Skip to content
Articles and Databases

Library and Information Sciences Abstracts (LISA) - Abstracts and indexes 440 periodicals in twenty languages.  Online thesaurus available.  Coverage 1969 to present.

Library, Information Sciences, and Technology Abstracts - Ebsco product.  Abstracts and indexes approximately 500 "core journals" [publisher's emphasis], 50 "priority journals," 125 "selective journals", books, research reports, and proceedings.  Coverage 1984 to present, however a few may have coverage fron the mid-1960s to present.

Library Literature and Information Sciences - H.W. Wilson Product. Abstracts and indexes 390 journals, over 300 books, book chapters, conference proceedings, thesis and pamphlets.

ERIC - CSA product. Especially helpful for articles about libraries and reading in colleges and schools.

Library Literature - essential for historical research. Indexes library science journals back to 1876.

WorldCAT - since Penn State does not offer a library science program, researchers need to consult the catalogs of other university libraries. WorldCAT includes more than 10,000 libraries, including those serving the largest LIS programs.

top
Search for Books

The majority of Library and Information Studies book are found in the Library of Congress Zs.

CLASS Z - BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE.  INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)

Subclass Z Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography (abridged listing)

Z4 - 115.5 Books (General)
Z116 - 659 Book industries and trade
Z662 - 1000.5 Libraries
Z1001 - 1121 General bibliography
Z1201 - 4980  National bibliography
Z5051 - 7999 Subject bibliography
Z8001 - 8999 Personal bibliography

Subclass ZA Information resources (General) (abridged listing)

ZA3038 - 5190 Information resources (General
ZA5049 - 5190 Government information

For the entire Z listings  — Library of Congress Z listings

top
Web/Print Sources

American Library Association Archives - holds archival documentation of the early years of the profession.

Bibliography of Library History - this semiannual list of books, dissertations, and journal articles updates American Library History: A Comprehensive Guide to the Literature (see below)

Center for the Book, Library of Congress - along with its state-level affiliates, the Center promotes reading through its annual Book Festival, research, and other activities.

Davies Project, Princeton University - provides founding dates, closing dates, locations, and other information for thousands of libraries existing in the U.S. before 1876. Includes college, public, social, and other kinds of libraries.

Google Book Search - contains partial text of many current books, and full-text of many historical items published before 1923.

The Kept-Up Academic Librarian - a popular blog about news in higher education, pertinent to librarians.

Library History Buff - compiled by a retired librarian from Wisconsin, this site has a lot of information about library history, and collecting "librariana" artifacts.

LISZEN - a searchable database of more than 700 library-related blogs

Melvil Dewey Papers, Columbia University - essential resource for the early history of professional librarianship. More than 100 boxes of historical documents contain much information about Dewey, his interacts with other librarians, the founding of ALA, the development of library education, and other topics.

Office of Research and Statistics, American Library Association - publishes salary surveys and other national statistics

The Researching Librarian - links to online databases, statistics, and other information for library science researchers.

top
Reference Sources

80 Years of Bestsellers  - lists Publisher's Weekly's bestselling fiction and nonfiction titles for each year from 1895 to 1975.

A.L.A. Catalog ("1893", 1904-1911, 1926) - published every few years from 1893 to 1952, this was ALA's list of books recommended for libraries. Useful for assessing fiction and popular collections in their historical context.

A.L.A. Glossary of Library and Information Science - updated several times between 1943 and 1983, a helpful dictionary for old terminology.

American Library Development, 1600-1899 - a chronology of important events in all aspects of librarianship. Unfortunately, there is no counterpart for the 20th century.

American Library Directory - published since 1908, this resource lists college, governmental, public, school, and special libraries throughout the United States. Modern editions provide self-reported information about holdings, subject specialties, database subscriptions, opening hours, and more.

American Library History: A Comprehensive Guide to the Literature - an index of articles, books, and other publications about the history of libraries and librarianship.

The Bowker Annual - published under various titles since the 1950s, this yearly report includes legislative information, recommended book lists, and copious statistics about libraries, librarianship, and the book trade.

Carnegie Libraries: Their History and Impact on American Public Library Development - includes the definitive list of public libraries founded by Andrew Carnegie in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Dictionary of American Library Biography - brief biographies of path-breaking librarians from colonial America to the late 20th century. See also the first and second supplements, published in 1990 and 2003.

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, 2nd edition - Not at Penn State, but a helpful starting point for almost any topic. Penn State has the 1968 edition, which has historical interest.  We have the 2nd edition. First Update supplement.

Whole Library Handbook 4 - where else can you find the most popular flooring color used in academic libraries? Provides practical tips, trivia, humor, and other "librariana" not found in other sources. See also the first, second, and third editions.

top
Professional Journals
top
Library and Information Studies Programs

The American Library Association has numerous links on their website www.ala.org to help those of you who are thinking about a career in library and information studies.  If you are interested, librarycareer.org is a good place to begin.  Also below are a few links to help you:

Guidelines for choosing a graduate program for you.

The Directory of ALA-accredited master's in library and informational studies programs in the United States

The ALA offers scholarships and other financial assistance to help future library and information studies students.

Penn State also offers scholarships for future library and information studies students.

top
Book Publishers

Since Penn State does not offer a degree in library and information science, University Libraries does not purchase many books pertaining to that area. In addition to consulting WorldCAT (see above), researchers should also visit the web sites of companies which tend to publish books pertaining to library and information science. The most common ones are below:

top
Professional Organizations
top
Library Conferences, Meetings, etc.

This list is to aid you in planning your professional calendars. This list should not be considered either comprehensive of all library-related conferences, meetings, etc. or definitive concerning locations, times, etc. Use the provided hyperlinks to retrieve official information from the websites of the respective conferences, meetings, etc. All recently added entries will be marked NEW for a period of approximately one week.  Conferences, meetings, etc. will be removed once they are over.  If you wish to have any conference, meeting, etc. included in this listing or wish to report any errors on this listing, please contact Glenn Masuchika.

A principal contributor to this listing is Dolores Fidishun. Her blog Dolores' List of CFPs is a detailed accumualtion of calls for papers and presentations in the disciplines of  Library Science, Information Science, Instructional Design and Technology, Education, including Adult Education, and Women’s and Gender Studies.

Another website of note is Marian Dworaczek's (University of Saskatchewan Library) Library-Related Conferences.  It is one of the most comprehensive listings of conferences, meetings, online courses, classes, etc. that are even remotely library-related. 

 

2010

 January 12-15Association for Library and Information Science Education Annual Conference Boston, Massachusetts
 January 15-19American Library Association Mid-Winter MeetingBoston, Massachusetts
 February 1-3Electronic Resources & Libraries 2010 ConferenceAustin, Texas
 February 22-25Code4Lib 2010Asheville, North Carolina
 March 17-18Library Technology Conference 2010Saint Paul, Minnesota
 March 20-21 (preconference March 19)DOCAM '10 (8th annual meeting)University of North Texas, Denton, Texas
 April 6-8Catholic Library Association Minneapolis, Minnesota
 April 9-11 (pre-conference 7-9)American Society for Information Science and Technology : IA SummitPhoenix, Arizona
 April 12 - 14Computers in Libraries 2010Arlington, Virginia
 April 23-26Art Libraries Society of North America 38th Annual ConferenceBoston, Massachusetts
 April 25-28International Reading Association’s 55th Annual ConferenceChicago, Illinois
 April 29 –
May 1
Library Orientation Exchange (LOEX) Annual Conference Dearborn, Michigan
 April 29 - May 1Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives ConferenceWilmington, Delaware
 May 15-18Acquisitions Institute at Timberline LodgeTimberline Lodge, Oregon
 May 17-20Global Learn Asia Pacific 2010 - Global Conference on Learning and TechnologyPenang (island), MALAYSIA
 May 21-26Medical Library Association Annual Meeting Washington, DC
 May 24-28Libraries in the Digital Age (LIDA)Zadar, CROATIA
 May 25-282nd Qualitative and Quantitative Methods in Libraries International Conference (QQML2010)Chania, Crete, GREECE
 June 2-5Canadian Library Association National Conference and Trade ShowEdmonton, Alberta, CANADA
 June 3-6 North American Serials Interest Group Annual Conference Palm Springs, California
 June 13-16Special Library Association Annual Conference & INFO-EXPONew Orleans, Louisiana
 June 14 - 21InSITE 2010 Informing Science + Information Technology Education

"Southern ITALY" (check website for actual locations)

 June 16-185th Canadian Learning Commons ConferenceKingston, Ontario, CANADA
 June 16-19American Theological Library AssociationLouisville, Kentucky
 June 21 - 247th International Conference on Conceptions of Library and Information SciencesLondon, ENGLAND
 June 24-29American Library Association Annual MeetingWashington D.C.
 June 28 - July 2ED-MEDIA 2010Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
 July 4-7Association for Jewish Librarians Annual Convention Seattle, Washington
 July 10-13American Association of Law Librarians Annual Meeting Denver, Colorado
 July 14-16National Diversity in Libraries Conference (ARL) Princeton, New Jersey
 July 29-
August 1
National Storytelling Network ConferenceLos Angeles, California
 August 4-8Black Caucus of the ALA : Culture Keepers VIIBirmingham, Alabama
 August 10-15International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions : World Library and Congress 76th General Conference and AssemblyGothenburg, SWEDEN
 August 10-15Society for American Archivists (Joint meeting with the Council of State Archivists and National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators)Washington, DC
 August 17-21Society for the History of Authorship, Reading, and Publishing (SHARP) 18th Annual Conference Helsinki, FINLAND
 September 10-12The Quinquennial Library History Seminar 12th Conclave. (Deadline for submissions is January 31, 2010)Madison, Wisconsin
 September 27 – October 1International Association of School Librarians

Brisbane, Qld, AUSTRALIA

 October 13-15EDUCAUSE Conference 2010Anaheim, California
 November 11-13Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives ConferenceHarrisburg, Pennsylvania

2011

 
Dates
Conference
Location
    
    

  

The members of the Library and Information Studies Research Guide group are Joe Fennewald (chair), Amy Deuink, Dolores Fidishun, Martin Goldberg, Bernadette Lear, and Glenn Masuchika.

Search


Contact

Glenn Masuchika
Library Learning Services
814-867-2229

Martin Goldberg
Beaver Campus Library
724-773-3791

Bernadette Lear
Harrisburg Library
717-948-6360



Get Help