Articles and Databases
- Detailed entries on over 145 institutions worldwide
- Descriptions and enumerations of materials collected
- Index to manuscript and special collections
- Treasures from the Film Archives
- Information about silent film holdings in international archives
- Provides filmographic and holdings information on over 40,000 works
- Includes silent shorts and features, fiction and non-fiction, from over 98 of the world's major film archives
Web Resources
Search EnginesWebsites
- Flickr
- online photo management and sharing application
- Hulu
- online video service
- Blinkx
- video search engine
Film Footage
Penn State Archives containing Footage and Images
- Fred Waring's America Collection (University Libraries)
- Campus Newspapers
- Digitized page images of the Pennsylvania State University's campus newspaper, The Daily Collegian
- Every issue in this database can be browsed by page, online
- Internet Archive (non-profit organization)
- Moving Image Archive
- features a variety of moving-image collections in digital format. Includes fiction and documentary films, advertisements, news footage, television programs, etc
- Prelinger Archives
- An excellent and eclectic collection of "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, instructional and amateur) films
- Open Video Project Interaction Design Lab (School of Information and Library Science, UNC at Chapel Hill)
- A repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities
- Stock Footage on VHS/DVD: in the Libraries collections
- Footage.net
- Comprehensive stock footage and archival database
- Google List of Stock Footage Resources
- Google Directory list of web sites offering downloadable footage
- WGBH Text Database (WBGH Boston, public television)
- Licenses moving images clips, digital images and text
- Browse by category or keyword
- Archive back to 1950's
- Includes NOVA, Frontline, American Experience and more
- Getty Images: Archive Films
- Some free; most for purchase
Selected Film Archives
- American Film Institute (AFI)
- AFI Catalog of Feature Films
- Library of Congress
- Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
- A vast portal to many moving-image archives, research centers, and preservation-research initiatives worldwide
- Motion Picture and Television Reading Room
- Provides access to information regarding the Library of Congress's extensive film and television collections
- National Film Preservation Board
- Focuses on the preservation of America's film heritage
- Links to National Film Registry and National Film Preservation Foundation
- International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF)
- Largest film archives organization in the world, representing 100 film archives in 60 countries
- Penn State researchers can access FIAF International Film Archive Database
- UCLA Film and Television Archive
- Second largest collection of media materials in the United States, after the Library of Congress
- Archive also includes television materials and newsreels
- Margaret Herrick Library
- An extensive and comprehensive research collections on the subject of motion pictures
- Supported by the Academy Foundation, the educational and cultural arm of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
- Publicly accessible
- USC Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive
- Provides access to the nearly 52,000 interviews with Holocaust survivors conducted in 56 countries and in 32 languages
- Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive at the U.S. Holocaust Museum (Washington, D.C.)
- Archival film footage documenting the Holocaust and World War II
- Film and Video Archives, Collections, Institutes (Yale University Library: Research Guide in Film Studies)
- Resources to locate film and video collections, film stills and photos, archival and manuscript collections, and other primary source film materials
- National Archive
- Click on Advanced Search, select type of archived material (ex. moving images)
- Or, click on Advanced Search, open Location of Archival Material, select "Motion Pictures, Sound and Video Records Section, Special Media, Archives Services Division"
