Skip to content

The Pennsylvania State University Libraries collect many materials related to the study and teaching of Africa. Among the items that can be found at the Libraries are books, maps, journals, videos, and electronic resources on Africa.

To assist the community of Penn State faculty and students interested in exploring the political, historical, socioeconomic, and cultural aspects of Africa, this site has been developed to help you locate library resources. Since the study of African incorporates several disciplinary perspectives, materials are housed throughout the subject libraries at University Park, with the bulk of the collection at Pattee Library and Paterno Library.

Articles and Databases

Articles from journals the Penn State Libraries do not own can be obtained via ILLiad, the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan system.

General/Interdisciplinary

AfricaBib.org
AfricaBib is a combination of databases providing access to periodicals and other material on Africa. The two major databases include

A large and detailed bibliography entitled Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to African 1763-2004 can also be found on AfricaBib.

ASA (African Studies Abstracts) Online
Produced by the African Studies Centre, Leiden, The Netherlands, each quarterly issue contains about 450 abstracts of collective volumes, journal articles, and chapters from edited works, arranged geographically. Some 240 journals are regularly scanned. Almost half of these are published in Africa. Emphasis is on material in African studies (south of the Sahara) and third world development emphasizing social sciences and the humanities. About half of the entries are in English.

African journals online
This comprehensive database offers tables of contents and abstracts for 230 journals published in Africa in a variety of fields. Even though the Libraries only subscribe to a select number of these journals, this is a valuable resource that should not be overlooked.

The following databases are available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account:

JSTOR
This is an important source for the full text of back runs of (no current issues) 15 major journals in African Studies, including African Affairs and Journal of African History. In addition, JSTOR provides access to over 300 full-text journals in a wide variety of disciplines, including Anthropology, Economics, Feminist & Women's Studies, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Project MUSE
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses, with access to the full text of 9 titles in African Studies, with additional coverage of journals in the humanities and social sciences.

ProQuest Research Library
Covers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business. Contains many full-text articles.

Humanities perspective

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America : History and Life). Historical Abstracts includes information on articles indexed since 1970, and on books and dissertations from 1979.

MLA International Bibliography
A worldwide index of references to journal articles, dissertations, books, and parts of books pertaining to modern literatures, folklore, film, drama, languages, and linguistics. It excludes book, drama, and film reviews. Includes indexing from 1963 to the present, and incorporates the MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Social Sciences perspective

AnthropologyPlus
The main research tool available for the fields of anthropology and archaeology. AnthropologyPlus combines Anthopological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute (United Kingdom) into a single database. Covers journal articles, reports, edited works, and obituaries in anthropology and related fields. Coverage goes from late 19th century to the present.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
An important site for theory and research in international affairs. CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.

Population index
Indexes books, journals, working papers, and other materials on population topics. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database containing over 45,000 abstracts of demographic literature published between 1986-2000.

SourceOECD
Full-text book and serial publications from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Includes Country Statistical Profiles and economic data.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides references and abstracts from public affairs magazines, major newspapers, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis.

Gender perspective

Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International is one of the most comprehensive women's studies resources available. Citations and abstracts are drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases which range in coverage from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Library of Congress Call Numbers for African Studies

The table below will help you to find the right area for browsing the shelves to obtain materials about Africa. To identify specific call numbers and shelf locations search the CAT, the library's online catalog.

Subject Call Number Range
Africa - General Studies (including history, ethnography, & politics) DT1 - DT3415
Human Geography & Ecology, Africa GF700 - GF758
Folklore, Africa GR350 - GR360
Politics, Africa JQ1870 - JQ3981
Law, Africa KQ - KTZ
Music, Africa ML350
Language & Literature, Africa PL8000 - PL8844
Reference Books

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & General Histories

Encyclopedias and other reference works provide background information and overviews of topics. Typically they summarize what is known in the field and can be a good starting point for research. For information about specific countries also see the section below on Country Information.

Africana : The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara

Encyclopedia of African History

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture

Encyclopedia of African Literature

Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations

Encyclopedia of African Peoples

Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa : Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments

Country information

Country studies / Area Handbook series
Available online since 1988, this is a U.S. government-produced series of monographs on individual countries throughout the world. There are volumes for most African nations. This series is well-written and contains extensive bibliographies.

World Factbook
Heavily statistically based descriptions of countries, including data on economics, language, religion, and population. Produced by the United States Central Intelligence Agency. Also available online via the U.S. Government Printing Office.

Political Risk Yearbook
An analysis of the business and political climate of various countries. Designed primarily for use by business, the analysis can be useful in identifying trends in politics and economics. Coverage is for selected countries only:

Background notes series
Prepared by the United States Department of State, these publications provide information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of countries. Also available online via the U.S. Department of State.

Current Periodicals

A selected list of African Studies periodicals currently available from Penn State Libraries.

Aethiopica : International Journal of Ethiopian and Eritrean Studies (University of Hamburg, Germany)

Africa

Africa Confidential

Africa Insight

Africa Renewal

Africa Research Bulletin : Political, Social, and Cultural Series

Africa Review of Books

Africa Today

African Affairs

The African Archaeological Review

African Arts

African Development Review / Revue africaine de développement

African Economic History

African Geopolitics

African Historical Studies

African Issues

African Journal of Ecology

African Journal of Environmental Assessment and Management / Revue africaine de gestion et d'évaluation environementales

African Journal of Legal Studies

African Journal on Conflict Resolution

African Languages and Cultures

African Population Studies

African Security Review

African Studies

African Studies Bulletin

African Studies Quarterly

African Studies Review

Afrika Spectrum

Afrika Zamani

Black Renaissance/Renaissance noire

Canadian Journal of African Studies

CODESRIA (Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa) Bulletin

Eastern Africa Social Science Research Review

Feminist Africa

Focus on Africa

History in Africa

Horn of Africa

International Journal of African Historical Studies

Jenda : a Journal of Culture and African Women Studies

Jeune Afrique l'intelligent

Journal of African Economies

Journal of African History

Journal of African Languages & Linguistics

Journal of African Law

Journal of African Studies

Journal of Asian & African Studies

Journal of Contemporary African Studies

Journal of Language and Popular Culture in Africa

Journal of Modern African Studies

Journal of Religion in Africa

Journal of Southern African Studies

New African

Nordic Journal of African Studies

Northeast African Studies

Ntama : Journal of African Music and Popular Culture

Passages : a Chronicle of African Humanities

Politique africaine

Research in African Literatures

Review of African Political Economy

Slavery & Abolition

South African Journal of African Languages

Southern Africa Political & Economic Monthly

Transition

Transformation : Critical Perspectives on Southern Africa

Vienna Journal of African Studies / Wiener Zeitschrift für Kritische Afrikastudien

News Sources

AfricaFocus
This Web site features high-quality analysis and progressive advocacy on African issues, with particular attention to priority issues affecting the entire continent.

allAfrica.com
Aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources, who are responsible for their own reporting and views.

The following databases are available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account:

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic focuses primarily on business and law topics, with additional general news (international, national and local), medical, and reference resources. Most material is full-text. For Business, LexisNexis features company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Legal Research, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.

World News Connection
World News Connection is an online news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, including African, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Goes back to 1994.

The following African newspaper titles are available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account via PressDisplay Electronic Image Databases:

  • Alraed [Sudan]
  • Beeld [South Africa]
  • Business Day [Nigeria]
  • Business Weekly [Zimbabwe]
  • Daily Monitor [Uganda]
  • Daily Nation [Kenya]
  • Die Burger [South Africa]
  • Finweek Afrikaans Edition [South Africa]
  • Finweek English Edition [South Africa]
  • Goan Sport [Sudan]
  • Jornal de Angola [Angola]
  • Jornal dos Desportos [Angola]
  • Le Financier [Algeria]
  • Mail & Guardian [South Africa]
  • Republikein [Namibia]
  • Sunday Times of Johannesburg [South Africa]
  • The Citizen [South Africa]
  • The East African [Kenya]
Microforms Collections

The Penn State University Libraries hold a vast collection of microforms (microfilm, microfiche, and micro-opaques) on a wide variety of subjects. The collections are housed in the News & Microforms Library, located on the ground floor, West Pattee Library. Among the materials on Africa are:

Exploration and Colonization of Africa, 1794-1844

C. Abayomi Cassell Collection. Monrovia, Liberia

The Slave Trade, 1858-1892

Letters from Missionaries to Africa, 1834-1919

Records of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior Relating to the Suppression of the African Slave Trade and Negro Colonization, 1854-1872

Africa : Special Studies, 1962-1980

African Studies Association. Annual Conference Papers

CIA Research Reports. Africa, 1946-1976

Libraries and Research Centers

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York Public Library)
This site links you to one of the premiere research libraries for black culture. Dedicated to protecting, preserving, and providing access to materials relating to peoples of African descent from around the world, the Schomberg Center currently contains over 5,000,000 items.

Frederick D. Patterson Research Institute
The mission of the Institute is to "design, conduct, and disseminate the type of research that helps guide policymakers, educators... toward improving the education opportunities and outcomes of African Americans".

The African Studies Center, The University of Pennsylvania
"The African Studies Center at the University of Pennsylvania is recognized as a vital and forward-looking center where researchers, students and cultural and business entities come to gain knowledge of contemporary and historical Africa."

African Studies Internet Resources, Columbia University Libraries
"Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries. Electronic resources from Africa are organized by region and country."

African Studies Association (ASA)
"The African Studies Association was founded in 1957 as a non-profit organization open to all individuals and institutions interested in African affairs. Its mission is to bring together people with a scholarly and professional interest in Africa."

Office of the Special Adviser on Africa (OSAA)
United Nations office established to enhance international support for Africa's development and security through its advocacy and analytical work, to assist the Secretary General in improving coherence and coordination of the UN system support to Africa, and to facilitate inter-governmental deliberations on Africa at the global level, in particular relating to the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD).

United Nations Public Administration Network (UNPAN) : Africa
UNPAN promotes the sharing of knowledge, experiences and best practices throughout the world in sound public policies, effective public administration, and efficient civil services, through capacity-building and cooperation among the United Nations Member States, with emphasis on South-South cooperation and UNPAN's commitment to integrity and excellence.

Africa South of the Sahara
Selected Internet resources on a variety of issues about Africa compiled by the Stanford University Library.

Search


Contact

Subject Specialist
Sylvia Nyana
814-865-8864

Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib

or your Commonwealth Campus Library



Get Help