Purpose: Guide to basic resources for doing research and finding information related to the materials sciences.
Materials science is a multidisciplinary field that draws upon resources ranging from chemistry and physics to engineering and medicine. Although there are distinct sub-disciplines such as metals and metallurgy, ceramics, and polymers, most information resources are broad and inclusive.Articles and Databases
The literature on materials science is extensive and multiple databases may need to be searched. Following are the most useful databases for locating relevant articles in materials science.
Materials Science – materials science from 1966+
COMPENDEX – engineering from 1884+
INSPEC – electronic materials from 1896+
Web of Science – scientific journals from 1900+
SciFinder Scholar – chemistry from 1907+
NTIS – technical reports and papers from 1964+
INIS – nuclear science and technology
Materials Science – materials science from 1966+
COMPENDEX – engineering from 1884+
INSPEC – electronic materials from 1896+
Web of Science – scientific journals from 1900+
SciFinder Scholar – chemistry from 1907+
NTIS – technical reports and papers from 1964+
INIS – nuclear science and technology
Books
The CAT is the best tool to identify books (online and print) and conference proceedings available at Penn State. Most materials science resources will be found in the following call number areas:
| QD | - | chemistry of materials | |||
| TA174.7 | - | nanotechnology | |||
| TA401+ | - | materials properties | |||
| TK | - | electronic materials | |||
| TN's | - | metals and metallurgy | |||
| TP785+ | - | ceramics | |||
| TP1080+ | - | polymers |
ASM Handbook- (otherwise known as the Metals Handbook) - This set of over 20 volumes is THE reference work on metals. It is the first resource to consult when looking for data on metals and alloys. (Call numer = TA459.A50 )
Engineered Materials Handbooks - This series of handbooks complement the ASM Handbooks by providing data on non-metallic materials. (Call numbers = TA403.E497 and others)
Engineered Materials Handbooks - This series of handbooks complement the ASM Handbooks by providing data on non-metallic materials. (Call numbers = TA403.E497 and others)
Data
Materials property data is widely dispersed in handbooks, manuals, articles, and other resources. Some useful resources for locating materials property information follow:
Materials Data and Databases
- Index to Physical, Chemical, and Other Property Data (University of Arizona Science Reference Room) This page is an index to selected library and internet resources that contain chemical, physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, toxicological, and safety data.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook This site contains chemical & physical property data for thousands of compounds.
- THERMODEX An Index of Selected Thermodynamic Data Handbooks.
- WebElements An online periodic table.
- MatWeb This site provides information on engineering materials properties. It is searchable by property or by material category.
- AMMTIAC (Advanced Materials, Manufacturing, and Testing Information Analysis Center) This center has a useful library database of documents related to advanced materials and also provides a limited amount of free help in answering questions related to advanced materials properties and testing.
- EngNetBase - This web site, restricted to Penn State users, features data on engineering materials, as listed in various handbooks and texts.
- ChemNetBase - This web site, restricted to Penn State users, features data on chemicals, as listed in various handbooks and texts.
- Beilstein/Gmelin Handbooks - These two handbooks are excellent sources of physical and organic chemistry data. (Restricted to Penn State users only.)
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - This classic work has basic information about compounds and elements. (Call number= QD65.H301)
- Knovel - This database of engineering handbook allows property searching as well as browsing.
- Powder Diffraction File - This on-going set is available on the Reference shelves of the EMS Library (call number QC481.A42). (See CAT record) [Note: Materials Research Institute staff have access to an electronic version. Penn Staters may request a search of this database; contact Linda Musser, EMS Library, for more information.]
- ASTM Standards - These standards cover all kinds of materials and testing methods. To limit search to viewable ASTM standards, under Quick Searches, select "Subscription Only". Older editions are available in the set Annual Book of ASTM Standards. (See CAT record. )
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology- If you want to know the process by which a material is made, this is a useful tool.
- Phase diagrams - The EMS Library collects compilations of phase diagrams for both metals and ceramics. Most are kept on the EMSL Reference shelves. Ask for help if you don't find the diagram you need, or search the Materials Science database collection for your system.
Specialized data resources:
- PGM Database - source of information on platinum group metals
- WebHTS The NIST WWW version of the High Temperature Superconducting materials Database
- Material Selection Guide for polymers
- Polymers - A Property Databse - Searchable database of polmer properties (PSU users only)
- Ceramics WebBook
- Nanomaterial Database - contains data and sources for various nanomaterials.
- Database of Properties of South-east Asian Timbers
- Spectral Data
Other Resources
Search
Contact
Engineering Library
325 Hammond Building
University Park, PA 16802
814 865-3451
Linda Musser – Earth and Mineral Sciences Library
Bonnie Osif – Engineering Library
Tom Conkling – Engineering Library
325 Hammond Building
University Park, PA 16802
814 865-3451
Linda Musser – Earth and Mineral Sciences Library
Bonnie Osif – Engineering Library
Tom Conkling – Engineering Library
