Purpose: Guide to resources related to mining and mineral engineering.
Articles and Databases
- COMPENDEX–articles on engineering
- Mining and Environment Database
- NITS Technical Reports
- NIOSHTIC-2 – articles on mine safety
- Environmental and Pollution Management
- IMMAGE – mining database on CD
- OneMine – index to mining information from professional societies
Books
Use the CAT to identify books available at Penn State or browse our shelves in the following call number areas:
T54 – industrial hygiene
SME Mining Engineering Handbook. This 2 volume handbook provides basic data and information for mining engineers. (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
Journals
Some of the top journals include:
- E&MJ
- International Journal of Mineral Processing
- International Journal of Mining, Reclamation and Environment
- International Journal of Rock Mechanics & Mining Sciences
- Journal of Mining Science
- Minerals & Metallurgical Processing
- Minerals & Energy
- Mining Engineering
- Tunneling and Underground Space Technology
Websites
- InfoMine Guide to news and information concerning mining and mineral exploration worldwide.
- International Council on Mining and Metals
- Mine Safety and Health Administration
- Mining Fact Sheets are produced by NIOSH for various types of mining.
- MSHA Technical Information Center and Library Historical photographs and accident reports are available from this site.
- Office for Mine Safety & Health Research Information from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.
- Mining Cost Service
- Society of Mining Engineers
- Code of Federal Regulations
- Land and Mineral Use Records (U.S. B.L.M.)
- Colorado School of Mines Digital Image Collection – over 3300 images related to mines and mining.
- Hints for understanding the Transactions of the AIME. (See the CAT record to locate this series.) The American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers is an umbrella organization for several societies including the Society of Mining Engineers, the Society of Petroleum Engineers, and others. The contents and contributions to the transactions series has changed over the years. For many years, even volumes contained papers from the Society of Mining Engineers; odd volumes held Society of Petroleum Engineers papers. Each volume contains selected papers from SME/SPE journals or conference proceedings. One confusing aspect of the Transactions is that the pagination was retained from the original place these articles appeared, leading to cases of duplicate page numbers. Without the table of contents, a user is lost.
Search
Contact
Earth and Mineral Sciences Library
105 Deike Building814-865-9517
