Purpose: Guide to doing research on topics related to energy.
Articles and Databases
Search for journal articles on a particular topic in your subject area by using one of these databases:
- DOE Information Bridge - Department of Energy documents
- Energy Citations Database - articles on energy topics
- COMPENDEX - articles on engineering
- OnePetro - papers on petroleum engineering
- NTIS - for technical reports
- Web of Science - scientific journal articles
- ABI/Inform - articles on economic aspects of energy
- Environment and Energy Newswires – latest energy policy news
Books
Searching: To locate books at PSU on a specific topic in your field, search The CAT using a keyword search. Never used The CAT before? Visit Getting Started with the CAT for more detailed instructions or quick tips and tricks!
Browsing: Interested in browsing areas in our collection related to your field? Some books in your field can be found in the following call number areas:Energy economics – HD9502+Also try these online encyclopedias:
Energy engineering – TJ163+
Fuel Science – TP315+
Websites
- Energy Information Administration (U.S.) - this website has a wealth of information and statistics on all types of energy resources, worldwide.
- IEA Energy Information Centre
- Survey of Energy Resources 2007 (World Energy Council)
- Statistical Review of World Energy 2007 (BP)
- DOE Data Explorer - A guide to data collections at national laboratories, data centers, etc. across all of the science areas with DOE involvement
- Office of Science and Technology Information This Dept. of Energy gateway features links to fulltext DOE reports, preprints servers, journal databases and more.
- Energy Information on the Internet
Coal
- COALPROD Database
- EIA Coal Page
- Coal Online - This resource is provided by the IEA Coal Centre.
Petroleum and Natural Gas
- American Petroleum Institute
- Petroleum Place
- GO-TECH - Gas and Oil Technology Exchange
- Oil Spill Program (EPA)
- Petroleum Technology Transfer Council
- Sci.Geo Petroleum Internet Resources
- Selected Abstracts and Bibliography of International Oil Spill Research
- Spill Technology Databases and Fuel Calculations Databases
- Society of Petroleum Engineers
- University of Texas at Austin, Petroleum Engineering Department
- Society of Petroleum Engineers
- Petroleum Engineering Handbook. This handbook provides basic data and information for petroleum engineers. (See CAT record.)
Nuclear
Renewable
Pennsylvania Energy
- Pennsylvania Renewable Energy Resources Assessment (See CAT record.) This atlas contains maps and other information on renewable resources in Pennsylvania.
- State Energy Profiles - Pennsylvania – Information from the USDOE Energy Information Administration containing historic and current data and reports.
- Pennsylvania Office of Energy and Technology Deployment
Search
Contact
Earth and Mineral Sciences Library
105 Deike Building814-865-9517
