Articles and Databases
Newspapers provide important business/company/industry trends. National newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times are important, but so are local newspapers where a company may be headquartered. To determine which databases cover particular newspapers, use the Online Newspapers page.
Company/Industry
| Databases | Tutorials |
Encyclopedias
- Gale Virtual Reference Library

- Encyclopedia of International Media & Communication

- International Encyclopedia of Social & Behavior Sciences

- International Encyclopedia of Communication
- Over 1300 newly-commissioned A-Z entries
- Covers theories, media and communication phenomena, problems, concepts and research methods
Background Information
Useful for all advertising topics, including media plan development.
Trade publications provide information about specialized industry, company, and product developments. Trade publications are aimed at professionals within the industry. For advertisers, they provide a window into trends, new products, government, and regulatory concerns.
Trade Magazines : Advertising
The most frequently used advertising trade magazines are available on the Web, in the Libraries, and more fully and historically (back to the mid 1980's) in the business periodicals database, ABI Inform.
- AdWeek [Library CAT]
- Provides advertisers with daily TV news and weekly ad industry editorials on a complete array of subjects
- Advertising Age [Library CAT]
- Includes articles about advertising campaigns, agency appointments, and government actions affecting advertising and marketing.
- MediaWeek [Library CAT]
- Provides TV ratings, data and news on the television industry like no other publication
- Market Share Reporter
- An annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products, and services compiled from a variety of trade and industry publications.
Trade Magazines : Every Profession and Trade You Can Imagine
Other trade industry publications are important sources of information about competitors and industry developments.
- ABI/Inform

- LexisNexis Statistical
Most are not full-text in LexisNexis Statistical, but available on microfiche in the Social Sciences Library (SRI microfiche library)
Books
Combine 'Advertising' with a suggested term to narrow your search in the CAT:
Specialized Advertising Data Sources
- Ad$pender: Advertising expenditure information on brands across 18 media sources
- Simmons Choices 3: Consumer data about product and brand usage
- Advertising Rates and Data: Resources for finding advertising rates and related information
