Purpose: Guide to basic resources for research and information relating to water and watersheds.
Articles and Databases
- Water Resources Abstracts – covers 1967 to date. Focus is on fresh water.
- Oceanic Abstracts – covers from 1981 to date.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts – covers 1971 to date.
- Sea Grant Abstracts – database and digital library.
- Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts – covers from 1974 to date.
Watersheds
- Surf Your Watershed – a one-stop site for information about watersheds in the United States.
- Watershed Information Network – hosted by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, this site has information about individual watersheds in the U.S. as well as general information about watersheds.
- Know Your Watershed – this website provides information about forming local watershed partnerships.
- Center for Watershed Protection
- Watershed Basics – this site lists links to watershed resources and organizations.
- Watersheds of the World – this site provides maps of land cover, population density and biodiversity for 154 basins and sub-basins around the world.
Water Resources
- Water Data – this U.S.G.S. site provides access to historic and real-time water data for the U.S.
- Universities Water Information Network (UWIN) – created by the Universities Council on Water Resources. Provides access to subject specific directories, databases, and announcements.
- Internet Resources for Water – a list of some of the most useful Internet resources for water and water-related subjects.
- Water Librarians Homepage – created and maintained by a librarian working for a California water agency.
Ocean Resources
- National Oceanographic Data Center – contains data on beach temperatures, coastal buoy data, ocean currents, salinity, and more.
- Ocean Portal – directory of ocean data and information related web sites
- SeaWeb – focuses on preservation of ocean resources. It contains links to images, reports, and Ocean Citations, an annual list of citations for topics such as marine mining and climate change.
- NOAA's Tides and Currents Information – provides information on water levels, temperatures, and other coastal oceanographic data.
- Tides and Tide Predictions – an extensive listing of tide table links and software maintained by the Scripps Institute of Oceanography.
- National Sea Grant Library – contains over 15,000 documents related to the oceans.
Pennsylvania Watersheds and Water Resources
- USGS Water Resources of Pennsylvania
- Historic Floods in the Mid-Atlantic Region – site hosted by the National Weather Service's Mid-Atlantic River Forecast Center
- Pennsylvania county comprehensive plans – this links to a list of county comprehensive plans, many of which have a section on water resources.
- Pennsylvania Directory of Watershed Organizations
- Susquehanna River Basin Commission
- Centre County Comprehensive Plans
- Spring Creek Fact Sheet – from the Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay.
- Spring Creek Watershed Homepage – description of the Spring Creek Watershed International Exchange
- Spring Creek Watershed Information – from the Pennsylvania Ground Water Association
- Clear Water Conservancy
- The York Watershed Council
- The White Clay Watershed Association (New Castle County, Delaware and Chester County, Pennsylvania.)
- Tobyhanna Creek/ Tunkhannock Creek Watershed Association
- Slippery Rock Watershed Coalition
Search
Contact
Earth and Mineral Sciences Library
105 DeikeUniversity Park, PA 16802
814-865-9517
