing. You give credit by citing the source. Make sure your citation contains everything you would need to backtrack and find the information again. It is best to pick one citation style and be consistent. Check this Quick Guide to Citation Styles for details and format.
Plagiarism, whether you copy a paragraph from a book or cut and paste someone else's words from an e-mail, is a violation of Penn State's academic integrity policy. See this Statement on Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty.
