Articles and Databases
Core Resources...
- PubMed (Medline)
covers all aspects of biomedicine. - TOXNET
databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. - Criminal Justice Abstracts
covers articles from the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
Also of Interest...
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
contains summaries of more than 150,000 publications on criminal justice. - Biological Abstracts
is the premier database for all of biology. Especially strong in gentics and microbiology. - LegalTrac
articles in law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers. - Web of Science (cited references)
search for new articles which cite an older article by using the "cited ref" search mode. - Dissertations & Theses
includes dissertations from most U.S. institutions.
Don't forget: Try These First if you want general popular interest magazines and newspapers or pro and con debate information.
Get the full text: Once you find the citation in a database, try the
button to see if Penn State has the electronic or print version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, it will appear as the first link on the Get it! menu. If the article is not available electronically, click on The CAT link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy. If no other copy is available, you can use the ILLiad link to request it from another library.
Already have a citation? Use Citation Linker to see if Penn State has it online or in print!
Books
Use The CAT for finding books owned by Penn State.
CAT Search Tips: The CAT is the list of what is owned by Penn State Libraries. Go to the Browse function if you are looking for a specific title or author (type last name first). Go to the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms. Write down the call number and location for any book you want. For more detailed searching information go to the Quick Guide to the CAT.
Call Numbers: At University Park, most materials in the life sciences are located on the 4th floor of Paterno Library. General call numbers and subject areas are:
- HV6001-HV9920 - Crimes and Criminals
- HV8073-HV8078 - Criminal Investigation
- RA1001-RA1171 - Forensic Medicine
- RA1228 - Forensic Toxicology
Books Elsewhere: WorldCat
Libraries Borrowing Policies: Once you have the books, check them out at the nearest lending desk or self check-out station. Loan periods are usually four weeks but books can be recalled for another user, so respond promptly to library notices. For more information see the University Libraries Lending Code.
Reference Material
Look here for overviews of forensic concepts.
- World of Forensic Science is online in the Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Access Science is the online equivalent of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and contains in depth articles on many basic science concepts.
- Encyclopedias of Forensics in print may be in your campus library.
- Handbook of forensic services is online from the FBI.
Internet Guides
If you are just looking for information in a general topic area, a subject guide is more appropriate than Google.
- Forensic Sciences Resources on the Internet from Cynthia Holt.
- Zeno's Forensic Site a comprehensive collection of sites arranged by subspecialty.
- Kruglick's Forensic Resource and Criminal Law Search Site web resources arranged by forensic subspecialty.
- Reddy's Forensic Page a wide variety of sources are included.
Evaluating
To evaluate print sources and web sites, you should ask a series of questions concerning the source’s currency, authority, validity, intended audience and bias. See this How to Evaluate Information site for details.
Citing
When using information from another source you must give credit to the original author or you are plagiarizing. You give credit by citing the source. Make sure your citation contains everything you would need to backtrack and find the information again. It is best to pick one citation style and be consistent. Try this APA Quick Citiation Guide for details and format.
Plagiarism, whether you copy a paragraph from a book or cut and paste someone else's words from an e-mail, is a violation of Penn State's academic integrity policy. See this Statement on Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty.
