Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Fact Books
Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science
Business Library, Reference: HG8781. E47
History of Actuarial Science
3rd floor Paterno: HG8781.H57 1995 v. 1-10
Modern Actuarial Theory and Practice, by P. Booth, et al.
3rd floor Paterno: HG8781.M63
Handbook of Insurance, ed. by Georges Dionne.
3rd floor Paterno: HG8061.H36 2000
Aggregation and Insurance Mortality Estimation 2003, by William H. Dow, Kristine A Gonzales, and Luis Rosero-Bixby.
3rd floor Paterno: HB141.N2 no.9827
Loss models: From Data to Decisions, by Stuart A. Klugman, Harry H. Panjer, and Gordon E. Willmot
3rd floor Paterno: HG8781.K583 1998
Life, Death and Money: Actuaries and the Creation of Financial Security, by Derek Renn.
3rd floor Paterno: HG8781.L53 1998
The Insurance Almanac: Who, What, When, and Where in Insurance: An Annual of Insurance Facts Business Library, Reference: HG8019.I5 2004/05
Directories & Reference Sources
Redistribution and Insurance: Mandatory Annuitization with Mortality Heterogeneity. 2002, by Jeffrey R.Brown.
3rd floor Paterno: HB141.N2 no 9256
Integrated Risk Management: Techniques and Strategies for Managing Corporate Risk, by Neil A. Doherty.
Introductory Statistics with Applications in General Insurance, by I. B. Hossack, J.H. Pollard, and B.Zehwirth.
3rd floor Paterno: HG8781.H67 1999
Loss Reserving: an Actuarial Perspective, by Greg Taylor.
3rd floor Paterno: HG8106.T39 2000
Life Insurance Theory: Actuarial Perspectives, by Florent de Vylder.
3rd floor Paterno: HG8781.V95 1997
The Insurance Market Place
Business Library, Reference: HG8523.I614 2004
Ratings Sources
Best's Insurance Reports Life/Health United States 1994-
Business Library, Reference: HG8943 .B3 1994-To Date
Best's Key Rating Guide. Life/Health United States & Canada 2003-
Business Library, Reference: HG9002.B483
Best's Key Rating Guide. Property/Casualty, United States & Canada 2003-
Business Library, Reference: HG9768 .B48
Best's Pocket Key Rating Guide. Property/Casualty 1996-
3rd Floor Paterno : HG9765 .B42
Weiss Ratings' Guide to Property and Casualty Insurers 1997-
Business Library, Reference: HG8501.W45
Models and Tables
Actuarial Values, Book Beta: Unitrust Remainder, Factors for One Life, Two Lives, and Term Certains: Adjusted Payout Rates from 2.2 percent to 22.0 percent: for use in Income, Estate, and Gift Tax Purposes 1999
2nd Floor Paterno: U.S. Documents T 22.44/2:1458/999.
Actuarial Values, Book Gimel: Tables for Computing Depreciation Adjustment Factors : Interest Rates from 2.2 Percent to 22.0 Percent : for Income Tax Purposes Only. 1999
2nd Floor Paterno: U.S. Documents T 22.44/2:1459/999
Actuarial models for disability insurance, by Steven Haberman.
3rd floor Paterno: HD7105.2.H3 1999.
World Mortality in 2000: Life Tables for 191 Countries / from WHO
3rd floor Paterno: by A.D. Lopez, et. al.
Social Security
Actuarial Mathematics of Social Security Pensions 1999, by Subramaniam Iyer
2nd Floor Paterno: International Documents ILO 1.3:Q36/A 27
Actuarial Practice in Social Security 2002, by Pierre Plamondon.
2nd Floor Paterno: International Documents ILO 1.3:Q36/A 27/2
Impact of Income on Mortality: Evidence from the Social Security Notch 2002. by Stephen E. Snyder. and William N. Evans.
3rd floor Paterno: HB141.N2 no. 9197
Selected Websites
- Supported by several actuarial organizations
- Mission: To utilize the unique skills and abilities of actuaries to develop, fund, and execute education and research programs oriented towards public service
- Provides resource information on math education for youth, consumer education, college scholarship information, and listings of prizes, grants, and past awards
- Primarily a resource for professional actuaries
- Offers news, calendar of events, job listings, and publication reviews
American Society of Pension Professionals & Actuaries
- Mission: to educate pension actuaries, consultants, administrators and other benefits professionals, and to preserve and enhance the private pension system as part of the development of a cohesive and coherent national retirement income policy
- Provides information on the ASPA exams, conferences, government affairs, and publications
- Mission is to advance the body of knowledge of actuarial science applied to property, casualty and similar risk exposures
- To establish and maintain standards of qualification for membership
- To promote and maintain high standards of conduct and competence for the members
- To increase the awareness of actuarial science
- Provides directory of members, calendar of events, publication listings, and employment advertisements
International Actuarial Association
- International organization dedicated to the research, education and development of the profession and of actuarial associations
- International events, educational needs, and perspective
- Includes links to IAA documents
- Extensive information on ASA requirements, exam schedules, listservs for exam candidates and Society members
- Society news, links to Society documents, SOA Career center and online SOA Bookstore
Selected Journals
| Actuary current 3 years only | Insurance, Mathematics & Economics HG8779.I578 | |||
| Actuarial Review HG8779.A36 | Journal of Risk and Insurance HG8011.J66 R86 | |||
| Best's Review | National Underwriter |
Career Resources
The Schreyer Business Library has a Career Resource Guide that provides tips on searching for jobs, resume and cover letter preparation, internship information and other useful links.
