Articles and Databases
Core Resources
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
covers pollution, microbiology, ecology, other environmental topics. - Biological Abstracts
covers all aspects of biology, with emphasis on molecular biology, genetics and microbiology. - CAB ABSTRACTS
is an international agriculture database that includes forestry, nutrition, world health and more.
Also of interest
- Web of Science
(cited references) can be searched as a multidisciplinary database or you can search for new articles which cite an older article by using the cited ref search function. - Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
covers ethology, wildlife management, reproductive biology and other aspects of zoology. - GeoBase
covers worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, international development, energy, hydrology and related disciplines. - Dissertations and Theses
includes dissertations from most U.S. institutions. - PapersFirst
is a database which indexes papers from conferences, symposia, workshops and meetings. To search for conferences themselves, use ProceedingsFirst, which can be accessed via PapersFirst.
Don't forget: Try These First if you want general popular interest magazines and newspapers or pro and con debate information.
Article Search Tips: Finding the best articles on your topic requires a number of steps:
- Select a database from the list above.
- Enter and combine terms appropriate to your topic.
- Look at the best references you retrieve and determine the subject terms used for those articles. Then revise your search using these new terms.
- Write down or print off all pertinent information (called the 'citation') including the journal title, volume, date, and page numbers.
- Explore other databases and subject terms (which vary between databases) for more information.
Get the full text: Once you find the citation in a database, try the
button to see if Penn State has the electronic or print version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, it will appear as the first link on the Get it! menu. If the article is not available electronically, click on The CAT link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy. If no other copy is available, you can use the ILLiad link to request it from another library.
Already have a citation? Use Citation Linker to see if Penn State has it online or in print!
Books
Use The CAT for finding books owned by Penn State.
CAT Search Tips: The CAT is the list of what is owned by Penn State Libraries. Go to the Browse function if you are looking for a specific title or author (type last name first). Go to the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms. Write down the call number and location for any book you want. For more detailed searching information go to the Quick Guide to the CAT.
Suggested CAT Search Terms: Search for general terms like environment, ecology, natural history or more specific terms like biological diversity, bioremediation, environmental monitoring, ecotoxicology, sustainable development.
Call Numbers: At University Park, most materials in the life sciences are located on the 4th floor of Paterno Library. Some biotechnology material is located on the 3rd floor of Paterno. Resources will also be found in the Engineering Library (ENG - 325 Hammond Building), in the Earth and Mineral Sciences Library (EMS - 105 Deike Building) and in the Physical and Mathematical Sciences Library (PAMS - 201 Davey Lab).General call numbers and subject areas are:
- GE - Environmental Sciences (UP location: EMS)
- QH - Natural History and Genetics (UP location: 4th floor Paterno)
- QL - Zoology (UP location: 4th floor Paterno)
- QP - Physiology (UP location: 4th floor Paterno)
- QR - Microbiology (UP location: 4th floor Paterno)
- RA - Public Health [environmental health, water supply] (UP location: 4th floor Paterno)
- TD - Environmental Technology (UP location: 3rd floor Paterno & ENG)
Books Elsewhere: WorldCat
Libraries Borrowing Policies: Once you have the books, check them out at the nearest lending desk or self check-out station. Loan periods are usually four weeks but books can be recalled for another user, so respond promptly to library notices. For more information see the University Libraries Lending Code.
Reference Materials
General Resources
- Access Science - Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Includes reference books such as Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd edition and Pollution A to Z
- Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences - Online version of 4-volume reference set
- Agropedia - Agricultural encyclopedia comprised of Encyclopedia of Animal Science; Encyclopedia of Plant & Crop Science; Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, & Biological Engineering; Encyclopedia of Water Science; Encyclopedia of Soil Science; and Encyclopedia of Pest Management
- NetLibrary - Electronic books, including some text-books
Internet Sites
Certain articles databases, such as Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, include pre-vetted web sites, usually from government sources or reputable organizations.
You can also look for biology information on the Internet by using a specialized Search Engine such as:
- Scirus - Search engine designed to find scientific information
- Google Scholar - Subset of Google used to find scholarly information; set preferences to search for Penn State information
- Infomine - Biological, Agricultural & Medical Sciences - Search engine for pre-vetted scholarly web sites
Other Resources
- Cell and Molecular Biology Online has lists of recommended sites, job resources, cool biology sites, links to current research, grant information and more. It is constantly updated.
- ExPASy Life Science Directory is a list of pointers to information sources for life scientists with an interest in biological macromolecules.
- World Wide Web Virtual Library: BioSciences gives links to sites for different aspect of biology. Sites maye contain research, publications and employment opportunities.
- Yahoo:Science:Biology is a list of potentially useful sites. The sites have been classified into broad categories.
Evaluating Information
To evaluate print sources and web sites, you should ask a series of questions concerning the source’s currency, authority, validity, intended audience and bias. See this How to Evaluate Information site for details.
Citing Sources
When using information from another source you must give credit to the original author by citing the source. See this guide to citation styles for more details.
See this Statement on Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty. Plagiarism, whether you copy a paragraph from a book or cut and paste someone else's words from an e-mail, is a violation of Penn State's academic integrity policy.
Search
Contact
408 Paterno Library
University Park, PA 16802
814-865-3705
Life Sciences Library
408 Paterno
University Park, PA 16802
814-865-7056![]()
or
