For Pennsylvania
- Springs of Pennsylvania - (See also the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Contains water hardness data for various springs throughout Pennsylvania. See Table 3 near the back of the book.
- The State Water Plan - (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Contains water hardness data for various acquifers in Pennsylvania. Locate the appropriate subbasin and look for a table containing water hardness data.
- Engineering Characteristics of the Rocks of Pennsylvania - (See the CAT record to locate this book.) Contains descriptive information on water hardness for various rock formations in Pennsylvania.
- Ground-water quality and data on wells and springs in Pennsylvania - (See the CAT record to locate this book.) Presents ground-water quality and physical data on about 1,250 wells and springs in the Delaware River Basin in Pennsylvania.
Characteristics of Pennsylvania Recreational Lakes - (See the CAT record to locate this book.) -- Contains hardness data for large Pennsylvania lakes.
Local or regional water authorities:
Water companies may provide water quality information to their customers, which may include hardness data. For example, see
- State College Borough Water Authority
- University Park Office of Physical Plant - averages approx. 174 mg/l of CaCO3 (per Paul Ruskin, OPP, June 2007)
- Williamsport Municipal Water Authority
- Altoona City Authority
- Erie County Water Authority annual report lists average hardness in one of its tables.
- American Water - listings for its Pennsylvania locations plus other states.
- Philadelphia Water Department - see section on "How hard is my water?"
For Other States
- Water Encyclopedia -
- (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Contains data for various locations in each state (see Table 6-30 beginning on page 449) and definitions and conversion factors for water hardness.
This set contains data on the regional aquifers of the United States. Hardness is usually reported in a graphic in the section on the water quality of each aquifer, however, it is not reported in all cases.
This web site features hardness data for some aquifers but has a challenging interface. Select "Water Quality" under Data Category. Choose the Samples dataset. Keep moving through the retrieval options until you are able to select a particular station or aquifer.
Other Resources
- Encyclopedia of Water
- (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Contains an entry on hard water with a definition and a discussion of causes, softening, etc. on pages 147-149.
- Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Contains a definition of hardness on page 427.
- Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Waste Water
- (See the CAT record to locate this book.)
- Contains a description of hardness, hardness test methods, and a bibliography of resources.
- Methods for Determination of Inorganic Substances in Water and Fluvial Sediments
- (Electronic version-See section 8 in this pdf.)
(See the CAT record to locate this book.) - Contains information about various analytical techniques for measuring inorganic substances (including magnesium and calcium) in water.
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
- (See the CAT record to locate this book.) Also available online as Access Science.
- See chapter on Water Softening.
- See chapter on Water Softening.
- Drinking Water: Hard Water
- Information about hard water from the Nebraska Cooperative Extension.
- Household Water Quality - Water Hardness
- Information about hard water from the Virgina Cooperative Extension, including a rating chart for soft-hard water.
Search
Contact
Earth and Mineral Sciences Library
105 DeikeUniversity Park, PA 16802
814-865-9517
