Skip to content

Film/Video and Media Studies Databases

Database Description Content
International Index to Performing Arts (Chadwyck IIPA)
(Coverage: abstracts provided for index articles, abstracts and full text from 1864-date

strength: journal-specific searching
Focus: All performing arts, including theatre, dance, opera, film & video
  • over 256 periodicals indexed
  • search and browse citations, abstracts and selected full text articles
  • Full text articles from core film periodicals, including Film Quarterly, Cineaste, Journal of Film and Video, Journal of Popular Film and Television, and Film Criticism
  • Use "Get It" link to access full-text articles in journals not in IIPA
ProQuest Research Library: Arts Module
(Coverage: 1971-date)

strengths: searches a very broad range of publications

weaknesses: include more search terms to avoid retrieving too many unrelated documents
Focus: cross-disciplinary
  • Articles, abstracts, and citations from a wide variety of magazines and scholarly journals
  • Includes over 150 titles in full text
Trade publications, magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals (titles include Variety, Cinema Journal, and Millennium Film Journal).
Communication & Mass Media Complete
(Coverage: 1915-date)
strengths:
  • many full text core journals
  • cross disciplinary searching
Focus: All areas of communications and media studies; film, television and video
  • CMMC contains full text articles from more than 380 communication and mass media journals
  • Selected books and conference papers indexed
  • 23 film journals (US and international) available in full text, including Australian Screen Education, Studies in European Cinema, and Metro
  • Full text articles related to film in journals such as Popular Communication and Mass Communication and Society
  • Use "Get It" link to access full text articles in journals not in CMMC
MLA International Bibliography
(Coverage: 1926-date)

strengths: wide scope-search not confined to film/video-related journals; foreign language sources.

weaknesses: "popular" periodicals like Variety, Hollywood Reporter, Framework, Black Camera, and Millimeter, not included in this database.
Focus: Scholarly journals in literature, folklore, language arts, dramatic arts (including film)
  • Worldwide index of references from 1926-date
  • More than 2 million citations in 60 languages
  • More than 66,000 records added each year
  • Search by subject, movie title, theme, etc., from over 4,400 periodicals, books, dissertations, selected electronic journals, published working papers, conference papers
  • Retrieve citations of journal articles, books, dissertations
  • Use "Get It" link to access full text articles
Film Literature Index
(Coverage: 1976-2001)

strengths:
  • historical coverage of film magazines
  • international scope
  • subject headings make researching films on a particular issue/theme easy
weaknesses:
  • no abstracts
  • not current
Focus: Film, video and television
  • Online version of the print Film Literature Index, which annually indexes 150 US and international film and television periodicals in full and selective indexing of 200 other periodicals for articles on film and television
  • FLI Online contains about 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews
  • Citations of articles-book reviews, movie reviews, film criticism (includes non-English language articles)
  • Use Citation Linker to locate full text articles
Film & Television Literature Index
(Coverage: 1987-to the present)

strengths:
  • covers the entire spectrum of television & film writing
  • includes international publications
Subject coverage includes:
  • film & television theory
  • preservation & restoration
  • writing, production, & cinematography
  • technical aspects
  • reviews
  • cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 350 publications and selected coverage of over 300
Publications include
  • Film Journal International
  • Journal of British Cinema & Television
  • Film Criticism
  • Post Script
  • Variety
  • Cahiers du Cinema (France)
  • Filmihullu (Finland)
  • SegnoCinema (Italy)
  • Kinetoscopio (Colombia)
FIAF International Film Archive Database
(Coverage: 1972-2009)

strengths: Unique information on silent film holdings in archives around the world

weaknesses:
  • no abstracts
Focus: Film, silent film

Multiple databases:
  •  International Index to Film Periodicals (main database) (1972-present): Contains more than 315,000 citations from more than 300 academic and popular film journals. 12,000 records added every year
  • International Index to Television Periodicals: 50,000 citations from 1979 to 2006. From 2000, only television-related references from film journals are included, television periodicals are no longer indexed
  • Treasures from the Film Archives: Information on silent film holdings in 98 international film archives
  • Credit information and holdings of over 35,000 silent films in film archives world wide
  • Use "Get It" link to access full text articles not in FIAF
Communication Abstracts
(Coverage: 1977-present)

strengths:
  • cross-disciplinary searching across all communication studies
  • indexes selected books and book chapters
Focus: Research literature in all areas of communications, including film, broadcast and print, video, cultural studies, pop culture, etc.
  • Abstracts of articles related to film and media sourced from publications like Media, Culture and Society, Journal of Communication Inquiry, etc.
  • Use "Get It" link to access full-text articles
top

Film and Video Journal Archives

Journal Archive Description Content
Periodicals Archive Online (Chadwyck PAO) Archive of hundreds of full-text journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Full text articles from: Sight and Sound (1932-1995), Monthly Film Bulletin (1934-1991), Cinema Journal (1961-1996), Film and History (1971-1995), and others.
JSTOR Electronic form of selected journals in a wide range of disciplines, including some film journals.

Rolling archive-years added annually.
Full text articles from: Cinema Journal (1966-2007), Journal of the Society of Cinematologists (1961-1964), Film Quarterly (1958-2007), Hollywood Quarterly (1945-1951), and others.
Project Muse Database of humanities, arts and social sciences journals, providing full text archives for a wide range of publications. This database contains archives and current issues of selected film journals. Full text articles from: Camera Obscura (2000-2004), Wide Angle (1996-1999), Cinema Journal (1999-date), Film and History (2004-date), Film History (2005-date), Framework (2006-date), The Moving Image (2003-date) and Velvet Light Trap (2003-date).
top

Other Resources

top

Search


Contact



Get Help