Databases
Academic Universe/Lexis-Nexis
This database provides full text articles from a wide range of newspapers and magazines. It is updated daily. If you choose "Non-English news" you can search for and retrieve full-text articles in Spanish from around the world.
AnthroSource
CIAO Database of International Affairs
eHRAF Collection of Archaeology
eHRAF World Cultures (formerly Collection of Ethnography)
HAPI Hispanic American Periodical Index
Historical Abstracts
MLA Bibliography
Social Sciences Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
UN Statistics (UNSTATS)
LANIC, the Latin American Network Information Center, offers a list of useful web pages for all Latin American countries, organized by country or subject. Hosted by the University of Texas.
Library of Congress Portals to the World: Iberia, the Caribbean and Latin America.
Books
The CAT - Find Books and Other Materials at Penn State
Here are some hints for search the CAT for Latin American studies resources.
- Since Latin American Studies is interdisciplinary, related materials are scattered throughout our holdings. The material is organized by subject. That is, material on Latin American economics will be found in our economics collection, Latin American novels in our literature collection, and so forth.
- The most efficient way of searching is to use two search terms and the Detailed Search page.
- example: Brazil and slavery
- When you find a useful book, take note of the subject headings. Clicking on those subject headings will take you to additional books on the subject.
Journals
Web Links
This is a selected list of scholarly and news sites of value to researchers and students in Latin American Studies. New links will be added regularly.
- Mexican Migration Project, an interdisciplinary site about Mexican-US migration.
- LANIC is a comprehensive guide to online material and databases in and about the Latin American and Caribbean countries. Links are organized by country as well as by subject areas. Subject areas range from the African Diaspora, Cinema and Agriculture to Business and Finance to Sports and Immigration.
- LANIC now also includes the LANIC Newsroom.
- Resources for Locating and Evaluating Latin American Videos
- LASA, the Latin American Studies Association site, includes LASA Papers Online.
- The Latin American Database Online is an Internet-based news service in English about Latin America.
- The Political Database of the Americas, a joint Georgetown University-OAS project.
- The Latin American Jewish Studies Association
- Latin American and Caribbean Government Documents Project alerts users to the locations and contents of Latin American government sites on the WWW.
- The University of New Mexico's La Guia Nueva, a guide to using the Internet for Latin American Studies.
- A list of links to Luso-Afro-Brazilian culture. See also the AfroCubaWeb and the African Diaspora links on LANIC.
- There is an extensive list of links organized by subject at the University of Nebraska
- Latin American Studies Association
Reference
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. Edited by Barbara A. Tenenbaum. New York: Scribners & Sons, 1996. F1406.E531996, Vols. 1-5
Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. Dirigido por Ricardo Gullón. Madrid: Editorial Alianza, 1993. PQ6006.D6
Biographical dictionary of Hispanic literature in the United States, the literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Hispanic writers. Edited by Nicolas Kanellos. New York, Greenwood Press, 1989. PQ7420.2.K3 1989
Latin America, a political dictionary. Ernest E. Rossi, Jack C. Plano. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-Clio, c1992. F1406.R67 1992
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. General editors: Simon Collier, Harold Blakemore, Thomas E. Skidmore. 2nd ed. Cambridge [England]; New York, Cambridge University Press, 1992. Latin America -- F1406.C36 1992
The United States in Latin America, a historical dictionary. David Shavit. New York, Greenwood Press, 1992. F1418.S494 1992
Handbooks and Guides
Handbook of Latin American literature. Compiler: David William Foster. 2nd Edition. New York, Garland Pub., 1992. PQ7081.A1H36 1992
Handbook of Hispanic cultures in the United States. General editors: Nicolas Kanellos, Claudio Esteva-Fabregat. Houston, Tex., Arte Publico Press; Madrid, Spain, Instituto de Cooperacion Iberoamericana, c1993-c1994. E184.S75H365 1993
Masterpieces of Latino literature. Edited by Frank N. Magill. 1st ed. New York, NY, HarperCollins, c1994. PQ7081.A1M29 1994
The Cambridge history of Latin America. Edited by Leslie Bethell. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]; New York, Cambridge University Press, 1984-. F1410.C1834 1984 Central Pattee Level 3 Blue, v.1-v.6 pt.2, v.7-v.8, v.10, v.11
Latin America and the Caribbean, a critical guide to research sources. Edited by Paula H. Covington, David Block [et al.],New York, Greenwood Press, 1992. F1408.L3225 1992
Indexes to Periodicals
Handbook of Latin American Studies. Prepared by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Available in print: Call no.: Z1605 .H23 PATTEE - Stacks 2, no.1 1935-To Date. Latest 5 years in Arts and Humanities, Reference Collection. Also available online at the Library of Congress as HLAS Online.
HAPI, Hispanic American periodicals index. 1970/74 -. Los Angeles, UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California. Z1605.H4901 Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection 1970-To Date.
Bibliographies
Film in Latin America: A Selective Bibliography, 1999. Compiled by Marianne Siegmund, Brigham Young University.
De identidades: María Luisa Bemberg, filmografía y bibliografía. Por Lourdes Vázquez, Latin America, Africa and Anthropology Librarian Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.
Search
Contact
Arts & Humanities Library
W331 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-863-1382
Fax: 814-863-7502
E-Mail: rus21@psu.edu
or Your Campus Librarian.
