Purpose: Highlight some useful resources for finding materials related to petroleum and natural gas engineering, with some additional links for distance education students.
Below are some guides to doing research along with links to useful resources such as style guides.
Information Literacy and You
Locating Industry Information Tutorial
Online! Citation Styles Index
Dartmouth's Citing Sources - includes examples
Online Reference Resources
Library Distance Learning Delivery service
Articles and Databases
Search for journal articles on a particular topic in your subject area by using one of these databases:
| Title | Subject Area |
| COMPENDEX | Engineering |
| OnePetro | Petroleum engineering |
| NTIS | Technical reports |
| Web of Science | Science journal articles; citation searching |
| Energy Citations Database | Energy |
| Risk Abstracts | Safety |
| Health and Safety Science Abstracts | Safety |
| ABI/Inform | Business |
| LexisNexis Academic Universe | Industry and Trade Magazines + Newspapaers |
Books
Searching: To locate books at PSU on a specific topic in your field, search the CAT using a keyword search. (Search for books on petroleum engineering in The CAT!) Never used the CAT before? Visit Guide to Searching the CAT for more detailed instructions or quick tips and tricks!
Browsing: Interested in browsing areas in our collection related to your field? Some books in your field can be found in the following call number areas:
| HD9502 | - | Oil and Gas Economics | |||
| TN859-883 | - | Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering |
Some useful databases containing fulltext books include:
National Academy Press The publications of the National Academy are prestigious and timely. Over 3000 books are searchable via the Web.
Safari The Safari database provides fulltext access to computer/software manuals.
Journals
Search the CAT for a particular journal title, or check out a couple of the journals recommended for your particular discipline in the list below:
| Journal Titles | |
| Oil and Gas Engineering Management |
|
| Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering |
Selected Resources
American Petroleum Institute
Society of Petroleum Engineers
Code of Federal Regulations
DOE Energy Information Administration This Dept. of Energy site features links to fulltext DOE statistical reports and other publications.
DOE Office of Science and Technology Information This Dept. of Energy gateway features links to fulltext DOE reports, preprints servers, journal databases and more.
Energy Information on the Internet
GO-TECH Gas and Oil Technology Exchange - current oil prices, lease sale notices, etc.
Info-Mine Guide to news and information concerning mining and mineral exploration worldwide.
Mine Safety and Health Administration
Mining and Environment Database Over 20, 000 references to materials on reclamation.
Mining Cost Service
Office for Mine Safety & Health Research Information from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.
Offshore Engineering Information Service
Oil Spill Program (EPA) This site contains information about preventing, preparing and responding to oil spills.
Petroleum Place Internet resources for the oil and gas industry, featuring financial information, crude oil prices, etc.
Petroleum Technology Transfer Council
Sci.Geo Petroleum Internet Resources
Selected Abstracts and Bibliography of International Oil Spill Research
Spill Technology Databases and Fuel Calculations Databases
University of Texas at Austin, Petroleum Engineering Department reading room
Search
Contact
Earth and Mineral Sciences Library
105 Deike BuildingUniversity Park, PA 16802
814-865-9517

