Articles and Databases
- MLA Bibliography (1963-present)
- Worldwide index of references to journal articles, dissertations, books, and parts of books pertaining to all literatures, folklore, film, drama, language, and linguistics
- Covers over 300 sources in both English and foreign languages
- “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online
- IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (1984-present)

- Indexes multidisciplinary journals with a strong European content
- Indexes European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences
- Full-text, full-image archive of journals in a various humanities and social sciences disciplines, including many journals in classical literature and archaeology
- Some content back to the nineteenth century
- Content excludes the most recent three to five years
- FRANCIS (1984-present)

- Covers range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences
- Strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
- Wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports
IDZ: Index of German Journals, 1750-1815
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973-present)

- Covers the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics
- Abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online
Books
TheCAT - Find Books and Other Materials at Penn State
You can search TheCAT by entering book titles or authors' names. Authors' names should be listed in TheCAT according to standard German usage and titles should be entered without the initial article (der, die, das).
Examples: Benjamin, Walter -or- leiden des jungen werther
To do a subject search, it is important to know the LC subject headings. You can also "Browse" by subject headings. Examples of useful subject headings:
- German literature
- German literature -- 20th century
- Short stories, German - Germany (East)
Some Call Numbers for German Language and Literature
Numbers in the PF class for language:
PF3001-5999: German
PF3801-3991: Old High German
PF4043-4350: Middle High German
Numbers in the PN class for literature:
PN821-840: Germanic literature
Numbers in the PT class for literature:
PT1-4897: German literature
PT83-873: History of German literature
PT1501-2688: Individual German authors or works
PT1891-2239: Goethe
PT3701-3746: East Germany
Reference Sources
Reference Guide to World Literature (Online via Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Oxford Duden German-English Dictionary. (Online via Past Masters)The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms. A&H Ref PN44.5.M86 2003
A Companion to German literature: from 1500 to the present. A&H Ref PT236.S55 1997
Encyclopedia of German literature. A&H Ref PT41.E53 2000 v.1-2
Literaturlexikon: Autoren und Werke deutscher Sprache. A&H Ref PT41.L57 1988 Bd.1-15
Nineteenth-century German writers to 1840. A&H Ref PS221.D5
Oxford Companion to German literature, 3rd ed. A&H Ready Ref PT41.G37 1997
Sachwörterbuch zur deutschen Literatur. A&H Ref PT41.M45 1999
Newspapers (German Language)
PressDisplay ![]()
(choose information by country and get the recent newspapers)
LexisNexis Academic ![]()
(Select World News under Step One in "Guided News Search". The Source List for each region provides a brief description of each title and coverage details.)
Newsbank Electronic Image Newspapers ![]()
Current issues of key international newspapers in digital format.
World News Connection ![]()
Full-text daily summaries translated from many newspapers around the world, provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service.
German newspapers available in the News and Microforms Library (Ground Floor, West Pattee )
Berliner Zeitung ( Berlin ).
Frankfurter Allgemeine (Frankfurt am Main).
Also available on Microfilm E226 (1966-.)
Frankfurter Rundschau (Frankfurt am Main).
Der Spiegel (Hamburg). O'Toole News Magazine Collection.
Also available on Microfilm F2090 (1989-.)
Süddeutsche Zeitung ( Munich ).
Die Zeit: Wochenzeitung für Politik, Wirtschaft, Handel und Kultur (Hamburg ).
Search
Contact
Dawn Childress
Arts & Humanities Library
W319 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-0660
Fax: 814-863-7502
