- Databases
- Guides to Research
- General Resources
- County and Local Histories
- Census Resources
- Vital Records
- Newspapers and Orbituaries
- Immigration and Passenger Lists
- Genealogy Magazines and Journals
- City Directories
- Church Records
- Military Records
- Selected Web Sites
- Other Genealogy Collections and Contacts
- Visiting the Library
Databases
Offers portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Accessible Archives 18th and 19th Century News, including:
- Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, 1809-1870
- Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, Chester County, 1809-1870
Times of London Index 1790-1905, have the paper index from 1790-present in the News and Microforms Library.
Guides to Research
How you will proceed depends on what information you already possess, and how much much information you are looking for. If you are new to the process you might consider starting with one of the guides below. While each resource is different a guide will typically describe the types of records available for genealogical research, help you decipher unfamiliar terms, and provide information about groups that assist family researchers. They will also advise you on what information you need to gather before beginning the process. The Centre County Genealogical Society also offers advice and publications on how to get started. See their web page for more information. See also the online Glossary of Genealogical Terms for definitions of unfamiliar words.
Genealogical Resources in Pattee Library, The Pennsylvania State University, with Special Reference to Pennsylvania (find in the CAT), UP Copy: Call # Z5313.U6P47, Arts and Humanities Reference Collection, Pattee Level 2, also Special Collections, 1st Floor Paterno, and Microforms, Ground Floor, West Pattee
Guide to Historical and Genealogical Research in Pennsylvania (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # Z1329.H73 1978, Arts and Humanities Reference Collection, Pattee Level 2, Rare Books, 1st Floor Paterno
Searching for Your Ancestors: the How and Why of Genealogy (find in the CAT)
UP Copy Call #CS16.D6 1992, Pattee Stacks, Level BA
Finding Your Roots: How Every American Can Trace His Ancestors (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # CS16.W46 1977, Pattee Stacks Level BA
The Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # CS47.G73 2000, University Archives, 1st Floor Paterno. 1990 edition is in Arts and Humanities Reference, Pattee Level 2
Pennsylvania Area Key: A Guide to the Genealogical Records of the State of Pennsylvania (find in the CAT) , UP Copy: Call # F148.C55 1976, Pattee Stacks, Level 1
RootsWeb Guide to Tracing Your Family Tree (Online resource)General Resources
American Genealogical Index (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # CS44.A6, Continues, American Genealogical-Biographical Index to American Genealogical Biographical and Local History Materials (find in the CAT), UP Copy: Call # CS44.A57, Pattee Stacks, Level BA
Pennsylvania Archives (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # 974.8P3a Pattee Dewy Collection Level 2. Contains information compiled from published records originally appearing in two sources, "Colonial Records" and "Pennsylvania Archives". Among the records included are marriage licenses, lists of Revolutionary War soldiers, Foreigners arriving in Pennsylvania, etc... For a more complete description of the collection see the Guide to the Published Archives of Pennsylvania (find in the CAT)..., shelved next to the volumes. A second copy is also at F146.P432, Pattee Stacks Level 1. Volumes are available online, http://www.footnote.com/documents/185749/pennsylvania-archives/
Encyclopedia of Pennsylvania Biography, 28vols (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # F148.E58, Arts and Humanities Reference Collection, Pattee Level 2; also available ONLINE
Genealogies of Pennsylvania Families: From the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (find in the CAT), UP Copy: Call # F148.G46, Pattee Stacks Level 1
Index to American Genealogies and to genealogical materials in all works...(find in the CAT)
Call #Z5313.U5D95, Pattee Stacks Level 2
Inventory of the County Archives of Pennsylvania, 65 vols. (find in the CAT)
Call #CD3470.H5, Pattee Stacks Level BA
Land Ownership Maps. Pennsylvania. Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division
(find in the CAT), Call #G3821.G46 svar.L5 1983, Maps Library, Ground Floor, Paterno. A microfiche collection of land ownership maps by county, originally published between 1810-1900. For more land ownership records (many online) see the Pennsylvania State Archvies: Commonwealth Land Office
Pennsylvania Place Names (find in the CAT)
Call #F147.E75 1970, Maps Library, Paterno Level B
Keystone Treasures: A Guide to Museums and Historical Organizations in Pennsylvania
(find in the CAT), Call #AM12.P4C88 2000, Arts and Humanities Reference Collection, Pattee Level 2.
County and Local Histories
County histories of the late 19th and early 20th Century did more than recount the chief events of the region. Often they included extensive data on the early inhabitants, include those connected with prominent families in some fashion. Many include lists of tax rolls, church registers, local officials, occupational indexes and the like. A number of these early county histories have been microfilmed and are widely available. The Pennsylvania histories are in the series Pennsylvania County and Regional Histories (find in the CAT), Call #Microfilm D187, News and Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee.
The easiest way to identify additional county histories available in the library is to search The CAT, the library's online catalog. Conduct a keyword search on the name of the county and history. For example, Centre and history, or Allegheny and history.
The PA's Past: Digital Bookshelf provides full-text access to over 600 historical works on Pennsylvania history. A list of additional Pennsylvania county and regional histories online is at: http://www.rootsweb.com/~usgenweb/pa/pahist.htm
Census Resources
The library has the manuscript returns for the Federal Population Censuses for Pennsylvania, 1800-1930. The information contained varies for each census as described in the U.S. Census online pamphlet, Availability of Census Records about Individuals. The library also has other Census manuscripts, including the Census of Agriculture (Pennsylvania, 1850-1880), and the Census of Manufacturers (Pennsylvania , 1820, 1850-1880).
Note: In 2007, the Census reels were reclassed and moved within the News and Microforms Library. Click here for the new call numbers.
Soundex (Census Indexes)
The 1880-1920 Censuses on microfilm are indexed using a system known as Soundex. The Soundex index arranges last names based on the way a name sounds rather than the way it is spelled. Surnames that sound the same, but are spelled differently, like SMITH and SMYTH, have the same Soundex code and are filed together. The Soundex coding system was developed so that you can find a surname even though it may have been recorded under various spellings. Knowing a surname's Soundex code is an important first step in locating your ancestor. The National Archives web site has a guide to deciphering the Soundex Machine. The easiest way to convert your name to the Soundex code is to use an online convertor. There is one available via RootsWeb, Soundex Convertor
Census Information Online
The USGenWeb project is soliciting volunteers to transcribe Census records and place them online. Some Pennsylvania counties have already been entered, with more forthcoming. It is free to search and view the Census records at this site.
Ancestry.com
Offers online searching of Census materials and other materials. Some records can be viewed for free, but many, including the Census materials, require the payment of a membership fee for access.
Historic Pittsburgh Census Project
Allows users to search the U.S. Census Schedules for the city of Pittsburgh from the years 1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880 and for Allegheny City from the years 1850, 1860, and 1870
National Archives and Records Administration: Genealogy Page
This site contains much useful information about federal records, including the U.S. Census, and how they can be used for genealogy.
Vital Records
Births, Deaths and Marriages
Central Pennsylvania Marriages, 1700-1896 (find in the CAT), Call #F148.F47 1982, Pattee Stacks 1
Early Pennsylvania Births, 1675-1875 (find in the CAT), Call #F148.F5 1975, Pattee Stacks Level 1
Archives of Pennsylvania (find in the CAT)
Call #974.8P3a Pattee Dewy Collection Level 2. Contains information compiled from published records originally appearing in two sources, "Colonial Records" and " Pennsylvania Archives". Among the records included are marriage licenses, lists of Revolutionary War soldiers, Foreigners arriving in Pennsylvania, etc... For a more complete description of the collection see the Guide to the Published Archives of Pennsylvania..., shelved next to the volumes. A second copy is also at F146.P432, Pattee Stacks Level 1.
Pennsylvania Vital Records: From the Pennsylvania Genealogical Magazine and the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, (find in the CAT), Call #F148.P48 1983
Social Security Death Index
Most original copies of Vital Records are housed in the county where the event occurred. To obtain copies of Birth, Death, and Marriage records for Centre County contact the:
Centre County Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans' Court
Willowbank County Office Building
414 Holmes Street
Suite #2
Bellefonte PA 16823
Phone: (814)-355-6724
Fax: (814)-355-8685
rabierly@co.centre.pa.us
The Centre County Library's Pennsylvania Room in Bellefonte has the following original county records:
- Will and Intestate files - 1800-1990
- Marriage license applications - 1885-1987
- Tax assessment records - 1802-1956
- Civil and Criminal Court Papers - 1800-1875
In addition the The Pennsylvania State Archives has microfilm of selected county records. A description of the county records available from the Pennsylvania State Archives is on their web site.
The Pennsylvania Department of Health. Division of Vital Records has birth and death records from 1906. Marriage and divorce records are not available from the Division of Vital Records. They are usually obtained from the courthouse in the county where the marriage license was issued or divorce decree was granted. The Department's web page contains information on vital records available from the state and how to obtain them.
Newspapers and Orbituaries
Prior to 1885 most births, deaths, and marriages in the state of Pennsylvania were not officially recorded by state or local governments. These events do typically appear in local newspapers. In some cases specialized indexes are available (see the section on Vital Records, and the description of the Pennsylvania Room below). In most other cases you will need to browse through the newspaper for the region you are interested in. The News and Microforms Library has a list of the newspapers available in the Pattee/Paterno Libraries. The collection is particularly strong in historic Pennsylvania newspapers. To identify newspapers available in other libraries use one of the guides below.
Deaths in central Pennsylvania : an index to the obituaries appearing in the Democratic watchman, v. 1. July 12, 1889-Dec. 22, 1905.--v. 2. Jan. 5, 1906-Dec. 24, 1920, (find in the CAT), Call # F148.W75, Special Collections, 1st Floor Paterno, News and Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee
Index of obituaries in Boston newspapers, 1704-1800 (find in the CAT), Call #F73.25.C63, News and Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee
Pennsylvania Scrap Book Necrology, (Obituaries from circa 1891-1904, mostly of PA Civil War veterans)
NewspaperArchive.com offers selected full-text newspapers online. Searching is free, but there is a charge for viewing the text online.
Locating Newspapers not at PSU:
Pennsylvania Newspapers and Selected Out of State Newspapers (find in the CAT)
Call #Z6952.P4P478, Arts and Humanities Library. Reference Collection, Level 2
Pennsylvania Newspapers: A Bibliography and Union List (find in the CAT)
Call #Z6952.P4S3 1978, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection, also News and Microforms Library, Ground Floor West Pattee
History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 (find in the CAT)
Call #Z6951.B86, Arts and Humanities Reference Collection, Pattee Level 2
American Newspapers, 1821-1936 (find in the CAT)
Call # Z6945.A53, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference
Newspapers in Microform (find in the CAT)
Call # Z6945.U5 N43 1948/83, News and Microforms Library, Ground Floor West Pattee
For more information on locating newspapers, consult the Historical News Sources Page
The Centre County Library and Historical Museum's Pennsylvania Room in Bellefonte, has a collection of newspaper obituaries as part of the Spangler Genealogical Papers, as well as Obituary Notebooks and Indexes for the Center Daily Times, the Centre Democrat and other local publications. Years of coverage vary. See the Web site for the Pennsylvania Room, or call the Museum at: (814) 355-1516.
Immigration and Passenger Lists
Passenger lists can tell you when an ancestor arrived in this country. Often they also include information about the person's port of origin (where they came from), and their final destination (where they intend to settle). They may also include information on ethnicity, marital status, relatives, and occupation. The bibliographies listed below will help you identify if a passenger list was created for the time period and region you are interested in.
A Bibliography of Ship Passenger Lists, 1538-1835 (find in the CAT), Call # Z7164.I3L2 1963, Pattee - Stacks 2
Passenger and Immigration Lists Bibliography, 1538-1900: Being a Guide to Published Lists of Arrivals in the United States and Canada (find in the CAT), Call #Z5313.U5F54 1988, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection
Passenger and Immigration Lists Index: A Guide to Published Arrival Records of About 500,000 Passengers who Came to the United States and Canada in the 17th, 18th and 19th Centuries (find in the CAT), Call #CS68.F54 v.1-v.3, Pattee Stacks BA
Emigrants to Pennsylvania, 1641-1819: A Consolidation of Ship Passenger Lists from the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (find in the CAT), Call #F152.T35, Pattee Stacks Level 1
Germans to America: A List of Passengers Arriving at U.S. Ports, 1850-1893 (ongoing)
(find in the CAT), Call #E184.G3G38, Arts and Humanities Reference Collection, Pattee Level 2
Italians to America: A List of Passengers Arriving at U.S. Ports, 1880-1899 (find in the CAT), Call #E184.I8I844 1992, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection
Persons Naturalized in the Province of Pennsylvania, 1740-1773 (find in the CAT), Call #F152.P33, Pattee Stacks Level 1
Ship Passenger lists. Pennsylvania and Delaware (1641-1825) (find in the CAT), Call #CS68.B75 v.4, Pattee Stacks Level 1
Centre County Naturalization Records, 1802-1929
The Centre County Historic Records Imaging Project is reproducing images of Naturalization Records from 1802-1929 as well as Slave Records from 1803-1820
Ellis Island
Contains images of passenger lists and ships process through Ellis Island. The images are searchable by name
Genealogy Magazines and Journals
The publications below contain information of interest to genealogists. They often contain descriptions of ongoing projects and are a good way to discover otherwise hidden resources. Browsing current issues is a good way to get a sense of what is currently being done by other researchers.
New England Historical and Genealogical Register (find in the CAT)
Call #F1 .N56. Pattee Stacks Level 1 Current Issues in Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Current Periodicals
Notes and Queries: Historical, Biographical, and Genealogical Relating Chiefly to Interior Pennsylvania (find in the CAT), Call #F146 .N92 Pattee Stacks Level 1
Pennsylvania Genealogical Magazine (find in the CAT)
Call #F146.G32. Pattee Stacks Level 1 Current Issues in Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Current Periodicals
Pennsylvania Heritage (find in the CAT)
Call #F146.P35. Pattee Stacks Level 1 Current Issues in Arts and Humanities Reading Room, Pattee West Wing, Level 2
Pennsylvania History (find in the CAT)
Call #F146.P597 Pattee Stacks Level 1 Current Issues in Arts and Humanities Reading Room Pattee West Wing, Level 2
Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (find in the CAT)
Call #F146.P65 Pattee Stacks Level 1 Current Issues in Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Current Periodicals
Guides to Contents of Genealogy Periodicals
The sources below will help you locate articles on particular topics or individuals within genealogical publications.
Genealogical Periodical Annual Index (find in the CAT)
Call #CS42.G467, Arts and Humanities Reference Collection, Pattee Level 2
Genealogies of Pennsylvania Families: From the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (find in the CAT), Call # F148.G46, Pattee - Stacks 1
Pennsylvania Vital Records: From the Pennsylvania Genealogical Magazine and the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (find in the CAT), Call # F148.P48 1983, Pattee - Stacks 1
Periodical Source Index (find in the CAT)
Call #CS1.P47 1986, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection
City Directories
City Directories are a way to verify that an ancestor resided in a particular location at a particular time. Besides listing people many of the early directories provided occupations and addresses. Directories can also be useful for tracking down institutions such as churches, schools, benevolent and city offices.
City Directories of the United States Through 1860 (find in the CAT), News and Microforms Library, Call # Micro 4 CDUS
City Directories of the United States, 1861-1881 (find in the CAT), News and Microforms Library, Call # Microfilm D265.N48A43
In addition to the microform collections above the library has some city directories and registers in paper. The easiest way to search for these is to use The CAT, the library's online catalog. Do a keyword search on the name of the city and directories, e.g. Altoona and directories. If you retrieve too many matches, try limiting your search by a range of years. This will eliminate more current directories.
Church Records
Church records can be extremely valuable for documenting family events such as baptisms, marriages, and deaths that may have gone unrecorded in other sources. This is especially true for earlier time periods before the state assumed the role of issuing marriage licenses and birth and death certificates. Unfortunately, church records can be difficult to obtain. Often they reside in scattered denominational archives. Many denominations have merged with larger organization or changed since their founding. The first step, then is determining which denomination your ancestors were involved in, and then discovering where they may have their archival records. A useful web site describing the history of religious groups in Centre County can be found at the Rootsweb site.
Catholic Vital records of Central Pennsylvania (find in the CAT), Call #F148.L43 1993, Pattee Stacks Level 1
Genealogical Resources in Pattee Library, The Pennsylvania State University, with Special Reference to Pennsylvania (find in the CAT), Call #Z5313.U6P47, Arts and Humanities Reference Collection, Pattee Level 2, als Special Collections, 1st Floor Paterno, and Microforms, Ground Floor, West Pattee. This source lists church records in the Penn State libraries by county.
Check List of Genealogical Records of Pennsylvania Churches Contained in the Beaver Collection, Pattee Library (find in the CAT), Call #Z688.G3K6, Arts and Humanities Library, Pattee Level 2
Directory of Religious Organization in the United States (find in the CAT), Call #BL2530.U6 D57. Most recent edition kept in the Arts and Humanities Reference Desk Collection, Pattee Level 2. This directory provides contact information for religious organizations.
Military Records
The sources below can be used to obtain information about an ancestor's military service. The amount of information varies. Some merely provide verification of enlistment, others give length of duty, and rank information, while the 1890 census provides address information for Civil War Veterans surveyed. For a fuller description of the types of military records available see the Pennsylvania State Archives Web Page.
Centre County Revolutionary War Declarations, 1820-1835 (Online database) The Centre County Historic Records Imaging Project is reproducing images of Revolutionary War Declarations from 1820-1835
Pennsylvania in the War of the War of the Revolution: Associated Battalions and Militia, 1775-1783, MICRO 4, News and Microforms Library, Ground Floor West Pattee
Civil War and Regimental Histories, Call # 973.744, Dewey Stacks, Pattee Level 2. Approximately 50 volumes on various units
Archives of Pennsylvania
Call # 974.8P3a, Dewey Stacks, Pattee Level 2. Contains in 138 volumes published records from two sources, "Colonial Records" and Pennsylvania Archives. Among the records included are lists of Revolutionary War and War of 1812 soldiers. For a more complete description of the collection see the Guide to the Published Archives of Pennsylvania..., Call #974.8P3Index, Dewey Stacks, Pattee Level 2, also F146.P432, Pattee Stacks Level 1.
A Bibliography of Military Name Lists from pre-1675 to 1900: A Guide to Genealogical Research, Call # Z5313.U5H67 1990, Pattee Stacks Level 2
Record of Pennsylvania Volunteers in the Spanish-American War, 1898, Call # 973.894P3r, Library Annex. Request at Service Desk
Eleventh Census of the United States, 1890. Pennsylvania: Schedules Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War, Call # Microfilm D22a, News and Microforms Library, Ground Floor West Pattee. Note: most of the 1890 population Census schedules were destroyed by fire.
Pennsylvania Scrap Book Necrology, (Obituaries from circa 1891-1904, mostly of PA Civil War veterans)
History of Pennsylvania volunteers, 1861-5. Call # E527.B32, Rare Books and Special Collections Library, 1st Floor Paterno; also ONLINE
Supplement to the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies. Call # E464.U62 1994, Pattee Stacks Level 1. Contains information left out of the original Official Records (see "War of the Rebellion" below)
The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies. Call # E464.U6 1985, Pattee Stacks Level 1A; also available ONLINE. Also on CD-ROM, E464.C51997b, Music and Media Center, 2nd Floor West Pattee Library. Also see the Supplement to the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies described above
The Pennsylvania Historical Museum and Commission is creating an online archive called ARIAS (Archives Records Information Access System). The system contains records from the Revolutionary War Military Abstract Card File, World War I Service Medal Application Cards, Spanish American War Veterans' Card File of United States Volunteers, Civil War Veterans' Card File, and the Mexican Border Campaign Veterans' Card File
Selected Web Sites
Good Places to Start
Glossary of Genealogy Terms
Contains brief definitions of terms often used in genealogical research
Ancestry.com
Offers online searching of various genealogical databases. Some records can be viewed for free, but many, including the Census materials, require the payment of a membership fee for access.
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Probably the largest collection of links relating to genealogy. A good place to start to see what is available online
RootsWeb
A free site devoted to helping genealogists. Includes online guides to research, volunteer created lists and databases, discussion boards for questions, and links to related sites
Pennsylvania Resources
Centre County Historic Records Imaging Project
This site allows you to search by name and view scanned images from the following files: Naturalization Records 1802-1929, Revolutionary War Declarations 1820-1835, Slave Records 1803-1820
Facilities for Genealogical Research in Pennsylvania
A list of societies by county that assist genealogists
Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania
The Society is especially strong in Philadelphia resources. The society conducts records searches for a fee.
Historic Pittsburgh
A digital history collection, including maps, county histories, and Census materials for Pittsburgh and Allegheny County
The Pennsylvania Federation of Museums and Historical Organizations
Maintains a directory of County Historical Societies of Pennsylvania
National Archives and Records Administration: Genealogy Page
This site contains much useful information about federal records and how they can be used for genealogy
Pennsylvania County Histories Online
Pennsylvania Digital Archives
The Pennsylvania Historical Museum and Commission is creating an online database of records including records from the Revolutionary War Military Abstract Card File, World War I Service Medal Application Cards, Spanish American War Veterans' Card File of United States Volunteers, Civil War Veterans' Card File, and the Mexican Border Campaign Veterans' Card File.
Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
A statewide digitization service on behalf of the Office of Commonwealth Libraries using the CONTENTdm software product licensed through OCLC. The service permits the storage and retrieval of digitized collections created by libraries and other entities located throughout Pennsylvania
General Resources
Family Search
The web site of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah is the world's largest repository of genealogy records. Materials from the Utah collection can be requested on loan from the closest Family History Center. The Family Search web site has a directory of the Family History Centers.
National Archives Genealogy Page
Social Security Death Index
This searchable index is available from many site including Rootsweb.com, Genealogy.com (part of Family Finder), or Ancestry.com
USGenWeb Project
A volunteer project to make useful material available online for every county in the U.S. Two major projects are inputting Census records, and transcribing tombstones.
See also the web pages of the organizations below for additional suggestions for places to search
Other Genealogy Collections and Contacts
Centre County Genealogical Society
Holds monthly meetings, and publishes numerous guides to aid genealogists. Their web site provides information about becoming a member. You can also write them at: PO Box 1135, State College, PA 16804-1135
Centre County Library & Historical Museum
The Pennsylvania Room of the Centre County Library and Museum focuses on Centre County and Pennsylvania history and genealogy. It has a specialized collection of over 3000 volumes devoted exclusively to these topics, as well as original Centre County records, newspapers, vertical files containing items of historical and genealogical interest, and various historical and genealogical periodicals. You can visit the Library & Museum at:
203 N. Allegheny Street
Bellefonte, PA 16823
(814) 355-1516
Centre County Government
The web site contains information on how to contact Centre County government agencies including the Recorder of Wills and the Clerk of the Orphan's Court. Some records are being added to the web site through the Historic Records Imaging Project.
Family History Centers (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints)
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints maintains a number of Family History Centers. The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah is the world's largest repository of genealogy records. Materials from the Utah collection can be requested on loan from the closest Family History Center. The Family Search web site has a directory of the Family History Centers. The nearest Center to the library is at 842 Whitehall Road, State College. The Center's mailing address is: 1761 Circleville Rd., State College, PA 16803. Telephone: 814-237-9048. The general public is welcome to use the Center. Reference assistance is available from library volunteers.
National Archives Mid Atlantic Region, Philadelphia
900 Market Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107-4292
Phone: 215 597-3000
E-mail: philadelphia.archives@nara.gov
Fax: 215-597-2303
Maintains archival records from Federal agencies and courts in Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia
Pennsylvania State Archives
Contain official state records and other archival documents. The Archive library is open to the public Tuesday-Friday, 9:00 am to 4:00 pm; and Saturday 9:00 to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm, excluding State holidays. For general information about the collection and services see their web page for Genealogists. For a more detailed guide to the Pennsylvania State Archives consult: A Guide to Genealogical Resources at the Pennsylvania State Archives, Call # F148.D7, Pattee Stacks Level 1
State Library of Pennsylvania (Harrisburg, PA)
Maintains a online guide to genealogical research, and has copies of the U.S. Census materials for Pennsylvania.
Visiting the Library
It is not always necessary to visit the library in person in order to determine if we have what you are looking for. You can search for materials in the library's collections from anywhere in the world. Simply go to the library's home page (http://www.libraries.psu.edu), and select databases, then The CAT. The CAT is the library's online card catalog. The CAT does not contain the full-text of library materials, but it does allow you to search for what we own by author, title, or subjects.
Search
Contact
Eric Novotny
History Librarian
Arts & Humanities Library
W321 Pattee Library
Penn State University
814-865-1014
ecn1@psu.edu
Services for History Researchers
or Your Campus Librarian.
