Articles and Databases
- Primarily classical Greece and Rome , with some coverage of the ancient Near East
- Language, literature, history, art, archaeology, philosophy, and religion
- Covers some archaeological journals
- Bibliography of the history of art
- Covers some topics in ancient art and archaeology
UP Copy: Call # BS511.2.E26 2000, Arts & Humanities Ready Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee (inquire at desk)
- Electronic edition of the card catalog database for the École biblique's library
- Comprehensive coverage of Biblical and ancient Near Eastern studies, archaeology, and related disciplines
- Covers range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences
- Strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
- Wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports.
- Indexes multidisciplinary journals with a strong European content
- Indexes European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences
- Full-text, full-image archive of journals in a various humanities and social sciences disciplines, including many journals in classical literature and archaeology
- Some content back to the nineteenth century
- Content excludes the most recent three to five years
- Over five thousand magazines and scholarly journals
- Especially useful for current national and world news, contemporary topics, and popular culture
- “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online
- Journals in classics, religious studies, and the ancient Near East
- Indexes about 160 journals and some collections of articles, such as Festschriften
- Free resource offered by CHASS (Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Toronto)
- Free resource offered by CHASS (Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Toronto)
Books
The CAT - Find Books and Other Materials at Penn State. Begin your search by choosing the BROWSE page to search by title, or the KEYWORD page to search for books on your topic. For more info on searching the CAT, click here.
Selected Reference Works
UP Copy: Call # DS57.C55 1995 (4 vols.), Arts & Humanities Ready Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee
Dictionary of the ancient Near East.
UP Copy: Call # DS56.D5 2000, Arts & Humanities Ready Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee
New encyclopedia of archaeological excavations in the Holy Land.
UP Copy: Call # DS111.A2N488 1993 Q (4vols.), Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee
The Oxford classical dictionary, 3rd ed. rev.
UP Copy: Call # DE5.O9 2003, Arts & Humanities Ready Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee
The Oxford encyclopedia of archaeology in the Near East.
UP Copy: Call # DS56.O9 1997 (5 vols.), Arts & Humanities Ready Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee
Web Sites
The Pennsylvania Sumerian Dictionary Project (PSD), a growing online dictionary of the Sumerian language: http://psd.museum.upenn.edu/
The Jerusalem Archaeological Park , interactive video, audio, timelines, and pictures, sponsored by the Israel Antiquities Authority: http://www.archpark.org.il/
The Ancient Cyuprus Web Project: http://www.ancientcyprus.ac.uk/
Ancient Greek World Virtual Gallery at the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology: http://www.museum.upenn.edu/Greek_World/Index.html
Etana, Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives. Links to texts and internet resources for study of the Ancient Near East: http://www.etana.org/
Search
Contact
Arts & Humanities Library
W327 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-6779
Fax: 814-863-7502
or Your Campus Librarian.
