Skip to content

Articles and Databases

Année philologique (1969-present)
  • Primarily classical Greece and Rome , with some coverage of the ancient Near East
  • Language, literature, history, art, archaeology, philosophy, and religion
  • Strong coverage of European scholarship
  • Covers journal articles, books, chapters, and collections
  • “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online (link listed as sfx )
FRANCIS (1984-present)
  • Covers range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences
  • Strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
  • Wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports.
IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (1984-present)
  • Indexes multidisciplinary journals with a strong European content
  • Indexes European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences
JSTOR
  • Full-text, full-image archive of journals in a various humanities and social sciences disciplines, including many journals in classical literature and archaeology
  • Some content back to the nineteenth century
  • Content excludes the most recent three to five years
ProQuest Direct
  • Over five thousand magazines and scholarly journals
  • Especially useful for current national and world news, contemporary topics, and popular culture
  •  “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online
TOCS-IN: Tables of Content of Journals of Interest to Classicists
  • Journals in classics, religious studies, and the ancient Near East
  •  Indexes about 160 journals and some collections of articles, such as Festschriften
  • Free resource offered by CHASS (Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Toronto)
  • Free resource offered by CHASS (Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Toronto)

Books

The CAT - Find Books and Other Materials at Penn State. Begin your search by choosing the BROWSE page to search by title, or the KEYWORD page to search for books on your topic. For more info on searching the CAT, click here.

How to find materials NOT at Penn State.

Electronic Texts

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (CD-R0M)

  • UP Copy: Call # PA6118.B53 1999, Music and Media Center
  • Includes all ancient Latin texts from the earliest times to the second century, as well as a certain number of the major writers from later times
  •  For each individual text, the most recent or the best edition published by Teubner is used
  • Software allows search strategies based on an analysis of word forms or combinations of word forms.

Library of Latin texts: CLCLT

  • Texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965)
  • Supports keyword, truncation, and Boolean searching
  • Works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas
  • Texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions

Thesaurus linguae graecae

  • Digitized, searchable texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453
  • Contains over 76 million words of text, over 6,600 works and nearly 2,000 authors
  • Permits keyword and Boolean searching and author/title browsing

Selected Reference Works

Click on the title to get other locations from the CAT.

Ancient Roman writers.
UP Copy: Call # PS221.D5 v.211, Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

A companion to the Roman Empire.
UP Copy: Call # DG311.C667 2006, Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

Dictionary of Roman religion.
UP Copy: Call # BL798.A35 1996, Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire.
UP Copy: Call # DG270.B86 2002, Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

Handbook to life in ancient Rome, updated edition.
UP Copy: Call # DG75.A35 2004, Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

New topographical dictionary of ancient Rome.
UP Copy: Call # DG68.R5 1992, Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

Oxford classical dictionary, 3 rd ed. rev.
UP Copy: Call # DE5.O9 2003, Arts & Humanities Ready Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

Prosopographia Imperii Romani: Saecula I, II, III.
UP Copy: Call # DG203.5.P763 1933 (7 vols.), Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

The prosopography of the later Roman Empire.
UP Copy: Call # DG203.5.J6 (3 vols. in 4), Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum.
UP Copy: Call # BL727.T44 2004 (4 vols.), Arts & Humanities Reference, 2nd Floor Pattee

Web Sites

DIR—De Imperatoribus Romanis
An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Emperors

Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman World
Classical atlas hosted by the Department of Classics of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Diotima
Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

Perseus Project from Tufts University
Full text ancient Greek and Latin literature, information on the history and civilization of classical antiquity, and images of ancient art

Search


Contact

Daniel C. Mack
Arts & Humanities Library
W327 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-6779
Fax: 814-863-7502

or Your Campus Librarian.


Get Help