This guide is recommended for use by students in CAS 215 in order to find evidence to support pro/com arguments. There are four basic search strategies best used in combination with one another:
- Know where opinions are expressed
- Understand which periodicals and resources express specific ideologies
- Know how to look for information from different and alternate perspectives
- Find resources that provide "balanced" points of view
Additionally, you'll find links to Internet sources that compare state statutes, print sources with citations to state law comparisons, and databases that focus on the kind of information you need.
Opinions
Consider places opinions are expressed ... these might include congressional hearing testimony, editorials, and commentaries in newspapers and periodicals.
- LexisNexis Congressional
- Congressional testimony from government officials and witnesses invited to provide information and background
- PolicyFile (Public Policy Research and Analysis)
- Provides information from associations and think tanks
- Policy-related information at ".org" web sites
- Public Opinion Polls for Communications Research
- Provides links to a variety of polling databases
- On the Issues
- Provides views from political candidates, members of Congress, and the President
- Newspaper Databases : Try These First
- Databases to help search for editorials or commentary articles
Specific Ideologies
- Solid pro/con research includes understanding which periodicals and resources may express opinions from specific ideological slants — for example, conservative or liberal, left vs. right, Catholic vs. Unitarian — or from a different geo-political perspective, like international views vs. U.S. views.
- In The O'Toole News Magazine Collection
- Magazines that present the news from a particular editorial slant
- Descriptions include the range of editorial perspectives
- Many titles are available at other Penn State locations
Points of View
Look for resources that seek to provide balanced points of view from which you can better understand the range of issues and perspectives.
Databases
- CQ Researcher (contemporary and public policy issues)
- Resource for an overview of an issue or topic area
- References to related resources
- Pro/Con page that argues different sides of a topic in a clear and straightforward manner
- CQ Weekly
- More than 100 reporters, editors and researchers
- Covers acts of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else
- National Journal
- Provides public policy information from the Executive Branch point of view
- thousands of local, national, and world newspapers
- try choosing to search within the "section" and typing in editorial or opinion
- The Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
- Includes the Opposing Viewpoints series available in print
- The Contemporary World Issues series
- Print source
- Includes research on a variety of topics
- ProQuest Research Library
- Diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines
- Government Policies and their Unintended Consequences (Research Guide)
- Resources that touch on government or political issues
- Explore Policy Options (Research Guide)
- GAO (Government Accountability Office)
- Government agency that provides oversight and review of government programs
- Most reports are full-text
Legal Resources
Background and summaries of opinions
Databases
- LexisNexis Academic
- Supreme Court opinions
- Westlaw Campus
- Supreme Court opinions
- Law - A Guide to Research
- Good general starting point for this research
- Federal Rules and Regulations
- How to find and use regulations
- More Law Research Guides at Social Sciences
State Laws
Legal researchers are often called upon to compare laws from multiple states on a particular topic. Comparing a few states is straightforward, but a comprehensive survey of state laws is difficult. Before beginning, it is worthwhile to find out if a survey on your topic already exists. Some Government-affiliated associations and organizations conduct such surveys.
This guide lists selected sources that either themselves compare state constitutions and statutes, point to the location of comparisons, or aggregate state constitutions or statutes together for searching. Because state laws change, previously compiled surveys are quickly outdated. Even with a survey in hand, the careful researcher will locate and review each statute they wish to compare.
This guide lists selected sources that either themselves compare state constitutions and statutes, point to the location of comparisons, or aggregate state constitutions or statutes together for searching. Because state laws change, previously compiled surveys are quickly outdated. Even with a survey in hand, the careful researcher will locate and review each statute they wish to compare.
Sources Comparing State Statutes by Topic
- National Survey of State Laws
- Citations and brief summaries of state laws
- Highly selective list of topics
- Ranging from abortion and antitrust to wills and whistleblowers
- Series of tables comparing laws
- Business and consumer law, criminal law, education, employment, family law, civil law, real estate, and taxes
- Tables include citations to state statutes
- New editions appear every other year
- The National Conference of State Legislatures
- Offers substantive, comparative articles on state laws
- Includes wide range of topics and subtopics under the "Issue & Research" tab
- Activities of states at the forefront of the issue are mentioned
- Tables listing state laws and bills with citations
- The National Association of Secretaries of State
- Comparative views of issues related to state voting and elections through news items, fact sheets, and short reports
- The National Governors Association
- Provides news on current issues in state government
- Center for Best Practices
- Reports and publications on an extensive list of issues
- Explains which states are implementing creative solutions to thorny problems
- Some tables are descriptive only and do not provide citations.
- Google search
- "compare state laws" and/or limit search by "site:.edu" or "site:.gov" for a wide set of search results
Databases to find State Laws, Regulations, and Court Decisions
- Westlaw Campus
- Statutes — all 50 states included
- LexisNexis State Capital
- Select Statutes. Search across all state statutes by keyword
Law Reviews, Legal News & Periodicals
See Social Sciences Law Review page.
Additional Sources
- Social Explorer
- Provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present
- Allows you to easily create maps and reports showing population trends over time to very small geographic areas
- A tool for creating a slide shows that can be easily exported into a Powerpoint presentation
Government Resources
- LexisNexis Congressional -- Use this database to find
- CRS Reports -- object reports on policy issues being discussed in Congress
- Hearings -- use these to locate testimony from experts testifying before Congress.
- GAO Reports -- The Government Accountability Office monitors the effectiveness of government programs and often issues reports.
Congressional Budget Office -- publishes reports on the effect of government programs on the federal budget.
Statistical Resources
- Find tables
- Find publications that analyze the statistics
- A clearinghouse of federal statistical resources
