Websites
Brief Biographies of American Architects
- American Architects who died between 1847 & 1947
- maintained by the Society of Architectural Historians
- transcribed from the American Art Annual by Earle G. Shettleworth, Jr., Director, Maine Historic Preservation Commission
Chicago Architects Oral History Project
- a record of the life experiences of architects who shaped the physical environment in Chicago and surrounding communities
- maintained by the Art Institute of Chicago
International Archive of Women in Architecture Biographical Database
- document the women's involvement in architecture and landscape architecture, industrial and interior designer, and urban planning from around the world
- maintained by Virginia Tech
- contains brief biographies as well as images of selected projects
- maintained by Great Buildings Online
- contains biographies, citations from the Pritzker Jury and acceptance speeches of all Pritzker Architectural Prize Laureates
Books
American Architects : a Survey of Award-Winning Contemporaries and Their Notable Works (book)
Krantz, Les
American Landscape Architecture : Designers and Places (book)
Tishler, William H.
Avery Obituary Index of Architects (book)
Avery Library
Biographical Dictionary of American Architects: Deceased (book)
Withey, Henry F.
A Biographical Dictionary of British Architects, 1600-1840 (book)
Colvin, Howard Montagu
Biographical Dictionary of Philadelphia Architects, 1700-1930 (book)
Tatman, Sandra L.
Contemporary Architects (book)
Emanuel, Muriel
Contemporary Designers (book)
Naylor, Colin
Dictionary of Today's Landscape Designers (book)
Nicolin, Pierluigi
Directory of British Architects, 1834-1900 (book)
Felstead, Alison
Edwardian Architecture : a Biographical Dictionary (book)
Gray, A. Stuart
Encyclopedia of Architecture : Design, Engineering & Construction (book)
Wilkes, Joseph A.
Grüne Biographien : Biographisches Handbuch zur Landschaftsarchitektur des 20. Jahrhunderts in Deutschland (book)
Gröning, Gert
Historical Dictionary of Architecture (book)
Palmer, Allison Lee
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture (book)
Sharp, Dennis
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture (book)
Yarwood, Doreen
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects (book)
Placzek, Adolf K.
Makers of 20th Century Modern Architecture : a Bio-Critical Sourcebook (book)
Johnson, Donald Leslie
Master Builders : a Guide to Famous American Architects (book)
Maddex, Diane
Pioneers of American Landscape Design (book)
Birnbaum, Charles A.
Pioneers of CAD in Architecture (book)
Kemper, Alfred M.
The Oral History of Modern Architecture : Interviews With the Greatest Architects of the Twentieth Century (book)
Peter, John
Three Centuries of Notable American Architects (book)
Thorndike, Joseph Jacobs
Who's Who in Architecture : from 1400 to the Present (book)
Richards, J. M.
Who's Who in Interior Design (book)
Barons Who's Who (Firm)
Krantz, Les
American Landscape Architecture : Designers and Places (book)
Tishler, William H.
Avery Obituary Index of Architects (book)
Avery Library
Biographical Dictionary of American Architects: Deceased (book)
Withey, Henry F.
A Biographical Dictionary of British Architects, 1600-1840 (book)
Colvin, Howard Montagu
Biographical Dictionary of Philadelphia Architects, 1700-1930 (book)
Tatman, Sandra L.
Contemporary Architects (book)
Emanuel, Muriel
Contemporary Designers (book)
Naylor, Colin
Dictionary of Today's Landscape Designers (book)
Nicolin, Pierluigi
Directory of British Architects, 1834-1900 (book)
Felstead, Alison
Edwardian Architecture : a Biographical Dictionary (book)
Gray, A. Stuart
Encyclopedia of Architecture : Design, Engineering & Construction (book)
Wilkes, Joseph A.
Grüne Biographien : Biographisches Handbuch zur Landschaftsarchitektur des 20. Jahrhunderts in Deutschland (book)
Gröning, Gert
Historical Dictionary of Architecture (book)
Palmer, Allison Lee
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture (book)
Sharp, Dennis
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture (book)
Yarwood, Doreen
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects (book)
Placzek, Adolf K.
Makers of 20th Century Modern Architecture : a Bio-Critical Sourcebook (book)
Johnson, Donald Leslie
Master Builders : a Guide to Famous American Architects (book)
Maddex, Diane
Pioneers of American Landscape Design (book)
Birnbaum, Charles A.
Pioneers of CAD in Architecture (book)
Kemper, Alfred M.
The Oral History of Modern Architecture : Interviews With the Greatest Architects of the Twentieth Century (book)
Peter, John
Three Centuries of Notable American Architects (book)
Thorndike, Joseph Jacobs
Who's Who in Architecture : from 1400 to the Present (book)
Richards, J. M.
Who's Who in Interior Design (book)
Barons Who's Who (Firm)
