Websites
International Code Council (ICC)
The International Code Council, a membership association dedicated to building safety and fire prevention, develops codes used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools. Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes developed by the International Code Council. The ICC revises and publishes their codes every three years.
DOE Building Energy Codes Program (United States Department of Energy)
DOE's Building Energy Codes Program is an information resource on national model energy codes. They work with other government agencies, state and local jurisdictions, national code organizations, and industry to promote stronger building energy codes and help states adopt, implement, and enforce those codes.
National Fire Protection Association Research Foundation (NFPA)
The mission of the international nonprofit NFPA is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.
Underwriters Laboratories
Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL) is an independent, not-for-profit product-safety testing and certification organization founded in 1894.
The International Code Council, a membership association dedicated to building safety and fire prevention, develops codes used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools. Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes developed by the International Code Council. The ICC revises and publishes their codes every three years.
DOE Building Energy Codes Program (United States Department of Energy)
DOE's Building Energy Codes Program is an information resource on national model energy codes. They work with other government agencies, state and local jurisdictions, national code organizations, and industry to promote stronger building energy codes and help states adopt, implement, and enforce those codes.
National Fire Protection Association Research Foundation (NFPA)
The mission of the international nonprofit NFPA is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.
Underwriters Laboratories
Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL) is an independent, not-for-profit product-safety testing and certification organization founded in 1894.
Books
Codes from the International Code Council (ICC)
Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes developed by the International Code Council. The ICC revises and publishes their codes every three years. We have listed some of their more common code volumes below. A complete catalog of their publications is available on the ICC's website.
International Building Code (book)
International Code Council
International Energy Conservation Code (book)
International Code Council
International Existing Building Code (book)
International Code Council
International Fire Code (book)
International Code Council
International Property Maintenance Code (book)
International Code Council
International Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings (book)
International Code Council
International Zoning Code (book)
International Code Council
Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes developed by the International Code Council. The ICC revises and publishes their codes every three years. We have listed some of their more common code volumes below. A complete catalog of their publications is available on the ICC's website.
International Building Code (book)
International Code Council
International Energy Conservation Code (book)
International Code Council
International Existing Building Code (book)
International Code Council
International Fire Code (book)
International Code Council
International Property Maintenance Code (book)
International Code Council
International Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings (book)
International Code Council
International Zoning Code (book)
International Code Council
Other helpful books pertaining to Building Codes & Regulations
The Architect's Portable Handbook : First-Step Rules of Thumb for Building Design (book)
The Architect's Portable Handbook (electronic resource)
Guthrie, Pat
The Architect's Studio Companion : Rules of Thumb for Preliminary Design (book)
The Architect's Studio Companion (electronic resource)
Allen, Edward
Building Codes Illustrated : a Guide to Understanding the International Building Code (book)
Ching, Frank
The Codes Guidebook for Interiors (book)
Harmon, Sharon Koomen
Cracking the Codes : an Architect's Guide to Building Regulations (book)
Yatt, Barry D.
Illustrated Building Code Handbook (book)
Illustrated Building Code Handbook (electronic resource)
Patterson, Terry L.
The Architect's Portable Handbook : First-Step Rules of Thumb for Building Design (book)
The Architect's Portable Handbook (electronic resource)
Guthrie, Pat
The Architect's Studio Companion : Rules of Thumb for Preliminary Design (book)
The Architect's Studio Companion (electronic resource)
Allen, Edward
Building Codes Illustrated : a Guide to Understanding the International Building Code (book)
Ching, Frank
The Codes Guidebook for Interiors (book)
Harmon, Sharon Koomen
Cracking the Codes : an Architect's Guide to Building Regulations (book)
Yatt, Barry D.
Illustrated Building Code Handbook (book)
Illustrated Building Code Handbook (electronic resource)
Patterson, Terry L.
