Skip to content

Articles and Databases

Année philologique 1969-present

  • Primarily classical Greece and Rome , with some coverage of the ancient Near East
  • Language, literature, history, art, archaeology, philosophy, and religion
  • Strong coverage of European scholarship
  • Covers journal articles, books, chapters, and collections
  • “Get It” feature will retrieve full text online (link listed as sfx )

FRANCIS 1984-present.

  • Covers range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences
  • Strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
  • Wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur 1984-present

  • Indexes multidisciplinary journals with a strong European content
  • Indexes European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences

JSTOR

  • Full-text, full-image archive of journals in a various humanities and social sciences disciplines, including many journals in classical literature and archaeology
  • Some content back to the nineteenth century
  • Content excludes the most recent three to five years

TOCS-IN: Tables of Content of Journals of Interest to Classicists

  • Journals in classics, religious studies, and the ancient Near East
  • Indexes about 160 journals and some collections of articles, such as Festschriften
  • Free resource offered by CHASS (Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Toronto )

Electronic Texts

  • Library of Latin texts: CLCLT Full text data base of primary sources covering Latin literature from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
  • BTL: Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina on CD-ROM. Includes all ancient Latin texts from the earliest times to the second century, as well as some later authors.  UP Copy: Call #: PA6118.B53 1999, Arts & Humanities, West Pattee 2nd Floor - Music and Media Center Reserve Desk.
  • Bibliotheca classica selecta from the Facultés universitaires Saint-Louis of Brussels.
  • Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents from Oxford University.
  • Papyrus Collection from the University of Michigan.
  • Past Masters: Full-text electronic editions of major works in philosophy.
  • Perseus Project: Greek and Latin texts, archaeology, and art, and other humanities resources, from Tufts University.

Finding Books

The CAT - Find Books and Other Materials at Penn State

Begin your search by choosing the BROWSE page to search by title, or the KEYWORD page to search for books on your topic. For more info on searching the CAT, click here.

Note: Latin literature exists in numerous other editions and translations. Always check with your professor to see if a specific edition or translation is required.

How to find materials NOT at Penn State.

Dictionaries

Oxford Latin dictionary (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # PA2365.E5O9 1982, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference

Cassell's new Latin dictionary: Latin-English, English-Latin (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # PA2365.L3C3 1960, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Reference Collection

Literary Criticism

Ancient Roman writers (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # PS221.D5 v.211, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection.

Ancient writers : Greece and Rome (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call # PA3002.A5 1982, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, 2nd Floor - Ready Reference.

Classical and medieval literature criticism  Vol. 1, 1988-present (find in the CAT)
UP Copy: Call #: PN610.C53, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection.

Gwinup, Thomas, and Fidelia Dickinson. Greek and Roman authors : a checklist of criticism, 2nd ed. (find in the CAT),  UP Copy: Call # Z7016.G9 1982, Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection.

Note: You can also search The Cat for history and criticism of genres, authors and works; for example:

  • Epic poetry, Latin--Criticism, textual.
  • Latin drama (Comedy)--History and criticism.
  • Tacitus, Cornelius. Annales
  • Virgil--Criticism and interpretation.

Search


Contact

Daniel Mack
Arts & Humanities Library
W327 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-6779
Fax: 814-863-7502

or Your Campus Librarian.


Get Help