Articles and Databases
- CAB Abstracts is an agricultural database which includes entomology.
- Biological Abstracts is the premier database for all of biology. Especially strong in microbiology.
- AGRICOLA Articles a core agriculture database that includes insects.
- Dissertations & Theses includes dissertations from most U.S. institutions.
- Web of Science search for new articles which cite an older article by using the "cited ref" search mode.
- PubMed is a medical database good for forensic science.
Don't forget: Try These First if you want general popular interest magazines and newspapers or pro and con debate information.
Article Search Tips: Finding the best articles on your topic requires a number of steps:
- Select a database from the list above.
- Enter and combine terms appropriate to your topic
- Look at the best references you retrieve and determine the subject terms used for those articles. Then revise your search using these new terms.
- Write down or print off all pertinent information (called the 'citation') including the journal title, volume, date, and page numbers.
- Explore other databases and subject terms (which vary between databases) for more information.
Get the full text: Once you find the citation in a database, try the
button to see if Penn State has the electronic or print version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, it will appear as the first link on the Get it! menu. If the article is not available electronically, click on The CAT link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy. If no other copy is available, you can use the ILLiad link to request it from another library.
Already have a citation? Use Citation Linker to see if Penn State has it online or in print!
Find Books
Use The CAT for finding books owned by Penn State.
CAT Search Tips: The CAT is the list of what is owned by Penn State Libraries. Go to the Browse function if you are looking for a specific title or author (type last name first). Go to the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms. Write down the call number and location for any book you want. For more detailed searching information go to the Quick Guide to the CAT.
Suggested CAT Search Terms: Try searching for specific insects (i.e. beetles or bees), or concepts (i.e. bee culture or insect hormones).
Call Numbers: At University Park, call numbers starting with Q, R, and S are located on the 4th floor of Paterno Library. General call numbers and subject areas are:
- QH541.15.C44 – Chemical Ecology
- QL461-QL599 – Insects
- RA369.5 – Insects as Carriers of Disease
- RA1063.45 – Forensic Entomology
- SB818-SB945 – Insect Pests
- SB931 – Insects as Carriers of Plant Disease
- SF518 – Insect Rearing
Books Elsewhere: WorldCat
Libraries Borrowing Policies: Once you have the books, check them out at the nearest lending desk or self check-out station. Loan periods are usually four weeks but books can be recalled for another user, so respond promptly to library notices. For more information see the University Libraries Lending Code.
Evaluating Information
To evaluate print sources and web sites, you should ask a series of questions concerning the source’s currency, authority, validity, intended audience and bias. See this How to Evaluate Information site for details.
Citing Sources
When using information from another source you must give credit to the original author or you are plagiarizing. You give credit by citing the source. Make sure your citation contains everything you would need to backtrack and find the information again. It is best to pick one citation style and be consistent. Check this Quick Guide to Citation Styles for details and format.
Plagiarism, whether you copy a paragraph from a book or cut and paste someone else's words from an e-mail message, is a violation of Penn State's academic integrity policy. See this Statement on Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty.
Internet Resources
You can look for Insect Information on the Internet by using one of the 'guides' listed below, or by using an Internet Search Engine life Google Scholar. Usually the search engines are most appropriate when you have a narrow, specific information need. For example if you were looking for information on a specific insect.
- Access Science is the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- Agropedia is a compilation of agriculture encyclopedias, including the Encyclopedia of Crop and Plant Science, Encyclopedia of Soil Science and the Encyclopedia of Pest Management.
- Butterflies of North America.
- Pennsylvania State University, College of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Entomology.
- North Carolina State AgNIC: Systematic Entomology.
- Iowa State Entomology Index of Internet Resources.
Associations
Search
Contact
Amy Paster
Head, Life Sciences Library
phone: 814-865-3708
Life Sciences Library
Or
Your Campus Librarian
