Articles and Databases
Année philologique 1969-present
- Primarily classical Greece and Rome , with some coverage of the ancient Near East
- Language, literature, history, art, archaeology, philosophy, and religion
- Strong coverage of European scholarship
- Covers journal articles, books, chapters, and collections
- “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online (link listed as sfx )
FRANCIS 1984-present
- Covers range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences
- Strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
- Wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports
IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur 1984-present
- Indexes multidisciplinary journals with a strong European content
- Indexes European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences
- Full-text, full-image archive of journals in a various humanities and social sciences disciplines, including many journals in classical literature and archaeology
- Some content back to the nineteenth century
- Content excludes the most recent three to five years
TOCS-IN: Tables of Content of Journals of Interest to Classicists
- Journals in classics, religious studies, and the ancient Near East
- Indexes about 160 journals and some collections of articles, such as Festschriften
- Free resource offered by CHASS (Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Toronto )
Books
Find books and other materials at Penn State by searching in The CAT. Begin your search by choosing the BROWSE page to search by title, or the KEYWORD page to search for books on your topic. For more info on searching The CAT, click here.
Note: Greek literature exists in numerous other editions and translations. Always check with your professor to see if a specific edition or translation is required.Dictionaries
The Oxford classical dictionary 3rd ed. rev.
UP Copy: Call # DE5.O9 2003, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference
English-Greek dictionary: a vocabulary of the Attic language
UP Copy: Call # PA445.E5W6 1932, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference
A Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament and other early Christian literature, 3rd ed.
UP Copy: Call # PA881.B38 2000, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference.
Greek lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine periods: from B.C. 146 to A.D. 1100
UP Copy: Call # PA1125.S7 1957 v.1-v.2, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection
Electronic Texts
TLG: Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Full text date base of primary sources covering Greek literature from Homer (eighth century BCE) until the closing of the Academy (sixth century CE). The TLG is also available on CD-ROM: UP Copy: Call # PA3405.T494 CD-ROM.E 1999, Arts & Humanities, West Pattee 2nd Flr-Music & Media Center .
Greek and Latin texts, archaeology, and art, and other humanities resources, from Tufts University .
Perseus 2.0
Comprehensive ed., platform-independent version on CD-ROM.
UP Copy: Call # DF77.P46 2000, Arts & Humanities, West Pattee 2nd Flr-Music & Media Center.
Secondary Sources
Ancient Greek authors
UP Copy: Call # PS221.D5 v.176, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection.
Ancient writers: Greece and Rome
UP Copy: Call # PA3002.A5 1982, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference .
Gwinup, Thomas, and Fidelia Dickinson. Greek and Roman authors: a checklist of criticism, 2nd ed. UP Copy: Call # Z7016.G9 1982, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection.
Note: You can also search The CAT for history and criticism of genres, authors and works; for example:
- Epic poetry, Greek--Criticism, textual
- Greek drama (Tragedy)--History and criticism
- Plato. Symposium
- Thucydides--Criticism and interpretation
Web Links
Ancient History Sourcebook. This site focuses on online texts, which, for the most part, means public domain texts translated more than 75 years ago.
Perseus Project: Greek and Latin texts, archaeology, and art, and other humanities resources, from Tufts University .
Search
Contact
Arts & Humanities Library
W327 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-6779
Fax: 814-863-7502
or Your Campus Librarian.
