Articles and Databases
This database lets you search museum collections for paintings, sculpture, and other works of art from all areas of the world and all periods of history.
ProQuest
Books
The CAT - Find Books and Other Materials at Penn State.
Subject headings for locating materials on classical mythology:
Try the "browse" search using these general subject headings:
- Mythology, Classical
- Mythology, Greek
- Mythology, Roman
Some mythological characters and themes have their own subject headings; for example:
- Achilles (Greek mythology)
- Aeneas (Legendary character)
- Jupiter (Roman deity)
- Zeus (Greek deity)
Reference
The following reference works not only offer basic information on specific topics, but are also useful starting points for more advanced research. Check The Cat for more information.
For general information on the classical world and on classical literature:
The Oxford classical dictionary, 3rd edition. Ready Ref DE5.O9 1996
This is the single most important reference source for basic information on all areas of classical antiquity. Try searching the Cat for works listed in the bibliographies of individual articles.
The Oxford companion to classical literature. Ref PA31.H69 1989
This book is a helpful introduction to the authors, works, genres, and themes of classical literature.
For information on classical mythology:
Dictionary of classical mythology. Ref BL715.G713 1986
Encyclopedia of ancient deities. Ref BL782.C67 2000
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman mythology. Ref BL715.D56 1998
All three of these works offer basic information on deities, characters, and themes in classical mythology.
Athena: classical mythology (CD-ROM). Music and Media Center BL715.A86 1995
This database of classical myth and literature offers descriptive information on mythical characters, summaries of myths, and full text English prose translations.
Finding Art Works
Mythological and classical world art index…1200 BC to 1900 AD. Ref N7760.R63 1991
Oxford guide to classical mythology in the arts, 1300-1900s. Ready Ref NX650.M9R45 v.1-2, 1993
These two sources identify paintings, sculptures, and other works of art depicting specific mythical characters and themes. They also provide bibliographic data for locating published reproductions of cited works of art. Search citations in the Cat to locate works at Penn State.
Lexicon iconographicum mythologicae classicae (LIMC). Ref. NX650.L48 (multiple volumes)
Don't let the Latin title frighten you! Like the two works above, this multilingual dictionary identifies works of art featuring mythological motifs.
Web Links
Encyclopedia mythica: An international group of scholars in the areas of classics, archaeology, anthropology, literature, and religious studies offers this free online encyclopedia of mythology.
Palmer Museum of Art: Explore the Museum's resources online.
University Libraries/Research Tools: Provides access to The CAT and other library resources.
Ask! Chat in real time with a reference librarian, email a reference question, other library services.
Search
Contact
Arts & Humanities Library
W327 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-6779
Fax: 814-863-7502
or Your Campus Librarian.
