Tests (Psychology)
Individual psychological and achievement tests are not available in the Libraries because of issues involving authority to administer tests, security, etc. The summaries, abstracts and reviews listed here include details about the instrument such as reliability, validity, research history, intended populations, stated purposes, professional usage, and publisher data.
Purchasing and Using Tests
Publishers hold the copyright to tests they distribute, as well as test manuals, and scoring keys. Contact the publisher for availability, and also see the ETS Test Link order page. Many publishers have separate policies for individual and organizational purchases of tests. Individuals may be required to complete a test purchaser qualifications form to determine qualifications and competencies to administer and interpret the test.
Directories/Test Reviews
These sources identify tests by title or by type, as well as references, reviews, and test publication information. Reviews often discuss reliability, validity, research history, intended populations, stated purposes, and professional usage, and acronyms.
Directories/Test Reviews Online
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- ETS TestLink includes:
- Test Collection at ETS [theirphysical test collection]
- Tests on Demand [asmall subset distributed through the ETS Store in a downloadable format]
- Tests in Microfiche [another small subset, but distributed in Microfiche format
Directories/Test Reviews in Print
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: tests available in compilation volumes. May 2008.
- Tests in Print [Buros]
- Test Critiques
- Tests: a Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
- Measures For Psychological Assessment: A Guide To 3,000 Original Sources And Applications
- Psychware Sourcebook
Special Focus Handbooks
- Gender Roles: A Handbook of Text and Measures
- Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
- Major Psychological Assessment Instruments
- Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
- Understanding and Assessing Trauma In Children and Adolescents: Measures, Methods, and Youth in Context
- Women and Women's Issues: a Handbook of Tests and Measures
Samples and Examples of Tests and Measures
APA FAQ - Finding Information about Psychological Tests
For additional information, see "FAQ-Finding Information about Psychological Tests" prepared by the American Psychological Association
Articles About Tests and Test Reviews
Journal articles will often discuss various types of tests, or mention specific tests by name. For articles about tests, try some of these subject descriptors below. [**NOTE that the terms vary across the databases for the same content; use the database thesaurus to identify the correct one.
| Psychological Abstracts | ERIC [Education] Database |
| Attitude Measures | Aptitude Tests |
| Aptitude Measures | Measures (Individuals) |
| Comprehension Tests | Achievement Tests |
| Creative Measurement | Cognitive Tests |
| Intelligence Measures | Intelligence Tests |
| Occupational Interest Measures | Personality Measures |
| Psychological Assessment | Creativity Tests |
Prepared by Carol Wright
