E-Resources
The MLA Bibliography (1963-present)
- Worldwide index of references to journal articles, dissertations, books, and parts of books pertaining to all literatures, folklore, film, drama, language, and linguistics
- Covers over 300 sources in both English and foreign languages
- “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online
- Full-text, full-image archive of journals in a various humanities and social sciences disciplines, including many journals in classical literature and archaeology
- Some content back to the nineteenth century
- Content excludes the most recent three to five years
- Covers range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences
- Strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
- Wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973-present)
- Covers the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics
- Abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online
Books
TheCAT - Find Books and Other Materials at Penn State
You can search TheCAT by entering book titles or authors' names. Authors' names should be listed in TheCAT according to standard French usage and titles should be entered without the initial article (le, la, les).
Examples: Gide, Andre -or- retour de l'enfant prodigue
To do a subject search, it is important to know the LC subject headings. You can also "Browse" by subject headings. Examples of useful subject headings:
- French literature
- French literature -- 16th century
- Short stories, French -- History and criticism
Some Call Numbers for French Language and Literature
Numbers in the PC class for language:
PC2001-3761: French
PC2813-2898: Old French
PC3201-3366: Provencal (Old)
Numbers in the PN class for literature:
PN801-820: Romance literature
Numbers in the PQ class for literature:
PQ1-3999: French literature
PQ1-771: History and criticism
PQ1300-1595: Old French literature
PQ1600-2726: Modern literature
Reference Sources
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
ARTFUL Reference Collection
E-Collections
ARTFL (french literature)
ARTFL is a cooperative project of the Institut National de la Langue Française (INaLF) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and the Divisions of the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Chicago "The American and French Research on Treasury of the French Language" contains approximately 2000 texts. Included are French classics as well as non-fiction prose and technical writing. Small sections are devoted to medieval, renaissance, and seventeenth century texts with larger sections pertaining to the eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Topics such as literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy are also provided. In addition, there is a Provençal database consisting of 38 texts. Most texts are based on standard scholarly editions and include page references It includes several important historical dictionaries
Gallica
This is the multimedia online library of the Bibliothèque Nationale of France Over 80,000 fully digitized texts and 300,000 fully digitized images are available.
In its Parcours section, Gallica also provides thematic collections (Thèmes), including its Images of a Century series.
The collection includes the full text of the following periodicals:
- Annuaire Bulletin de la société de l'histoire de France 1834-1899
- Bibliothèque de l'Ecole des Chartes 1839-1899
- Bulletin de la Société d'anthropologie de Paris 1859-1919
- Journal de la Société des Américanistes 1896-1904
- L'Année Sociologique 1896-1912
- L'Européen, Journal de Morale et de Philosophie 1838
- L'Homme nouveau 1833
- L'Organisateur 1829-1831
- Le Devenir social 1895-1898
- Revue des Deux-Mondes 1829-1900
- Revue des Questions historiques 1866-1906
- Revue historique 1876-1910
Troubador and Early Occitan Literature
This resource is a list of links to literature of this era and region.
French Medieval Drama Database Project
Bibliographies of Adam de la Halle, Jour dou jugement, Bibliographie des miracle et mystères français, by Graham A. Runnalls, Le Corpus du théâtre religieux français by Graham A. Runnalls, and the manuscript of Jour dou jugement and Robin et Marion.
Textes de français ancien (TFA)
From the Laboratoire de Français Ancien (LFA) at the University of Ottawa, in collaboration with ARTFL A searchable collection of digitized texts from the 12th to the 15th centuries A complete bibliography of works online at this site is available.
The Charrette Project
"The Charrette project is a complex, scholarly, multi-media electronic archive containing a medieval manuscript tradition--that of Chrétien de Troyes's Le Chevalier de la Charrette (Lancelot, ca. 1180). It is developed and maintained by the Department of Romance Languages, Princeton University."
Textes électroniques clandestines du 18ième siecle
ABU: La Bibliothèque Universelle
"L'accès libre au texte intégral d'oeuvres du domaine public francophone sur Internet depuis 1993." This database, produced by the Association des Bibliophiles Universelles, is searchable by author, title, and keyword. They currently provide 281 texts by 98 authors. It includes a dictionary
Athena: Textes Français.
La C.E.T.E., Centre d'Edition des Textes Electroniques
Hosted by the Université de Nantes, this is a full text database of rare, unpublished, or out-of-print texts. It includes texts from the Middle Ages, the sixteenth century, Africa in the 19th century, memoirs and travel writings.
ATHENA Textes Français
A Swiss database that contains more than 2000 French-language texts in literature, philosophy, and science indexed by author or by title, for texts without a principal author. The site also contains a list of other French literature sites.
Poetry
Poésie française
A collection of more than 2800 French-language poems from 7 countries, dating from the Renaissance to the beginning of the 20th century. Poems can be searched by author, title, or verse.
Collected French Verse on the Bibliomania sitecontains original French language poetry indexed by author
Théâtre
Théâtrales
"... est une collection de textes et d'hypertextes en français sur le théâtre qui a été fondée le 1er mai 1995 par André G. Bourassa, professeur à l'Université de Québec à Montréal, et par Barry Russell, Visiting Fellow de l'Université Brookes d'Oxford, qui en assument tous deux la direction.
On y trouve:
- Bibliographie générale d'études théâtrales
- Par André G. Bourassa, numérisée par Barry Russell
- Chronologie générale du théâtre
- Par André G. Bourassa
- Corpus du Théâtre Religieux Français du Moyen Age
- Par Graham Runnalls et numérisé par Jesse Hurlbut
- Glossaire du théâtre
- Par André G. Bourassa, numérisé par Barry Russell
- Le théâtre de la foire à Paris
- Par Barry Russell
- Pièces jouées à Paris durant la Révolution Française
- Par Mark Olsen, Emmet Kennedy, Marie-Laurence Netter et Douglas McGregor
- Textes dramatiques
- Bibliothèque virtuelle d'hypertextes et de textes numérisés consacrés au théâtre français
- Théâtre-Québec. Pierres et plans pour la construction d'une histoire
- Dirigé par André G. Bourassa
Theory
Voice of the Shuttle Literary Theory Page
A valuable resource for scholarly humanities on the web, this list provides many links to articles about theory, time periods, and thinkers and to works by theoreticians.
Newspapers
PressDisplay
(choose information by country and get the recent newspapers)
LexisNexis Academic
(Select World News under Step One in "Guided News Search". The Source List for each region provides a brief description of each title and coverage details.)
Newsbank Electronic Image Newspapers
Current issues of key international newspapers in digital format.
World News Connection
Full-text daily summaries translated from many newspapers around the world, provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service.
French newspapers available in the News and Microforms Library (Ground Floor, West Pattee)
Le Canard enchaîné (Paris, France, in French)
Le Figaro (Paris, France, in French)
Le Monde (Paris, France, in French)
Le Monde diplomatique (Paris, France, in French)
Search
Contact
Arts & Humanities Library
W319 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-0660
Fax: 814-863-7502
or Your Campus Librarian.
