Articles and Databases
Of Related Interest
- Television: History, J.L. Baughman
- Article from the International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Television's Future
- Article from CQ Researcher
- Encyclopedia of American Radio, 1920-1960, Luther F. Sies (2000)
- Encyclopedia of American Television : Broadcast Programming Post WWII to 2000, Ronald W. Lackman (2003)
- A History of Early Television, Stephen Herbert (2004)
- Watching TV : Six Decades of American Television, Harry Castleman and Walter J. Podrazik (2003)
- Encyclopedia of New Media : An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology, Steve Jones (2003)
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, Tom Pendergast and Sara Pendergast (2000)
- The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio, Christopher H. Sterling and Michael Keith (2004)
- The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Television, Horace Newcomb (2004)
- 1st edition available online
- A History of Broadcasting in the United States, Erik Barnouw (3 volumes, 1966-1970)
- Stay Tuned : A History of American Broadcasting, Christopher H. Sterling and John Michael Kittross (2002)
Statistical Sources
- Kagan's Media Trends, Paul Kagan Associates (dates vary 2001, 2005)
- Social Trends and Indicators USA, Arsen J. Darnay (4 volumes; 2003)
DVD/VHS Sources
- Dawn of the eye
- Six-part series traces the evolution of film and television broadcast journalism
- Impact on the perception of world events
- Profiles major journalists and newscasters such as Edward R. Murrow, Chet Huntley, David Brinkley, and Walter Cronkite
- New Vistas for Television [Public policy issues in the 1950s-1960s]
- Host: Eleanor Roosevelt, co-host: Marya Mannes, Interviewees: Newton Minow (Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission), John F. White (president of the National Education Television and Radio Center), Irving Gitlin (executive producer, Creative Projects, NBC)
- The panel considers whether the television of the future will be a wasteland of mediocre programming or a vital conduit of culture
Websites
- Online, searchable companion to the Library of American Broadcasting collection at the University of Maryland Libraries
- Includes example files from a few of the audio and image collections
- Online exhibit of materials on women in broadcasting history
- Easy-to-use resource for researchers interested in locating rare primary source materials on the history of broadcasting (American Library Association, Choice reviews)
- History of Communications
- This Federal Communications Commission Web site divides communications history into 3 areas:
