Dictionaries such as these provide definitions and brief discussions on art, architecture, and the decorative arts.
- General Art Dictionaries
- Modern and Contemporary Art
- Art History - General Dictionaries
- Art History - Asian
- Art History - Western Traditions
- Art History - Other Cultures
- Art History - Dictionaries for Translating
General Art Dictionaries
The first ones to try are usually:
Oxford Art Online (database)
- Although primarily an encyclopedia this database also contains dictionary entries from the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Reference Online: Art and Architecture (database)
- A set of dictionaries on many aspects of art and architecture. They may be searched simultaneously.
- Klee As In Clay: A Pronunciation Guide, 1986. (book)
- Pronunciation Dictionary of Artists' Names, 1993. (book)
Modern and Contemporary Art
Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art, 1998. (database)
Dictionary of Modern Design, 2004. (database)
Oxford Companion to the Photograph, 2005. (database)
Art on the Cutting Edge: A Guide to Contemporary Modern Movements, 1996. (book)
Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present, 1997. (book)
Artspoke: A Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements and Buzzwords, 1848-1944, 1993. (book)
Artwords: A Glossary of Contemporary Art Theory, 1997. (book)
Glossary of Art, Architecture, and Design Since 1945, 1992. (book)Art History - General Dictionaries
Art History: The Key Concepts, 2006. (book)
Dictionary of Symbols, 1994. (book)
Guide to Imagery, 2002+. (series of books on common themes in art)
Oxford Companion to the Decorative Arts
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, 2002. (book)
Art History - Asian
Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art, 1981. (book)
Glossary of Chinese Art and Archaeology, 1972. (book)
Dictionary of Chinese Symbols, 1986. (book)
Outlines of Chinese Symbolism and Art Motives, 1974. (book)
Symbols and Rebuses in Chinese Art: Figures, Bugs, Beasts, and Flowers, 2004. (book)
Visual Dictionary of Chinese Architecture, 2002. (book)
Images from the Floating World: the Japanese Print: Including an Illustrated Dictionary of Ukiyo-e, 1978. (book)
Symbols of Japan: Thematic Motifs in Art and Design, 2001. (book)
Dictionary of South and Southeast Asian Art, 2004. (book)
Reading Buddhist Art: An Illustrated Guide to Buddhist Signs and Symbols, 2002. (book)
Illustrated Dictionary of Hindu Iconography, 1985. (book)
Art History - Western Traditions
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art, 1995. (book)
Dictionary of Classical Mythology: Symbols, Attributes, and Associations, 1982. (book)
Dent Dictionary of Symbols in Christian Art, 1994. (book)
Renaissance Art and Architecture, 2004. (book)
Thesaurus of Religious Objects: Furniture, Objects, Linen, Clothing and Musical Instruments of the Roman Catholic Faith, 1999. (book)
Art History - Other Cultures
Dictionary of Islamic Architecture, 1996. (database and book)
Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and Native North America, 2000. (book)
African Ethnonyms: Index to Art-Producing Peoples of Africa, 1996. (book)
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture, 2003. (book)
Art History - Dictionaries for Translating
These can help to translate specialized terms of art history from one language to another:
Dictionnaire polyglotte des termes d'art et d'archéologie [French, German, Italian, and English], 1953. (book)
Elsevier's Dictionary of Art History Terms in French-English and English-French, 2005. (book)
German-English Dictionary: Art History--Archaeology, 1990. (book)
Search
Contact
Katherine Staab
Arts & Humanities Library
W320 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-6778
Fax: 814-863-7502
kes304@psu.edu
or Your Campus Librarian.
