Daily Collegian
-- Contains news of campus buildings and expansion and sometimes mentions town structures.
Daily Collegian (1988 - present)
Daily Collegian (1887-1987) (Digital Archive)
Centre Daily Times
-- In like fashion, the local newspaper is also a good source of campus and local architecture.
Centre Daily Times (1996 - present)
Full text via NewsBank
Centre Daily Times Index (1981-2002)
This selective database, created at Penn State, primarily indexes local news articles. National and state news items are not indexed unless they are relevant to local persons, places or events.
University Park Campus History Digital Archives
-- Pictures, documents and brief histories of the development of Penn State's University Park Campus.
Trees of Penn State
-- Contains an inventory of trees on the University Park and other information on plantings on campus
Hajjar Heritage: A Centre Region Treasure
-- Contains pictures and information on over 40 buildings designed and built by A. William Hajjar in the State College area.
CentreMap
-- CentreMap provides free and convenient access to digital mapping for Centre County. A wide variety of local mapping information is available through CentreMap including streets, streams, trails, parcels and aerial photography.
Local Governments
Centre County Government
Bellefonte Borough
Benner Township
Boggs Township
College Township
Ferguson Township
Haines Township
Harris Township
Halfmoon Township
Millheim Borough
Patton Township
Philipsburg Borough
Potter Township
State College Borough
The Centre Region Council of Governments
See Also:
Penn State History
-- Maintained by the University Archives.
Pennsylvania History
-- The library maintains an extensive collection of materials relating to the history of Pennsylvania, and Centre County.
Bellefonte Historical and Cultural Association
-- BHCA is a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the arts in Bellefonte, Pennsylvania. The organization presents diverse arts and cultural programming to the community; seeks to attract working artists; and strives to increase awareness of the significance of Bellefonte's cultural heritage, as reflected in rich Victorian architecture, and of the value of its preservation.
Centre County Historical Society
-- The Centre County Historical Society has, over the years, acquired archival collections which provide primary source materials for those interested in researching or writing about the history of the county. The online collections list includes brief entries about the various collections and links to more in-depth finding aids for selected collections.
The Pennsylvania Room of the Centre County Library and Historical Museum
-- The Pennsylvania Room has a specialized collection of over 3000 volumes on local and family history, as well as original Centre County records, newspapers, several vertical files of manuscript genealogies and newspaper clippings, vital record indexes, and various historical and genealogical periodicals.
Charette
-- Online access to Charette magazine (vols. 1-54, 1920-1974), an essential source for architectural research in Pittsburgh and Pennsylvania.
The Athenaeum of Philadelphia
-- The Athenaeum of Philadelphia maintains an architectural archive focusing on Philadelphia area architects.
Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission
-- The Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission maintains collections relating to the archaeology; historic sites and properties; and historic preservation within the Commonwealth.
Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry
-- The Department of Labor & Industry is a good source of info relating to building codes, licenses, permits & certifications pertaining to the Commonwealth.
Heritage Documentation Programs
-- Heritage Documentation Programs administers HABS (Historic American Buildings Survey), the Federal Government's oldest preservation program, and companion programs HAER (Historic American Engineering Record), HALS (Historic American Landscapes Survey), and CRGIS (Cultural Resources Geographic Information Systems). Documentation produced through the programs constitutes the nation's largest archive of historic architectural, engineering and landscape documentation.
National Register of Historic Places
-- Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archeological resources. Properties listed in the Register include districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture.
Search
Contact
or your campus librarian (link).
