Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
OED Online contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary’s twenty-volume second edition (1989) and three-volume Additions Series. Users can find a term when they know the meaning but have forgotten the word; find words that have come into English via a particular language; search for quotations from a specified year; and search for all quotations from a particular author or work. OED Online also offers 1,000 new and revised words each quarter, and users can compare revised entries with entries from the second edition to see how language has changed and how new scholarship has increased understanding of our linguistic and cultural heritage.Gale Virtual Reference Library
A cross-searchable database of hundreds of full-text of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in many different subject fields.Oxford Reference Online
Brings together over 100 dictionary, encyclopedia, language, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press in a single cross-searchable resource.Merriam Webster Online
Merriam-Webster provides a free online dictionary, thesaurus, audio pronunciations, Word of the Day, word games, and other English language resources.Foreign Language Dictionaries Online
Links to online dictionaries; Listed by Language.Babelfish (AltaVista Translator)
AltaVista Babel Fish Translation provides free computer-generated translations of short passages of text or entire Web sites for 19 pairs of languages.FreeTranslation.com
Provides free computer-generated translations of both text and web pages for 17 pairs of languages.
Search
Contact
Library Learning Services
814.865.9257
Gateway Desk
814.865.6368
instruct@psulias.psu.edu
or your campus library
