This bibliography is intended to help those setting out to conduct library research in recent architecture or landscape architecture. Focus here is on the types of topics frequently chosen by students in Penn State's design programs. These topics tend toward the interdisciplinary. This is primarily a list of reference books, databases and websites. These items are not ones that you list in the footnotes or bibliography of a research presentation. Instead, they are tools which can help you improve your bibliography. The list is divided by tool-types. Each section begins with an explanation of the type. The names of these formats are not used consistently by publishers and librarians, nor are the names important. But understanding the type of tool, and how it can be used, is useful indeed.
Some formats are as follows:
FINDING:
FINDING OUT:
A quick way to get started on a research project is to do two things at once: gather information about where to find things and actually reading about them. It doesn’t work well to do too much of one without doing some of the other. So FAST STARTS in this bibliography means that these types of resources can give you both kinds of information at once.
Although this list may seem long, it only selects a few items which are frequently useful. For any specific problem, other sources may be ideal. Please don’t forget that asking a librarian can also be a handy way to begin.
Many of the items below are available in electronic form. Don’t be put off if one of the resources mentioned here is not in a language that you are comfortable using. As a rule, reference resources contain concise information that is easily translated and often possible to understand from context.
People
Guides to Research
Aby, Stephen H.
-- Describes general resources (publications and web sites) for sociology in general, but also for many useful sub-topics such as community studies, demography, rural sociology, social change, urban sociology, etc.
Architecture Internet Resources (as viewed 9/12/06)
Brown, Jeanne
University of Nevada, Las Vegas Architecture Studies Library
-- This web site selects, briefly describes, and links to web resources for most aspects of the built environment. It does not refer to paper resources. Spend some time browsing these well-selected links.
Environmental Design Library Research Guides List (as viewed 9/12/06)
Environmental Design Library, University of California Berkeley
-- An extensive and useful guide to both paper and electronic resources on the built environment and related topics. Includes architectural, landscape, and urban design. Savvy of recent trends. Explore this rich resource.
The Social Sciences: A Cross-Disciplinary Guide to Selected Sources (book)
The Social Sciences (electronic resource)
Herron, Nancy L. (ed.)
-- Introduces reference resources for sociology, anthropology, psychology, geography, economics, political science, and other social science disciplines. Includes handbooks for research methods. Electronic version downloadable.
Landscape Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of Landscape Architecture in the United States (book)
Vogelsong, Diana
-- An annotated bibliography of basic reference resources (including many electronic ones) and recommended texts. Includes general resources, practical handbooks, plant materials, important sites, recommended periodicals, organizations, and key topics in the field. Includes some coverage of Geographic Information Systems, restoration, conservation, waterfronts, and other aspects of recent professional activity.
Watersheds and Water Resources (as viewed 9/12/06)
Penn State Earth & Mineral Sciences Library
-- Several good web sites on management of water resources selected by the folks at Penn State's Earth and Mineral Sciences Library..
Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the Practice of Architecture (book)
Wayne, Kathryn M.
-- Most useful for its well-selected readings on building types in 14 categories. Also good coverage of encyclopedias and periodical indexes.
The Penn State Librarians have tailored many other brief guides to research to the programs here. These are listed on the Find Research Guides by Subject page.
Encyclopedias
Access Science [McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology]
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (book)
-- A high-quality encyclopedia containing articles on most aspects of science and technology. There is a paper version of 20 volumes, but the electronic version is frequently updated.
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences (book)
Anderson, Malcolm (ed.)
-- Signed articles and bibliographies on an interesting selection of important ideas in recent architectural practice and criticism: space & knowledge, integrated systems, social activity in urban spaces, etc.
Cities of the World (as viewed 9/12/06)
Gale Research Co.
-- Basic data and bibliography on the geographic, cultural, and political circumstances of major cities. Based upon U.S. Department of State reports.
Environmental Encyclopedia (book)
Environmental Encyclopedia (electronic resource)
Gale Research Co.
Also available as a database on the Libraries web pages (under Gale Virtual Reference Library)
-- Articles on technical terms, famous disasters, important people, and key organizations.
Companion to Cultural Geography (book)
Duncan, James
-- Features articles each reviewing the literature of some facet of cultural geography. Aspects treated are grouped under these categories: theories, identities, colonial/post-colonial considerations, and a variety of other disciplines (economics, religion, politics, film, child development, etc.) as they have been related to landscape.
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World (book)
Ember, Melvin and Carol
-- Thematic articles (on space, migration, the Middle East, etc) only in the first portion of volume 1, then extensive articles on 237 major cities of the world – each focusing on the cultural distinctiveness of the city and the cultural variety within it.
Companion to Contemporary Architectural Thought (book)
Farmer, Ben and Hentie Louw (eds.)
-- Signed articles and bibliographies on an interesting selection of important ideas in recent architectural practice and criticism: space & knowledge, integrated systems, social activity in urban spaces, etc.
Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society (book)
Goudie, Andrew S. and David J. Cuff (eds.)
-- Current state of systems (e.g. mining) issues (e.g. water quality) and methods (e.g. sustainable development) described and followed by annotated bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change (book)
Munn, Ted (ed.)
-- A thematic arrangement - each volumes covering a different part of the problem: physical and chemical dimensions, biological and ecological, causes and consequences, responses, and social and economic dimensions.
Oxford Art Online
-- A huge compendium of historical information on people, places, major works, styles, periods, techniques, etc. Covers all of the visual arts including architecture and some landscape architecture. (Although it is stronger on historical than contemporary topics.)
Dictionary of Human Geography (book)
Johnston, R.J. et al.
-- Terms, concepts, and schools of thought on humans and their places.
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences (book)
Michie, Jonathan (ed.)
-- Articles on broad topics in Economics, Human Geography, Psychology, Sociology and other social science disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World (book)
Oliver, Paul and Simon Bronner (eds.)
-- A fascinating array of information on the endless variety and revealing similarities in earth’s vernacular architecture – defined as the building of and by people using traditional and regional technologies. Some cultures offer inspiring perspectives on the relation of the natural to the built environment. Articles on broad issues, types, and materials in the first volume.
See also the supplement:
Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World (book)
Vellinga, Marcel and Paul Oliver and Alexander Bridge
International Handbook of Contemporary Developments in Architecture (book)
Sanderson, Warren
-- Most useful for its essays reviewing the recent history of architecture and urban planning in 32 countries. Less thorough on landscape architecture. Also contains directories of schools and organizations.
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture (book)
Sennott, R. Stephen (ed.)
-- Substantial articles on people, firms, professional practice, building types, buildings, sites, cities, countries, influential unbuilt projects, materials, technologies, planning, movements, and styles.
Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs (book)
Shumsky, Neil Larry (ed.)
-- Articles for cities, people, and topics in urbanism (such as lawns, retailing, water, zoning, etc.) with a strong historical perspective but including history up to the 1990s.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (as viewed 9/12/06)
Smelser, Neil and Paul Baltes (eds.)
-- Articles reviewing scholarship on most major topics in an impressive array of disciplines.
Portal: Architecture (as viewed 9/12/06)
Wikipedia
-- Wikipedia “portals” organize its million encyclopedia articles under broad subject groups. They use the term “architecture” in its broadest sense and include landscape and urban design in this portal. As with all social computing, go carefully. In addition to reading critically, check the “history” tab on each article you use. Generally the articles with a longer history are more reliable.
Encyclopedia of Architecture : Design, Engineering & Construction (book)
Wilkes, Joseph A.
-- The most versatile encyclopedia for architecture. It’s a bit weak in its historical and biographical entries, but there are plenty of other sources for those. Strongest on building technologies, types, materials, and issues of professional practice. Some inclusion of landscape and urban design.
Encyclopedia of Housing (book)
Van Vliet, Willem (ed.)
-- Issues, laws, and processes of housing in all its forms and settings (including rural).
Lexicon of Garden and Landscape Architecture (book)
Vroom, Meto
-- Well documented articles on types, concepts, and jargon all by one author.
Biographical Dictionaries
The main biographical dictionaries for architects and landscape architects are list on our Biographical Resources: Architecture & Landscape Architecture research guide.
There are hundreds of other biographical dictionaries. A handy way to figure out which one to use is to search Biography and Genealogy Master Index (one of the University Libraries databases). It doesn’t tell you anything about the person, but it will tell you which biographical dictionary contains the information. As a matter of fact, it points to about 10 million brief biographies.
Handbooks
Planning and Urban Design Standards (book)
American Planning Association
Doing Urban Research (book)
Andranovich, Gregory, and Gerry Riposa
Dissertation: An Architecture Student’s Handbook (book)
Borden, Iain, and Katerina Ray
-- A guide aimed at students in British architecture programs that require a formal dissertation. Includes general advice about possible research methods, phases in the writing process, typical features, and lots of examples from good dissertations.
Landscape Architect's Portable Handbook (book)
Dines, Nicholas T. and Kyle D. Brown
Practice of Local Government Planning (book)
International City Management Association
HOK Guidebook to Sustainable Design (book)
Mendler, Sandra, and William Odell
Handbook of Research Design & Social Measurement (book)
Miller, Delbert C., and Neil J. Salkind
-- Describes approved methods of data collection such as surveys, interviews, modeling, etc.
Handbook of Urban Studies (book)
Paddison, Ronan
Site Planning and Design Handbook (book)
Russ, Thomas H.
Graphic or Design Standards are a special type of handbook for design data and typical design solutions. For a good list of them see our Research Guide on: Design Standards & Rules of Thumb
Library Catalogs
-- The Penn State Libraries’ catalog (The CAT) contains virtually all of the holdings of the University Park Libraries as well as those of the other campuses of Penn State. Note that most library catalogs only have a single record for each magazine title; they do not include records for each of the articles in a magazine. (For that, see "Periodical Indexes & Abstracts" below.) As with any database, you may need to try several methods of searching in order to get good results. If the book you want is charged out, or owned only at another campus, click on the “I Want It” button and fill out the form. The book will be retrieved and held for you at a library service desk. If you want to find materials not held at the Penn State Libraries, try:
World Cat (OCLC)
-- A combination of the data from most of the automated library catalogs in the United States and some from other countries as well. It includes over 41 million records for books, periodicals, magazines, and any other type of material cataloged its member libraries. You can request to borrow an item from another library via Interlibrary Loan.
Periodical Indexes & Abstracts
Abstracts are simply periodical indexes which include a few sentences summarizing the contents of each article indexed.

Once you select articles that you want to read, you can use the “Get it!” button to see if there is an electronic version of the article or to see if a paper copy is held in our library. If in paper, you will need the call number so that you can find it on the shelves.
The databases below marked CSA may be combined and searched as a set. Enter any of them and click "Specific Databases" to choose your combination.
ABI/Inform
-- A business-oriented database to articles in 1400 trade, popular and research journals for subjects such as company information, consumer products and services, industry trends, economic policy, real estate development, marketing, etc. from 1986 to the present.
AGRICOLA
-- Produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and covering agriculture and related subjects including animal and plant science, entomology, agronomy, horticulture, rural sociology, agricultural economics, family living, food and nutrition. 1970 - present (some older materials). Choose the "Article Citation Database" to find journal articles and the "NAL catalog" to find books or videos.
Anthropology Plus
-- Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts CSA
-- The Aquatic Sciences Collection provides comprehensive information on the science and technology of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments from 1978 to the present. The collection contains five files which can be searched individually: 1)Biological Sciences and Living Resources, 2) Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources, 3) Aquatic pollution and Environmental Quality, 4) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts, and 5) Aquaculture Abstracts.
Artbibliographies Modern CSA
-- This indexes publications about modern art -- beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to recent trends. It covers land art, public sculpture, and some other types of built works. Indexing began in 1974 and includes more than just articles – some books, dissertations, etc.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals CSA
-- Guide to the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (html format)
-- Guide to the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (pdf format - 205 kb)
-- Selectively indexes journal articles and reviews on architecture and landscape (including archaeology, decorative arts, interior design, furnishings, landscape design, city planning, and housing) which appear in more than 2,500 journals in these fields. Indexing is fairly up-to-date and goes back to 1919 (and some scattered items from even earlier).
CAB Abstracts
-- A comprehensive file of agricultural and biological information (plant sciences, animal sciences, entomology, soils and fertilizers, forestry, agricultural economics, nutrition, agricultural engineering, rural recreation and tourism, the management of natural resources, and tourism) from over 8500 journals as well as conference proceedings, theses and annual reports. Coverage goes back to 1900.
CenStats
-- A suite of databases of statistics supplied by the U.S. Census Bureau. Demographics, numbers of building permits, etc.
Engineering Village
-- The most comprehensive source for journal articles, conference proceedings and technical reports in most areas of science and technology (including computing, materials, structures, building systems, etc.) Coverage is from 1884 to present.
CumInCAD (Computer-Aided Architectural Design)
-- Guide to CumInCAD (html format)
-- Guide to CumInCAD (pdf format - 174 kb)
-- CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It provides abstracts to thousands of papers in journals and conferences and it provides the full text and illustrations for more than half of the papers. When asked to logon, create your own ID and password.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management CSA
-- Abstracts and references to the literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources from 1981 to the present.
ERIC CSA
-- A huge collection of abstracts of education literarture. Plenty on learning environments. Topics can be broken down by educational level. Uses a sophisticated hierarchical vocabulary.
FRANCIS CSA
-- Indexing for a broad range of scholarly articles in the arts, humanities, and social science with strong representation of European scholarship.
GEOBASE CSA
-- Citations and abstracts to worldwide literature on cartography, climatology, meteorology, energy, environment, and related disciplines. 1980 to the present.
GeoRef CSA
-- GeoRef contains over 2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and dissertations.
Oxford Art Online
-- A huge compendium of historical information on people, places, major works, styles, periods, techniques, etc. Covers all of the visual arts including some landscape architecture. Although it is much stronger on historical than contemporary topics, it does, however, contain entries for many contemporary land artists and makes mention of many important landscape projects.
Guide To Computing Literature
-- More than 750,000 abstracts from 3,000+ publishers of computing literature (books, journal articles, conference proceedings, doctoral dissertations, master's theses, and technical reports.
Human Population and Natural Resources Management CSA
-- This database explores human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
NTIS CSA
-- Indexes reports on research (mostly government sponsored research) in a variety of fields including, but not limited to: agriculture, business, computer sciences, energy, engineering, environmental sciences, natural resources & earth sciences, technology, telecommunications , transportation, etc. 1964-present.
PsycINFO CSA
-- The literature of psychology and related disciplines. Contains a few studies of design decision-making processes that have been published outside the world of design magazines. CSA
Proquest Direct
-- Indexes articles in more than 5000 general interest magazines, journals, and newspapers. It contains full text (sometimes without the illustrations) or page images (looks like real paper publication) to over 2,000 of those journals, and full text to 150+ newspapers. The beginning date for the indexing varies widely, but usually only includes that past decade or so.
RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue
-- a database including Architectural Publications Index
-- To be thorough, you might want to check this source after using the Avery Index . Included in this book catalogue is indexing for the individual articles in hundreds of architectural journals. So you can search for both books and journals at the same time in this database. Or you could limit your search to either type. You might also discover unique drawings, photographs, and biography files in their collection, but those cannot be borrowed.
Sage Urban Studies Abstracts (book)
Sage Publications
-- Abstracts of a useful selection of articles, books, and documents on urban policy and other areas of urban studies, including planning. Coverage is from 1977 to date.
Sociological Abstracts CSA
-- Index for English language journals in sociology and other social sciences from 1954 to date.
Statistical Universe (now LexisNexis Statistical)
-- A huge index to statistical tables and abstracts from statistical studies from governmental and private sector sources.
Sustainability Science Abstracts CSA
-- Indexes resources related to sustainable development and conservation of natural resources. Coverage is from 1995 to date.
TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services)
-- Provides access to transportation research published in journals, books, technical reports, and other media. It is produced by the Transportation Research Board and the U.S. Department of Transportation.
Urban Forestry
-- Indexes about 85 journals for their coverage of urban forestry, including the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests; selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; its planning and management. Includes some books, conference proceedings, and government documents. From 1980 to the present. Produced by the University of Minnesota Forestry Library.
Water Resources Abstracts CSA
-- Summaries of technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering broad issues and very specific details of water’s characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. 1967-date.
Citation Indexes
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
-- Indexes about 1200 journals in these disciplines back to 1976. Works of art or architecture described or illustrated in an article are treated the same way as footnotes and may be found with the "Cited Reference" search. When you enter, select "Web of Science." Can be combined with Social Sciences Citation Index, below.
Social Sciences Citation Index
-- Covers about 2000 journals in all social science disciplines (including planning, the societal impact of technology, etc.) back to 1956. When you enter, select "Web of Science." Can be combined with Arts and Humanities Citation Index, above.
Marketleap Link Popularity Check
-- Type in the URL of the site you are interested in and follow the instructions. The software creates a table of results with the results for your site in the top row. That row shows the number of linking web sites found on each of several search engines. Click on the numbers to see the actual list of web sites.
Dictionaries
Illustrated Dictionary of Architectural Preservation (book)
Burden, Ernest
A Visual Dictionary of Architecture (book)
Ching, Francis
-- This one uses the “pictures first” approach.
Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction (book)
Christensen, Alan Jay
Dictionary of Architectural and Building Technology (book)
Cowan, Henry and Peter R. Smith
Dictionary of Urbanism (book)
Cowan, Robert
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (book)
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (electronic resource)
Curl, James Stevens
-- Also available as a database via Oxford Reference Online.
A Planners Dictionary (book)
Davidson, Michael and Fay Dolnick
Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction (book)
Davies, Nikolas, Erkki Jokiniemi
The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (book)
Fleming, John, Hugh Honour, and Nikolaus Pevsner (eds.)
-- Styles, periods, countries, building types, and elements. Previous to the 5th edition, this book was titled The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture, and did not cover landscape architecture.
Dictionary of Computer Graphics and Virtual Reality (book)
Latham, Roy
Dictionary of Environmental Legal Terms (book)
Lee, C.C.
A Dictionary of Landscape Architecture (book)
Morrow, Baker H.
The Illustrated Book of Development Definitions (book)
Moskowitz, Harvey S., and Carl G. Lindbloom
Historical Dictionary of Architecture (book)
Palmer, Allison Lee
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology (book)
Porteous, Andrew.
Archispeak: An Illustrated Guide to Architectural Terms (book)
Porter, Tom, et al.
Encyclopedia of Community Planning and Environmental Management (book)
Schultz, Marilyn and Vivian Kasen
-- Includes names of important court cases, laws, and many other terms.
Oxford Companion to the Garden (book)
Oxford Companion to the Garden (electronic resource)
Taylor, Patrick
--Articles on nearly 1000 famous gardens worldwide, from ancient legend to recent land art. Also designers, themes, etc.
-- Also available as a database via Oxford Reference Online.
Glossary of Art, Architecture, and Design Since 1945 (book)
Walker, John Albert
-- An excellent vocabulary of critical terms such as “brutalism” or “post-modernism.” In addition to a clear explanation of each concept, one or two articles are listed by a critic who was instrumental in coining the term.
World Architecture 1900-2000: A Critical Mosaic (book)
Frampton, Kenneth (ed.)
-- A visual compilation of major buildings of the century with location, key credits, dates, and a few paragraphs explaining significance. Very unusual for its thoroughly international scope with separate volumes on North America, Latin America, Europe, the Mediterranean Basin, the Middle East, Africa, Russia, South Asia, East Asia, and Southeast Asia and Oceana.
Polyglot Dictionaries
Elsevier's Dictionary of Environment in English, French, Spanish and Arabic (book)
Elsevier's Dictionary of Environment in English, French, Spanish and Arabic (electronic resource)
Bakr, M.
Dictionary--Landscape and Urban Planning: Multilingual Dictionary of Environmental Planning, Design and Conservation (book)
Lexikon--Landschafts- und Stadtplanung: Mehrsprachiges Wörterbuch über Planung, Gestaltung und Schutz der Umwelt (book)
Evert, Klaus-Jürgen
-- German, English, French, and Spanish.
GEneral Multilingual Environmental Thesaurus (GEMET)
-- Environmental terminology in 19 languages. Search or browse categories. A project of the European Environment Agency.
Multilingual Dictionary of Architecture and Building Terms (book)
Grech, Chris
-- French, English, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Means Spanish/English Construction Dictionary (book)
Georges, Danielle Legros
Dictionary of Architecture and Building Trades in Four Languages (book)
Zboinski, A. and L. Tyszynski
-- English, German, Polish, and Russian.
Arts and Architecture Librarian
Pennsylvania State University Libraries
320 West Pattee
(814) 865-6778
henryp@psu.edu
9/14/08
