Articles and Databases
The following is a selected list of book titles related to the history of advertising. To find more titles available at the Penn State Libraries, search the CAT. You may focus your search by changing "Keywords Anywhere" to "LC (Library of Congress) Subject Heading":
- All-American Ads (ed. by Jim Heimann)
- 1900-1919 : All-American Ads (2005)
- 20s : All-American Ads (2004)
- 30s : All-American Ads (2003)
- 40s : All-American Ads (2001)
- 50s : All-American Ads (2001)
- 60s : All-American Ads (2002)
- 70s : All-American Ads (2004)
- 80s : All-American Ads (2005)
- Advertising in America : The First 200 Years, Charles A. Goodrum and Helen Dlarymple (1990)
- Soap, Sex, and Cigarettes : A Cultural History of American Advertising, Juliann Sivulka (1998)
- The Mirror Makers : A History of American Advertising and Its Creators, Stephen R. Fox (1984)
- From Submarines to Suburbs : Selling a Better America, 1939-1959, Cynthis Lee Henthorn (2006)
- 50 Years of Advertising as seen through the eyes of Advertising Age : 1930-1980, Allan Marin (1980)
Websites
- Ad*Access (John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History, Duke University)
- Presents images and information for more than 7,000 advertisements printed primarily in the United States from 1911 to 1955
- Advertisements are divided into five main subject areas: Radio and Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II
- Ads are searchable by keyword, type of illustration, and special features
- adflip.com
- Print advertisements published from 1940 to 2001.
- Only a small percentage is available for free
- Search by category, decade or year
- By the People, For the People : Posters from the WPA, 1936-1943, (American Memory, The Library of Congress)
- Online exhibit showcases more than 900 original Works Project Administration posters produced from 1936 to 1943 as part of Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal program to support the arts
- Posters were designed to publicize health and safety programs, art exhibits, theatrical and musical performances, travel and tourism, educational programs, and community activities in 17 states and the District of Columbia.
- Each poster is accompanied by very brief (15-20 word) descriptions and notes on the artist, date, and place produced.
- The Emergence of Advertising in America
- More than 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
- Part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Project
- A History Teacher's Bag of Tricks
- More than 3,000 advertisements drawn from teacher Roland Marchand's collection.
- Each image includes a citation and many also offer Marchand's notes.
- The images are organized into 31 subcategories.
- The Geography of Slavery in Virginia, (University of Virginia, Virginia Center for Digital History)
- Provides more than 4,000 newspaper advertisements regarding runaway slaves and indentured servants between 1736 and 1803
- Search for specific dates, place names in the ad or the ad type; browse; or do a full-text search
- University of Illinois Advertising Exhibit
- This site contains two major sections:
- One highlights the three collections
- The second groups advertisements from each of the collections according to theme
- The Advertising Archives
- Collection comprises over 1 million catalogued images – 50,000 of which are searchable online
- Includes British and American press advertisements from 1850 to the present, British TV stills, and magazine cover artwork, and lots more
- Finding and Using Digital Images - Advertising
- University of Washington Libraries Web page with links to various sites that explore the history of advertising.
