Criticism of films, directors, actors, or genres is generally more substantive and more complex than film reviews. Film criticism is written for an academic audience, and often situates its analysis within larger scholarly concepts and discussions.
Articles and Databases
The following list of databases is available to anyone working in the library. Outside the library, they are available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account.
- International Film Archive Database (FIAF)

- International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-)
- International Index to Television Periodicals (1979-)
- Bibliography of FIAF Members' Publications
- MLA International Bibliography

- Film Literature Index, 1976-2001

- FIAF Members Publications

- Film/TV Documentation Collections

- Film & Television Literature Index (1987-date)

- American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog

- International Index to the Performing Arts
- Proquest Research Library

Search the CAT
- Suggested search examples:
- Wallflower Press
- Director's cuts
- Focus on works of filmmakers
- Shortcuts (London, England)
- Introductory texts to specific films
- 24 Frame
- Overview of cinema from around the world
- British Film Institute (BFI)
- BFI Modern Film Classics
- Focus on specific films
- BFI Film Classics Series
- Focus on specific films
- American Film Institute (AFI)
- AFI Film Readers
- Focus on film theory and criticism
Reference/Encyclopedias
- Gale Virtual Reference Library

- History of American Cinema (1990, 10 volumes)
- Analyzes genre's, themes, social and political influences
- Each volume covers a decade
- Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema (2007)
Microforms Research Collections
- History of Photography
- Includes 19th century monographs documenting the development of camera technology and techniques
Special Collections: Rare Books and Manuscripts Collections
- Don Taylor Movie Scripts and Photos, 1967-1988 [RB&M]
- Collection contains shooting scripts for films and television movies that Don Taylor produced and/or directed, and publicity and candid photographs from some of the films
- Meinhart Grünbaum Maur Papers, 1888-1968 (bulk 1909-1955) [RB&M]
- Over 400 photographs, programs, posters, reviews, newspaper clippings, and several scripts used, and written, by Maur documenting the Hungarian actor's career in Germany and England
Websites
- CineFiles (maintained by Museum Informatics Project at UC Berkley)
- Reviews, press kits, festivals and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA [Pacific Film Archive] Library's collection
- Historical and current documents from a broad range of sources covering world cinema
- Big Cartoon Database (non-profit educational and research organization)
- Cartoons from film and television
- Entries include a brief history, a synopsis, cast and crew, production notes
- Metacritic (a CNET company, owned by CBS)
- Individual reviews of film, video and DVD, television, music, books, and games
