Articles and Databases
For a few, current articles, use:
Don't forget: Try These First if you want general popular interest magazines and newspapers or pro and con debate information
To find materials for a large project, also use:
Other databases to try (depending on your needs and topic):
Don't forget: Try These First if you want general popular interest magazines and newspapers or pro and con debate information
To find materials for a large project, also use:
- ERIC
- ERIC (US Dept of Education)
- ProQuest Education Journals

- WorldCat
- Dissertations and Theses
- Education Index
Other databases to try (depending on your needs and topic):
- America: History and Life
- JSTOR
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
- PolicyFile
- PsycINFO
- Sociological Abstracts
- Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science)

Basic Facts and Explanations
Basic Facts and Explanations (Dictionaries and Encyclopedias)
Online Resources:
*These are printed books, not owned by every Penn State library. Click on the title to find holdings information for your campus.
Online Resources:
Includes:
• 21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook (2008)
• College Blue Book (2008)
• Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education (2008)
• Encyclopedia of Education (2003)
• Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration (2006)
• Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education (2009)
• the World Education Encyclopedia (2001)
• and many other resources.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
- CQ Researcher – background, chronology, and pro/con essays on important social issues, including Education.
- Annual Reports of the National Center for Education Statistics – a source for the most commonly requested statistics pertaining to Education.
- Kids Count Data Center – statistics on many aspects of children’s and teens’ well-being, detailed to the state level.
*These are printed books, not owned by every Penn State library. Click on the title to find holdings information for your campus.
- Almanac of American Education
- Chronology of Education in the United States (2006)
- Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia (2007)
- Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia (2004)
- Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia (2004)
- Encyclopedia of American Education (2007 – other campuses may have an earlier edition)
- Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education (2001)
- Encyclopedia of Special Education (2007 – other campuses may have an earlier edition)
- Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia (2007)
- Greenwood Dictionary of Education (2003)
- Higher Education in the United States: An Encyclopedia (2002)
- International Encyclopedia of Adult Education (2005)
- Learning Theories: A to Z (2002)
- Multicultural and Diversity Education: A Reference Handbook (2002)
- Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia (1996)
Books, E-Books, and Videos
Professional Books, E-Books, and Videos
- CAT

- netLibrary

- WorldCAT

- Google Book Search – provides “snippets,” partial- , and full-text of millions of books.
- Annenberg Media –after signing up (it’s free), you can view professional videos for teachers.
Instructional/Curriculum Materials
Instructional/Curriculum Materials, Children’s Literature, Videos, and Other Classroom Resources
Print and Audiovisual Instructional Materials at Penn State:
At Penn State:
Online Resources:
Print and Audiovisual Instructional Materials at Penn State:
At Penn State:
- In The CAT, select “Advanced Search”
In the box for “Material Type” selected either “Instructional Material” or “Juvenile” or “Video.” For items at another campus, click the “I WANT IT” button.
Online Resources:
- Book Collection: Nonfiction

- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database
- For more resources on children’s/adolescent literature, see the Children’s Literature Research Guide.
- Discovery Education – not at Penn State, but often available at schools and public libraries. A source of online documentaries for K-12 audiences.
- Kraus Curriculum Development Library

- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- MERLOT (Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
- TumbleBooks – not at Penn State, but often available at schools and public libraries. A source of online children’s books from major publishers.
Associations and Government Agencies
- American Federation of Teachers
- American Association for Adult and Continuing Education
- Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
- American Educational Research Association
- Council for Exceptional Children
- National Association for the Education of Young Children
- National Education Association
- Pennsylvania Department of Education
- UNESCO (Education Portal)
- U. S. Department of Education
Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals
- Action in Teacher Education
- Adult Education Quarterly
- American Educational Research Journal
- American Journal of Education
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- Early Childhood Research Quarterly
- Educational Administration Quarterly
- Educational Leadership
- Educational Researcher
- Education Week
- Elementary School Journal
- Harvard Educational Review
- Instructional Science
- Journal of Education Policy
- Journal of Higher Education
- Journal of the Learning Sciences
- Journal of Research in Reading
- Learning and Instruction
- Reading Research Quarterly
- Reading Teacher
- Research in Higher Education
- Review of Educational Research
- Scientific Studies in Reading
- Sociology of Education
- Teachers College Record
- Young Children
Specific Topics in Education
See other Education Research Guides on the University Libraries’ home page.
Search Strategies
Statistics
Search
Contact
Carol Wright (University Park)
Education Librarian
502 Paterno Library
814-865-0666
Bernadette A. Lear (Harrisburg)
Behavioral Sciences and Education Librarian
Penn State Harrisburg Library
717-948-6360
Dolores Fidishun (Great Valley)
Head Librarian
Penn State Great Valley Library
610-648-3227
Or Your Campus Librarian
Education Librarian
502 Paterno Library
814-865-0666
Bernadette A. Lear (Harrisburg)
Behavioral Sciences and Education Librarian
Penn State Harrisburg Library
717-948-6360
Dolores Fidishun (Great Valley)
Head Librarian
Penn State Great Valley Library
610-648-3227
Or Your Campus Librarian
