Articles and Databases
Information on non-technical aspects of engineering can be found in:
Proquest Direct
LexisNexis Academic
Newspaper databases
Statistical resources
Technical databases that cover all aspects of engineering include:
CompendexNTIS
Online reference materials include:
ENGnetBASE - a collection of handbooks from CRC PressKnovel - a collection of over 800 handbooks in science and technology
Access Science - online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Web Sites
General science and technical web sites
Intute - Science, Engineering and Technology (formerly EEVL- Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics and Computing) Infomine- University of California, Riverside
Scirus searches 250 million plus science sites
SciCentral News on a variety of science and technology topics
Science.gov searches government science web sites
Scitopia - search 21 scientific and technical societies
General interest web sites:
Internet Public Library Includes general reference resources: almanacs, FAQ lists, Encyclopedia Smithsonian, Directories and science and technology resources: conversion factors, subject based guides,educational sites, etc. Carnegie Mellon Reference Page Includes acronyms, toll free numbers, area codes, links to government services, etc.
Network Acronym and Abbreviation Server
Urban Legends and Folklore - spam/hoax news
Greatest Engineering Achievements of the 20th Century
eFunda Engineering Fundamentals
Sightseer's Guide to Engineering
Engineering Research Center Fact Sheets from NSF
BEST Search Engines From UC Berkeley
Specialized Websites
Ethics in Engineering
IEEE Ethics siteOnline Ethics Center for Engineering and Science at Case Western Reserve University
Numerical Data
NIST Reference on Constants, Units and Uncertainity
Physical Reference Data - From NIST Physics Laboratory
Physical Quantities, Constants, Units and Conversion of Units From the Universitat Freie in Berlin (in English)
ThermoDex From the University of Texas, an index to over 120 handbooks of thermodynamics and thermophysical data. Check the CAT to see of PSU owns the handbook.
Government Web Sites
National Laboratories, Departments, and Agencies
Argonne
Brookhaven
Lawrence Berkeley
Lawrence Livermore
Los Alamos
Oak Ridge
Princeton Plasma Physics
Sandia
Dept of Defense
Dept of Energy
DOE Energy Information
Environmental Protection Agency
NASA
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Occupational Health and Safety Administration
Dept. of Transportation
Societies
Most societies have Web sites. An excellent general source of society Websites is the Society Site at the University of Waterloo Some of the major societies in engineering are listed below.
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
Acoustical Society of America (ASA)
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
American Nuclear Society (ANS)
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
American Society for Heating Refrigeration and Air Conditioning (ASHRAE)
American Society for Quality Control (ASQC)
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE)
Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE)
Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE)
National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE)
SPIE International Society for Optical Engineering
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)
Search
Contact
Engineering Library
325 Hammond Building
University Park, PA 16802
814 865-3451
Bonnie Osif
or
Tom Conkling
or
Your Campus Library
