Periodical indexes direct you to articles and reviews in journals. "Abstracts" are simply periodical indexes which include a few sentences summarizing the contents of each article indexed. Usually, you will see a Get It button next to the description of a specific article. Click Get It and the software will determine if Penn State has access to an electronic version of the article, will look the magazine up in The Cat, or will offer to obtain a free copy of the article from another institution. When the “Get It” button is not available, check the title of each magazine in The Cat to find out if it is held in our library and to get the classification number so that you can find it on the shelves.
Most Used Art Periodical Indexes
- Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective (database)
Indexing of 260 international art publications, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals in French, German, Spanish Japanse, Dutch, and Swedish - Artbibliographies Modern (database)
Art of the late 19th-century to now - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (database)
Architecture of all eras and cultures - Bibliography of the History of Art (database)
European & American from late antiquity to now
Specialized Periodical Indexes for Art
- AATA Online (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts) (database)
Technical information on preservation and conservation of art and other cultural heritage - ABIA Index: South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology Index (database)
Historic material culture of South and Southeast Asia and culturally related regions - DYABOLA (database)
Information on archaeology, with some focus on classical antiquity but including selected pre-classical cultures and the Renaissance interests in classical antiquity - Fasti archaeologici: Annual Bulletin of Classical Archaeology (paper only)
Archaeology and art of the classical world, including early Christian period. Subject categories are in English. Abstracts in the language of the item described - Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals (paper only)
Extremely detailed indexing of 43 art magazines published in the U.S. during the 19th century
Search
Contact
Katherine Staab
Arts & Humanities Library
W320 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-6778
Fax: 814-863-7502
kes304@psu.edu
or Your Campus Librarian.
