Articles and Databases
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
GEOBASE
INSPEC
NTIS, NOAA reports
Antarctic and Cold Regions Bibliographies
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI)
Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
GEOBASE
INSPEC
NTIS, NOAA reports
Antarctic and Cold Regions Bibliographies
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI)
Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
Books
Locating Books:
Searching: To locate books on a specific topic in you field, search the CAT using a keyword search. (Search the CAT for books on meteorology!) Never used the CAT before? Visit Getting Started with the CAT for more detailed instructions or quick tips and tricks!Browsing: Interested in browsing areas in our collection related to your field? Some books in your field can be found in the following call number areas:
Subject Area Call Number Area
Meteorolgoy and Climatology -- QC 850+
Oceanography -- GC
Data
- National Climatic Data Center's Online Climate Data. Locate surface data (monthly, weekly, daily, radar data), upper-air data, marine data and climatology and extreme weather events.
- NNDC Climate Data Online, searchable by county, geographic region, data set/product, station name or map services. Some of the types of available data are precipitation data, surface data and satellite data.
- Carbon Dioxide Information Access Center, To search for data, use this CDIAC search engine.
- Global Change Master Directory, this site contains links to a variety of kinds of data sets by topic, such as agriculture or atmosphere.
- NOAAServer. Access to distributed NOAA data and information
- National Data Buoy Center NDBC "designs, develops, operates, and maintains a network of data collecting buoys and coastal stations." Click on the map for station data. Information such as wind speed, direction, dew point and air temperature are available.
- National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service, links to environmental data from satellites.
- National Geophysical Data Center, links to a variety of data such as data from the upper atmosphere and space to tsunami and earthquake data.
- National Oceanographic Data Center contains data on things like beach temperatures, coastal buoy data, ocean currents and salinity.
- U.S. HCN (Historic Climate Network) Precipitation Data
- World Data Center System site "includes a wide range of solar, geophysical, environmental, and human dimensions data. These data cover timescales ranging from seconds to millennia and they provide baseline information for research in many ICSU disciplines, especially for monitoring changes in the geosphere and biosphere—gradual or sudden, foreseen or unexpected, natural or man-made."
- World Data Centre for Meteorology includes "meteorological and nuclear radiation data for International Geophysical Year (IGY)(see IGY Annuals, Vol.26); meteorological data and data products from Global Atmospheric Research Program, World Climate Research Program, World Climate Data and Monitoring Program; and data (including data publications) exchanged with the WDC by participating countries."
Climate Change
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPPC)
- Canadian Global Change Program (CGCP)
- CIESIN. Center for International Earth Science Information Network.
- Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators
- Global Change Master Directory
- International Geosphere - Biosphere Programme (IGBP)
- UN Framework Convention on Climate Change. Includes information on the Kyoto Protocol.
- U.S. Global Change Research Program
- World Data Center - for Paleoclimatology
Pennsylvania Climate
- Climates of the States. This book contains narrative descriptions of climatic regions and average data for many PA locations. (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Comparative Climatic Data for the U.S. This book contains snowfall, wind speed, and other averages for six PA locations. (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Pennsylvania State Climatologist
- Penn State University Campus Weather Service
- Weather for State College, PA
- NWS Office, Eastern Region
- NWS Office, State College, PA
- NWS Office, Philadelphia, PA
- NWS Office, Pittsburgh, PA
- Historical PA Precipitation Data
- Northeast Regional Climate Center
- Philadelphia Weather Data
- Climatological Data Pennsylvania - daily weather statistics for PA. Pre-1997 data is availabe in the print edition. (See the CAT record for this title)
