- Article Databases
- Books, E-Books, and Book Reviews
- Primary Sources
- Biographical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Dates, Facts and Terms (Subject Encyclopedias and Dictionaries)
- Historical Statistics
- Maps and Atlases
- Web Resources
- Specific Topics in History
Article Databases
Use the databases below to find articles and other works on your topic. Additional non-article databases are listed in other sections of this guide.
America: History and Life ![]()
The main database for findings articles and other works about U.S. and Canadian history
Bibliography of Asian Studies ![]()
Covers all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia
Chinese Journals Full-Text (CNKI) ![]()
Offers full-text from more than 300 journals published in China. Input in Chinese characters is recommended for best results
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender ![]()
Use to find articles, reviews, and essays about women, sexuality, and gender in the Middle Ages
FRANCIS ![]()
A multilingual database covering the humanities and social sciences. Good coverage of French and Western European sources
Handbook of Latin American Studies ![]()
Lists works selected by scholars from around the world for inclusion in the Handbook
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index ![]()
Use to find articles and other materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States
History of Science, Technology and Medicine ![]()
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields
Historical Abstracts ![]()
Find articles and other materials dealing with world history for the period 1450 to the present
History Cooperative ![]()
Full text of history journals from the Organization of American Historians and other sources
IBZ: International Bibliography of Periodical Literature ![]()
Covers research from all fields, particularly the humanities and the social sciences. It is international in scope, with an emphasis on scholarship from Germany and the European continent
IDZ: Index of German Journals, 1750-1815 ![]()
Includes links to some full-text from the project "Retrospective Digitalization of Scientific Reviews and Literary Periodicals of the 18th and 19th Century from German Speaking Regions"
IIBP Full-Text (International Index to Black Periodicals) ![]()
Covers international scholarly and popular sources in the field of Black Studies
Index Islamicus ![]()
Use to find publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world
International Medieval Bibliography ![]()
Find articles and other materials dealing with the period from 400 to 1500
ITER; Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance ![]()
Use to find information on topics pertaining to the period 400 to 1700AD
Muse ![]()
Full-text of scholarly journals, including many key history journals
JSTOR ![]()
Full-text archive of scholarly journals many fields, including dozens of core history journals
Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies ![]()
Digital archive of the journal of the Pennsylvania Historical Association
Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography ![]()
Digital archive of the scholarly journal published by The Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Periodicals Archive Online ![]()
Similar to JSTOR, the archive provides full-text of back issue of academic journals
Periodicals Index Online ![]()
A unique resource this database provides table of contents for back volumes of thousands of scholarly journals. Use to discover earlier scholarship that may not be in more current databases
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 ![]()
Letters, memoirs, posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and other documents from the sixties and early seventies.
Western Pennsylvania History ![]()
Digital archive of the journal currently published by the Senator John Heinz History Center
Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Gerritsen) ![]()
Full text books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights up to 1945
Women's Studies International ![]()
Search across ten key databases in Women's Studies
Books, E-Books, and Book Reviews
Books and other materials including CDs, DVDS, and more, can be found using the library's online catalog, The CAT. For more information on searching The CAT consult our Online Guide to the CAT.
If Penn State does not have what you want, use the databases on our Materials NOT at Penn State page to search and request materials from libraries worldwide. For more information about obtaining materials from other libraries see our Interlibrary Loan FAQ.
E-Books
Many historical books have been scanned and are available online. To search inside Books, use the E-Books page which contains links to databases and websites that offer full-text of historical works. A few examples:
- Google Books Full-text of millions of books scanned from library collections. Books published before 1923 can be freely viewed online. More recent works may have limits on access.
- Open Library Aims to create one web page for every book ever published. Contains descriptions of over 30 million books, with over one million available as full-text.
- PA's Past: Digital Bookshelf Online works pertaining to Pennsylvania history.
Book Reviews
Many history databases include book reviews for the fields they cover. Additional sources can be found on our Book Reviews guide.
Primary Sources
Primary Sources
- Primary Sources Databases
- Primary Sources in the Penn State Libraries - Print and Microforms
- Access to Archives and Manuscripts not at Penn State
Primary sources are created around the time of an event, or by someone who witnessed the event. Examples include newspapers, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, etc... For advice on finding and evaluating primary sources on the Internet, see Using Primary Sources on the Web.
Primary Source Databases
In addition to the sources below, the following webpages also list many primary source databases.
- Historical Newspapers (includes online databases, plus historical news in other formats)
- Historical E-Book Collections (digital versions of early books)
- Digitized Collections at Penn State (Digital content developed by the Penn State Libraries)
American Broadsides and Ephemera ![]()
Broadsides created from 1820 to 1900 and printed ephemera from between 1760 and 1900
CHANT - Chinese Ancient Texts ![]()
Full-text of early Chinese texts
Civil War Letters and Diaries ![]()
Full-text of writings from over 400 authors, as well as related materials
CQ Historic Documents Series ![]()
Primary sources covering current events around the world from 1972 to present
Declassified Documents Reference System ![]()
Provides online access to previously classified U.S. government documents
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts ![]()
Seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation ![]()
Full-text of key works from the 16th and 17th centuries
Digital National Security Archive ![]()
Texts of declassified documents regarding major U.S. policy decisions
Empire Online, 1492-1969 ![]()
Original documents on the history of exploration and colonialism. Emphasis on the British Empire
Making of Modern Law ![]()
Anglo-American legal treatises from 1800-1926
North American Women: Letters and Diaries ![]()
Letters and diaries from Colonial times to around 1950
Serial Set (United States) ![]()
Full-text of government publications, including congressional reports, executive and department reports and other documents ordered printed by Congress
U.S. Supreme Court: Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 ![]()
Includes appellant and appellee briefs, amicus briefs, petitions, trial transcripts, and more
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 ![]()
Documents and essays on U.S. women’s social movements from colonial times to the present
Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Gerritsen)
Full text books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights up to 1945
PRIMARY SOURCES IN THE PENN STATE LIBRARIES
MANY primary sources are not online. Use The CAT to find early printed books, government documents, maps, videotapes, sound recordings, music scores and many other types of materials. Limit your CAT search by date to find documents produced near the time of the event you are researching.
- The Special Collections Library contains original primary source documents. Many of these can be found in The CAT, but others are not yet listed
- The News and Microforms Library contains primary source documents in microformat (microfilm, fiche, etc...)
Below are some keywords you can use in The CAT to locate published primary documents:
- Sources (combine with other keywords for document collections, e.g. Middle Ages and sources)
- Eyewitness or Personal Narratives (French Revolution and eyewitness)
- Letters or Correspondence (add an author's name, e.g. Benjamin Franklin and correspondence)
- Diaries/Diary (Works best with the author's name, e.g. Diary and Anne Frank)
- Documents or Documentary (combine with a topic, e.g. documentary history and Women)
Collections of Primary Source Documents Not at Penn State
Personal papers and other unpublished primary sources can usually only be accessed at the library or archive holding the original documents. These databases and websites will help you discover collections in other libraries, historical societies, and archives.
ArchiveGrid ![]()
Descriptive records and detailed finding guides for archival and manuscript collections in U.S. and international institutions.
Archives USA
A directory and subject listing of archival and manuscript repositories
WorldCat (OCLC)
Access to descriptive records of archival and manuscript collections in the OCLC database
Repositories of Primary Resources (University of Idaho)
Provides links to over 5,300 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary resources
Ready, ’Net, Go! Archival Internet Resources
Includes links to archival Web pages, international archival portals, and archival search engines
Biographical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias provide brief essays on historical figures. They are similar in scope to Wikipedia entries, but are written by authorities in the field.
American National Biography Online ![]()
Biographical essays on men and women whose lives shaped the nation
Biography and Genealogy Master Index ![]()
Search for brief biographies published in hundreds of specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries. Use The CAT to find which we own at Penn State.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography ![]()
Biographies of noteworthy men and women who shaped Britain's past.
Dates, Facts and Terms (Subject Encyclopedias and Dictionaries)
Subject encyclopedias are good places to start on your exploration of a topic. They feature brief essays on historical themes, people, places, and events. The essays are similar in scope to Wikipedia entries, but are written by authorities in the field. They will guide you to key articles and books on your topic, and supply important names, dates, and terms that can help you make informed decisions as you progress with your research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library ![]()
Full-text of hundreds of subject encyclopedias, including dozens of history titles. An excellent starting point for many historical topics
Encyclopaedia of Islam ![]()
The major reference resource in the field. "Islam" is broadly defined to include Islamic culture, history, geography, literature, politics, etc....
Encyclopedia of American Studies ![]()
Essays on the American experience from precolonial times to the present
JapanKnowledge ![]()
Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases. Most of the materials are in Japanese.
Oxford African American Studies ![]()
Essays by scholars with some multimedia content, primary sources, and a historical timeline
Oxford Reference Online ![]()
Facts, figures, and definitions from reference works published by Oxford University Press
In addition to online reference databases, the library also has an extensive collection of print resources. A few examples are below, but there are far too many to list. If you are not finding what you need use the contact information on the right sidebar and ask for help!
Dictionary of Historical Terms (find in the CAT)
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing (find in the CAT)
Encyclopedia of World History (find in the CAT)
Timetables of History: a Horizontal Linkage of People and Events (find in the CAT)
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide (find in the CAT)
Historical Statistics
As you read books and articles you will probably encounter statistics. The sources below can help you locate additional statistics, everything from the population of London in 1780 to the amount of wheat grown in Nigeria.
LexisNexis Statistical ![]()
Search for statistics published by the federal government (ASI), state organizations and companies (SRI), or international and inter-governmental agencies (IIS)
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878 - the most comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States (Millennium Edition) ![]()
Compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources
International Statistics
A list of links to online collections of international statistics. These sources tend to be strongest for the decades after World War II. For earlier years, we have statistical compendiums in print:
International Historical Statistics, Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-1993 (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call #HA4675.M55 1995, Business Reference Collection, 3rd Floor Paterno
International Historical Statistics, Europe, 1750-2000 (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call #HA1107.M5 2003, Social Sciences Reference Collection, 2nd Floor Paterno
International Historical Statistics, the Americas, 1750-2000 (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call #HA1755.M55 2003, Social Sciences Reference Collection, 2nd Floor Paterno
For more, try our Statistics page, or use the contact information on the right sidebar to ask for help!
Maps and Atlases
Atlases are collections of maps, usually accompanied by text and centered around a theme. There are atlases on topics relating to political history, migration, population, economic conditions, etc...
The majority of the maps and atlases can be located in the Maps Library, B-level Paterno. A few examples are listed here.
Oxford Atlas of World History (find in the CAT)
Times Atlas of World History (find in the CAT)
Atlas of World Population History (find in the CAT)
Historical Atlas of Islam (find in the CAT)
Atlas of Medieval Europe (find in the CAT)
Atlas of Slavery (find in the CAT)
Web Resources
Major Collections of Primary Sources
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
- EuroDocs: Western European Primary Historical Documents
- Gallica: Digital Library of the National Library of France
- Making of America: 19th c. books and magazines
History Subject Directories
Subject directories provide selected lists of sites. They can be useful to browse to get an overview of the resources on your topic.
Subject directories are useful when you are interested in seeing a broad variety of sources on your topic. Some subject directories include annotations and evaluations of sites. Useful subject directories for history include:
- History Matters: The U.S. Survey on the Web
- History Guide
- World Wide Virtual Library: History
Not sure about the value of something you've found on the web? Try this guide to Evaluating historical sources on the web
Specific Topics in History
Search
Contact
Eric Novotny
History Librarian
Arts & Humanities Library
W321 Pattee Library
Penn State University
814-865-1014
ecn1@psu.edu
Services for History Researchers
or Your Campus Librarian.
