Articles and Databases
Books
The CAT - Find Books and Other Materials at Penn State
Journals
To generate a complete current list of journals related to all aspects of linguistics in the Penn State University Libraries,
- go to the CAT's keyword search,
- type "linguistics" in the first box as either a keyword or LC Subject Heading,
- Choose "periodicals" from the Material Type menu in the lower right-hand corner of the screen.
- and click on Search.
For a more focused search,
- go to the CAT's keyword search,
- type "linguistics" in the first box, another relevant keyword (e.g. "Spanish") in the next box.
- Choose "periodicals" from the Material Type menu in the lower right-hand corner of the screen.
- Then click the "search" button.
If you know the name of a specific journal and want to verify the library's holdings, go to the CAT select the tab Browse Titles & More, select the "exact" radio button and enter the title, then press the "Journal Title" button to execute the search.
Full-text online access for many journals relating to linguistics and language teaching are available to the PSU community at the following sites:
Language Learning & Technology, an online journal.
Ingenta, Books and Journals on the E-Resource List.
Web Links
The Linguist List
Lexeme-Morpheme Base Morphology
LingNet
Phonetic Resources
Foreign Language Teaching Forum
Lexeme-Morpheme Base Morphology
LingNet
Phonetic Resources
Foreign Language Teaching Forum
Reference Resources
Dictionaries
These dictionaries aid in understanding the specialized vocabulary of linguistics and related disciplines by providing definitions to terms, abbreviations, and schools of thought.
Handbooks in linguistics provide overviews to the field and guides to research.
These dictionaries aid in understanding the specialized vocabulary of linguistics and related disciplines by providing definitions to terms, abbreviations, and schools of thought.
- Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
P29.C65 1997 (Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection)
There are two major multivolume encyclopedias for linguistics and language studies:
- International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, Vols. 1-4, Oxford University Press.
P29.I58 1992 (Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection) - The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics, Vols. 1-10, Pergamon Press.
P29.E48 1994 (Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection)
Single volume encyclopedias and more specialized encyclopedias:
- The Linguistics Encyclopedia
P29.L52 2002 (Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection) - Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning
P51.R66 2002 (Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection) - Concise Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics (Arts & Humanities, Pattee, Stacks 2 - Reference Collection)
P40.8.C66 1999
Handbooks in linguistics provide overviews to the field and guides to research.
- The Handbook of Linguistics
P121.H324 2001 - The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics
P129.O95 2002 - Handbook of Psycholinguistics
P37.H335 1994
Search
Contact
Rachel Schneiderman
Arts & Humanities Library
W331 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-863-1382
Fax: 814-863-7502
E-Mail: rus21@psu.edu
or Your Campus Librarian.
Arts & Humanities Library
W331 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-863-1382
Fax: 814-863-7502
E-Mail: rus21@psu.edu
or Your Campus Librarian.
