Articles and Databases
GeoRef – articles on geoscience topics
GEOBASE – articles on geosciences, geography, meteorology, and oceanography
GeoScienceWorld – fulltext geoscience journal collection
SciFinder Scholar – articles on geochemistry
Web of Science – scientific journal articles
NTIS – technical reports
USGS National Geologic Map Database – lists of geologic maps
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database – geologic field trip guidebooks
Cold Regions Science and Technology Bibliography
Quakeline Database – articles on earthquakes
Hazlit Database – articles on natural hazards
GEOBASE – articles on geosciences, geography, meteorology, and oceanography
GeoScienceWorld – fulltext geoscience journal collection
SciFinder Scholar – articles on geochemistry
Web of Science – scientific journal articles
NTIS – technical reports
USGS National Geologic Map Database – lists of geologic maps
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database – geologic field trip guidebooks
Cold Regions Science and Technology Bibliography
Quakeline Database – articles on earthquakes
Hazlit Database – articles on natural hazards
Books
Searching: To locate books on a specific topic in you field, search the CAT using a keyword search. Never used the CAT before? Stop by the reference desk or visit Guide to Searching the CAT for more detailed instructions or quick tips and tricks!
Browsing: Interested in browsing areas in our collection related to your field? Some books in your field can be found in the following call number areas:
Browsing: Interested in browsing areas in our collection related to your field? Some books in your field can be found in the following call number areas:
| Geology of the United States | QE75 | |||||
| Mineralogy | QE351-399 | |||||
| Petrology | QE420-499 | |||||
| Geochemistry | QE514-516 | |||||
| Volcanoes and Earthquakes | QE521-545 | |||||
| Structural Geology | QE601-613 | |||||
| Stratigraphy | QE640-699 | |||||
| Paleontology | QE701-760 | |||||
| Dinosaurs | QE861 |
Journals
Browse the Geosciences journals found in the Earth and Mineral Sciences Library, search the CAT for a particular journal, title, or check out a couple of the journals recommended for your particular discipline in the list below:
Selected Geoscience Journal Titles
- Chemical Geology
- Earth and Planetary Science Letters
- Geological Society of America Bulletin
- Geology
- Geophysical Research Letters
- Journal of Geophysical Research
- Journal of Structural Geology
- Journal of Volcanology and Geothermal Research
- Marine Geology
- Organic Geochemistry
- PAGEOPH (Pure and Applied Geophysics)
- Palaeogeography, Palaeoclimatology, Palaecology
- Physics and Chemistry of Minerals
- Precambrian Research
- Sedimentary Geology
Data
- National Geophysical Data Center: The National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) is the national repository for geophysical data, providing a wide range of science data services and information.
- RRUFF Project: an integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction and chemistry data for minerals
- American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database: database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals.
- XRD Database of Minerals - x-ray diffraction data for minerals
- X-Ray Diffraction Analysis Database of Selected Soils and Sediments: database contains X-ray diffraction patterns and raw data for 59 clay fractions for the southern U.S.
- Geologic Names Lexicon (GEOLEX): Part of the National Geologic Map Database, GEOLEX is a search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names.
Maps
Finding Geologic Maps
- GeoRef
- Guide to USGS Geologic and Hydrologic Maps (QE77.G94)
- Search the CAT for maps in our libraries. Type Geology - [place] - Maps
For example, Geology - Brazil - Maps
or Geology - Pennsylvania - Schuylkill County - Maps - National Geologic Map Database
- Consult the WorldCAT database.
- Consult the USGS Publications warehouse.
Finding Mine Maps
Few libraries collect mine maps but state and federal agencies frequently do.
- National Mine Map Repository - This agency maintains copies of abandoned US mine maps. Their database is accessible via the Internet.
- Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection Mine Map Repositories (See also Pennsylvania Geology and Mining research guide.)
- West Virginia mine maps - This website has scanned images of mines in West Virginia.
- Kentucky Mine Mapping Information System
- Mine Plans Portal – British database of non-coal mine maps.
Directories
- Directory of Geoscience Organizations of the World: Online directory containing contact information on over 471 organizations from 169 countries and areas.
- West's Geology Directory: A well-maintained and frequently reviewed directory of Internet links relating to geology and earth science topics. Individual sections have their own more detailed indices.
- Geoscience Fieldcamps Directory: List of over 70 links, by state, to geology summer field camp information that is available on the web.
Geologic Surveys
- U.S. Geological Survey
- State geological surveys (U.S.): This list of state surveys is maintained by the Association of American State Geologists.
- U.S., state, & foreign geological surveys & associations & societies: The University of California at Berkeley Earth Science and Map Library's list of links.
Other Resources
- Encyclopedia of the Earth: A web-based resource produced by the National Council for Science and the Environment.
- Earth Science World: Site has a large imagebank of geologic images, an interactive geologic time scale, and other resources.
- ATHENA: Mineralogy: Systematic lists, formulas and pictures of minerals.
- Earth Impact Database: Database of impact craters on Earth containing size and location information
- Mineral Gallery: A collection of mineral descriptions, images, and specimens. Includes searchable mineralogical data.
- Alphabetical Mineral Reference: Alphabetized mineral glossary.
- Links for Mineralogists: Annotated links to internet resources specific to mineralogy. Links separated into Knowledge, Tools, and Contact subsections.
- Mineralogy Database: 4,102 individual mineral species descriptions with links. Includes crystallography, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, and alphabetical listings of mineral species.
- Online Fossil Museum: searchable and browseable collection with images.
- The Electronic Volcano: Maps, photographs, and full texts of dissertations on worldwide active volcanoes.
- The PaleoNet Pages: A system of listservers, Web pages, and FTP sites designed to enhance electronic communication among paleontologists.
- Marine Realms Information Bank : Database of information related to the geology of U.S. coastal and marine regions.
- Web Geological Time Machine: The Museum of Paleontology at the University of California at Berkeley provides a descriptive online exhibit to the earth's time periods.
- Earth Science Resources on the Web: The University of California at Berkeley Earth Science and Map Library's Internet resources. Provides links to the Earth Sciences, Planetary Sciences, Geography, Geophysics / Seismology, Climatology, and Oceanography.
- National Park Service's Tour of Park Geology: This site features images of geologic features and descriptions of the geology of specific parks.
- Dana's New Mineralogy: This is a classic work on mineralogy. (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Geology.com
- Georesources and Africa
Search
Contact
Earth and Mineral Sciences Library
105 Deike BuildingUniversity Park, PA 16802
814-863-9785
